Guide: Building a 4K HTPC for madVR - Page 10 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 93Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 497 Old 02-15-2017, 11:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mikenificent1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,293
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 102 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
HTPCs can't currently play UHD Blu-Rays because the content encryption is not broken yet and PowerDVD for UHD Blu-Ray is not out yet. If you want to play UHD Blu-Rays you either have to wait for a suitable PowerDVD version or wait until the content encryption is broken.
What about when the Pioneer UHD drives are released?
Mikenificent1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 497 Old 02-16-2017, 12:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,080
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Having proper UHD drives is a requirement, but still what I wrote before holds true.
OzHDHT likes this.
madshi is offline  
post #273 of 497 Old 02-16-2017, 03:54 PM
Member
 
m9610172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: WA
Posts: 136
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I was shopping for RX 480 but I see some deals for RX 470 these days.
Is RX 470 comparable to RX 480? What would be the difference between these 2 cards when running Madvr?
I want decent upscaling from 720,1080 to 4K.

- LG 70UH6350, Onkyo 646, Energy RC-70, RC-LCR, RC-10 & V-mini (FH), 2 x DIY Subs (Micro Marty), Fire TV, HTPC, Outdoor Antenna
- Panny 65PS64 Plasma, Pioneer VSX-1018, Energy Micro 5.0, Outlaw LFM-EX, Xbox One/360, WiiU, PS2
- Onkyo TX-8255, Infinity Primus P163
m9610172 is offline  
 
post #274 of 497 Old 02-17-2017, 12:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,080
Mentioned: 47 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 598 Post(s)
Liked: 583
Polaris currently runs the best madVR upscaling algorithms (NGU) with a noticeable performance hit. All other GPUs (older generation AMD GPUs, or any NVidia or Intel GPUs) don't have this problem. Because of that I currently wouldn't recommend buying a Polaris GPU for madVR, unless you use it for gaming, too, and have specific reasons to get an AMD GPU (e.g. FreeSync).
madshi is offline  
post #275 of 497 Old 02-17-2017, 03:35 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi.

I'm currently setting up a 4K HTPC myself.
My system is as follow:

OS: Windows 10 Pro (x64)
CPUs: 2x Intel Xeon E5-2643 3.3GHz
Memory: 64GB
GPU: Nvidia GTX 980 (soon to be upgraded to 1080 or a dual 980)

I'm fiddling with madVR and i'm running fine on NGU High, but i wonder what settings to use to accomplish the following:

Upscale 720p to 2160p (nearly no content)
Upscale 1080p to 2160p (some content)
Improve 2160p (Most content)

I have created separate profiles for each quality.
But i need someone with experience with the different values to let med know what to choose.
Ronny Andersen is offline  
post #276 of 497 Old 02-19-2017, 01:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Would I be good with an Amd Fx-8350; Asus M5A78L-M and 1050 TI combo??
Superman2 is offline  
post #277 of 497 Old 02-19-2017, 02:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
you can run madVR at UHD with that hardware.

i personally don't like the 1050 TI is pretty slow for the money you pay.
if you don't have the FX-8350 already you should get something else. still more than enough power for most HTPC usages but there is better hardware on the market.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #278 of 497 Old 02-19-2017, 06:15 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronny Andersen View Post
Hi.

I'm currently setting up a 4K HTPC myself.
My system is as follow:

OS: Windows 10 Pro (x64)
CPUs: 2x Intel Xeon E5-2643 3.3GHz
Memory: 64GB
GPU: Nvidia GTX 980 (soon to be upgraded to 1080 or a dual 980)

I'm fiddling with madVR and i'm running fine on NGU High, but i wonder what settings to use to accomplish the following:

Upscale 720p to 2160p (nearly no content)
Upscale 1080p to 2160p (some content)
Improve 2160p (Most content)

I have created separate profiles for each quality.
But i need someone with experience with the different values to let med know what to choose.
Leave NGU on "high" and everything else under Image Upscaling to "let madVR decide." This will handle every 720p and 1080p source.

For 2160p content, Image Upscaling is, of course, unnecessary. Here, try sharpen edges 1.0 + AR + AB 50% under Image Enhancements and NGU "high" or "very high" under Chroma Upscaling.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #279 of 497 Old 02-20-2017, 03:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post
Would I be good with an Amd Fx-8350; Asus M5A78L-M and 1050 TI combo??


For HTPC & gaming... just want to be able to throw anything at it and be set for next couple years
Superman2 is offline  
post #280 of 497 Old 02-20-2017, 03:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Superman2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
you can run madVR at UHD with that hardware.

i personally don't like the 1050 TI is pretty slow for the money you pay.
if you don't have the FX-8350 already you should get something else. still more than enough power for most HTPC usages but there is better hardware on the market.


