HTPC + DVR advice - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 01-26-2016, 01:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
HTPC + DVR advice

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie in HTPC and now trying to get one for the first time.
Mainly I will watch movies (fullHD at the moment, my TV is not 4K compatible) stored on a NAS and on DVDs or Blu-rays. I also want to watch and record Live TV with a USB tuner I already got.

I read a lot of thread and articles and I think that my choice will be on a Intel NUC and not building a HTPC on my own. I thougt about buying a NUC6i5RYH with a 250GB SSD m.2 (Samsung Evo 850) and 8 Gb RAM.
The 2.5" bay will be used with an old laptop HDD I got to store some files but mainly the recordings will be on saved directly on the NAS.

What do you think of this choice? I'm really concerned also by the noise of this HTPC.

Is the i3 version of the NUC sufficient? I didn't consider to buy a 5th generation NUC as the price is not so different.

Thanks for your help
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 01-26-2016, 07:28 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 374
Windows Media Center doesn't like to save its recordings to a network drive. You would need to create an iSCSI connection between the NAS and NUC.

An i3 is plenty since you aren't needing 4K support.

post #3 of 5 Old 01-26-2016, 09:21 AM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Quoted: 853 Post(s)
Liked: 292
First are you sure your USB tuner will work with WMC?