Any suggestions?
Superman2 is offline  
post #281 of 497 Old 02-20-2017, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post
Any suggestions?
The 4GB version of the GTX 1060 is a good card.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #282 of 497 Old 02-20-2017, 04:22 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
OzHDHT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Antipodes aka Oz
Posts: 2,801
Mentioned: 9 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 938 Post(s)
Liked: 521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post
Any suggestions?
1070 is not all that much more and will keep you from upgrading for a while. I swapped out a 980 for one 3 months ago, works brilliantly with 4K and MadVR.
OzHDHT is offline  
post #283 of 497 Old 02-20-2017, 07:40 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superman2 View Post
Any suggestions?
there is no proper way to do that.

this is a thread with madVr in foxus so we know the CPU doesn't matter alot.
but for gaming it depends on the games that work.
and UHD gaming is still pretty much impossible with new AAA title.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #284 of 497 Old 02-21-2017, 05:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
jmonier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by Onkyoman View Post
The 4GB version of the GTX 1060 is a good card.
Where do you find a 4gb? I've only seen 3gb and 6gb.
jmonier is offline  
post #285 of 497 Old 02-21-2017, 09:02 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
there is no 4 GB 1060.

there is 1 type of 1060 with 6 GB and 2 types with 3Gb one of them is very rare the GP106-400A with 3GB.

i personally only see the 6 Gb as a viable option for UHD but 3GB can work. i personally need ~3.8 GB with my current settings.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #286 of 497 Old 02-25-2017, 04:02 AM
Member
 
Iggy SLO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Ljubljana, Slovenia
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Liked: 8
Is there a way to make the seek bar larger in exclusive mode?

It looks like it has a fixed size and it doesn't scale up on larger screens, so it's comically small on a 4K tv. I'd ask on the doom9's forum, but I have to wait 5 days before making my 1st post on a new account.
Iggy SLO is offline  
post #287 of 497 Old 02-25-2017, 03:15 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
there is no way as far as i know.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #288 of 497 Old 03-06-2017, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
flyguyjake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 422
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 181 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Anyway to get Automatic HDR yet?

flyguyjake is offline  
post #289 of 497 Old 03-13-2017, 11:43 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Italy, Tuscany, Florence
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hello everyone!

I've recently purchased a new 4K TV (Panasonic 58DX800) and I've started to wonder if it's time to upgrade my HTPC too.

Now it's an A10 5800k APU on an H87 ITX mainboard, 4 Gb DDR3 inside a CM Elite 100 case.
I am still using Kodi on Windows 10 as the main player but i have few questions:

1) is it possible to make MadVR cooperate with kodi?
2) to upscale with decent quality 576p content (near 1/3 of my files, the others are mainly 720p or 1080p with a very few 480p files) is a 1050 Ti 4Gb enough?
3) I've slowly started to re-encode some of my BD's in HEVC to gain more space on the HDD, it's better to leave in 1080p or sacrifice the smaller size to encode directly in 4K with a good upscaler reducing the CPU/GPU load when played?
4) Or it's too early to think about all this and wait how the 4K world evolve next months?
Johnny.ego is offline  
post #290 of 497 Old 03-14-2017, 09:58 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Onkyoman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Canada
Posts: 354
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 156 Post(s)
Liked: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny.ego View Post
Hello everyone!

I've recently purchased a new 4K TV (Panasonic 58DX800) and I've started to wonder if it's time to upgrade my HTPC too.

Now it's an A10 5800k APU on an H87 ITX mainboard, 4 Gb DDR3 inside a CM Elite 100 case.
I am still using Kodi on Windows 10 as the main player but i have few questions:

1) is it possible to make MadVR cooperate with kodi?
2) to upscale with decent quality 576p content (near 1/3 of my files, the others are mainly 720p or 1080p with a very few 480p files) is a 1050 Ti 4Gb enough?
3) I've slowly started to re-encode some of my BD's in HEVC to gain more space on the HDD, it's better to leave in 1080p or sacrifice the smaller size to encode directly in 4K with a good upscaler reducing the CPU/GPU load when played?
4) Or it's too early to think about all this and wait how the 4K world evolve next months?
1) HOW TO - Configure Kodi DSPlayer with LAV Filters, XySubFilter & madVR

HOW TO - Launch MPC-HC/MPC-BE with madVR as an External Player

2) The 1050 Ti should be enough for NGU Sharp (med). So it is barely enough and may leave you wanting more power.

3) Go ahead rip with HEVC. Your GPU can handle these files. So why not save space.

4) Definitely wait for 4K to evolve. Right now the 4K content available are demo files.
Onkyoman is offline  
post #291 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 04:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Hi peeps,

I just bought a new LG55b6OLED and Im running a GTX 1060 6gb in my htpc (W7 x64) with madvr running inside JRver MC22. I have set up custom scaling settings in madvr so that I can have a different algorithms for each resolution as per Kodi thread. My 1080p24(23) BD iso's looks awesome upscaled using NGU AA high (1st madvr osd) but I have a couple of questions:
thezone4k is offline  
post #292 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 04:18 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
1) I cant seem to get 29.97 BD's to look as sharp (2nd madvr osd). Ive got MC outputting 29.97/59.9 at 59.9 but I live in Australia so would that mean my panel is only 50hz? This bit I find confusing.
2) When I play Big Buck Bunny 2160p60 movie shows as 60p but display shows as 59.94? Panning shots look a little stuttered. I have MC set to output 30/60 as 60 so does this mean that either my TV or GPU cant handle 2160p60?
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Cant sing the praises enough of this product, far exceeded my expectations of what my BD collection would look like! Thank you Madshi!

1st Madvr OSD Oblivion 1080p23.98


2nd Madvr OSD Police Certifiable 1080p29.98


3rd Madvr OSD Big Buck Bunny 2160p60
thezone4k is offline  
post #293 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 07:52 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
your GPU can do 60 fps chroma NGU mid so the BBB doesn't run smoothly.
1080p29 is not a blu ray spec. the file played there is 1080pi60 and it is deinterlanced so the source resolution is pretty low and madVr is setup to use DXVa scaling for interlanced playback.

the "correct" refreshrate" for 60 hz material is 59.94 also know as 59p the BBB is an exception with true 60p.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #294 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 12:26 PM
Senior Member
 
Elpee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 69 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
there is no proper way to do that.

this is a thread with madVr in foxus so we know the CPU doesn't matter alot.
but for gaming it depends on the games that work.
and UHD gaming is still pretty much impossible with new AAA title.
Because of my limited budget, can I buy an Intel Celeron G3930 and save money to buy a GTX 1060 or 1070 to watch 4K movies? I'm not a gamer.
Thanks.
Elpee is offline  
post #295 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 01:34 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Hello All

As a MUCH less savy tech guy than those posting here what is someone like me
that doesnt want to or probably can't build a HTPC on this level have as options to
acquire one. I dont believe I can just purchase such a set up from retailers.

Are there builders available that I can hand specs from a forum like this and they
can deliver a proper working HT computer at a fair price.

Speaking of that what do you experts think a computer like this would cost?

Thank you
sb99acr is offline  
post #296 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 02:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elpee View Post
Because of my limited budget, can I buy an Intel Celeron G3930 and save money to buy a GTX 1060 or 1070 to watch 4K movies? I'm not a gamer.
Thanks.
i would add a GPU in the system for UHD scaling.

get the G4560. everything below that CPU is a bad joke. this CPU has incredible for it price making a lot of other CPU in the price range obsolete.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sb99acr View Post
Hello All

As a MUCH less savy tech guy than those posting here what is someone like me
that doesnt want to or probably can't build a HTPC on this level have as options to
acquire one. I dont believe I can just purchase such a set up from retailers.

Are there builders available that I can hand specs from a forum like this and they
can deliver a proper working HT computer at a fair price.

Speaking of that what do you experts think a computer like this would cost?

Thank you
you can just buy a PC with a decent GPU and you are done. nothing special is needed for a HTPC.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #297 of 497 Old 03-15-2017, 08:08 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thank you for that.

I'm not sure I understand this point, are you saying that my GPU can do 60fps but thats not enough?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
your GPU can do 60 fps chroma NGU mid so the BBB doesn't run smoothly.
This makes sense can you advise where in madvr I can ensure DXVa is being used?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
1080p29 is not a blu ray spec. the file played there is 1080pi60 and it is deinterlanced so the source resolution is pretty low and madVr is setup to use DXVa scaling for interlanced playback.
So is the madvr osd correct? Is my panel playing 60hz? Why are they different for this refresh rate?
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
the "correct" refreshrate" for 60 hz material is 59.94 also know as 59p the BBB is an exception with true 60p.
Thanks again for your help.
thezone4k is offline  
post #298 of 497 Old 03-16-2017, 02:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by thezone4k View Post
I'm not sure I understand this point, are you saying that my GPU can do 60fps but thats not enough?
your GPU can't do it in this case. you need render times below 16 ms.

nearly all panels can do 60 even in a pal country they are still the same panel sold over the whole world. some displays can't do 50 FPS but even this is very rare these days.
an interlanced source like a BD or broadcast is reported as 30 FPS or 25 FPS because that the number of frames that got decoded but an interlanced frames holds to different images on a single frame so it get's to 60 FPS for 30 FPS source and 50 FPS from a 25 FPS source.

you should avoid DXVA scaling if possible you can disable it under trade quality for performance settings.
mightyhuhn is offline  
post #299 of 497 Old 03-23-2017, 11:28 AM
Senior Member
 
davisnub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 279
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 142 Post(s)
Liked: 26
what are the ideal settings to use within the nvidia control panel? I have an nvidia 1070 and is outputting to a JVC RS500

also, has anyone had any luck playing hdr media files? I had some test files that I played which seemed to output in HDR but for some reason, my display didn't have it flagged as hdr content. playing the media file through another device had it flagged as hdr but the image looked the same; they both looked great.
davisnub is offline  
post #300 of 497 Old 03-24-2017, 05:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,489
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 775 Post(s)
Liked: 264
madVR can't output HDr meta data.

the one think you should change in the nvidia control panel is the power saving option to adaptive don't use the default optimal.
mightyhuhn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
htpc build , madvr

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off