New Recommendation on Best Buy Desktop for streaming - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-25-2016, 08:03 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
avdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 128
New Recommendation on Best Buy Desktop for streaming

Asking for recommendations on Desktop to stream to my Sony XBR-940C. I am a cord cutter and stream channels (mainly TruTV, TNT, etc for sports). I know some about computers but very little about what's required for quality streaming. Will be hard-wired and will NOT be a gaming machine. 4K and advanced surround capability not required. Thanks.
avdoc is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-25-2016, 09:23 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 3,119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Find the cheapest computer they sell


Done
Verge2 is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-25-2016, 10:09 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,875
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1420 Post(s)
Liked: 645
If you are streaming why are you looking for a HTPC? Get a Roku or Android box.

bryansj is online now  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 03-26-2016, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
avdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Nashville, TN, USA
Posts: 604
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 128
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
If you are streaming why are you looking for a HTPC? Get a Roku or Android box.
I have a Roku. If you read the question, I'm streaming things online that aren't on Roku (TNT, TruTV). You can't stream those through Roku. I'm trying to determine if I can get a better quality stream with one machine over another or whether they're all the same as the first responder implied. Thanks.
avdoc is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-26-2016, 01:17 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 3,119
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 795 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by avdoc View Post
I have a Roku. If you read the question, I'm streaming things online that aren't on Roku (TNT, TruTV). You can't stream those through Roku. I'm trying to determine if I can get a better quality stream with one machine over another or whether they're all the same as the first responder implied. Thanks.

Anything they sell should be fast enough, or have GPU acceleration for decoding those streams.

The question is how fast do you want everything else to be.
Verge2 is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-26-2016, 01:30 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,299
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 677 Post(s)
Liked: 280
Keep in mind that some network streaming offerings require you to have a TV subscription through your provider, be it Verizon, Charter, Cox, etc., so don't think you can just cut the cord and walk away with the same experience.
LexInVA is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-27-2016, 04:15 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 7,784
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 584 Post(s)
Liked: 312
I bought a dell from them and I'm loving it.

At the time it was about 2nd best of what they stocked.

It is an i5 with 12 or so GB or RAM.

I did a little modification putting in an SSD and GPU and upgrading to Windows 10 (which was still in technical preview at that point.)

It's solid and stable. (I didn't really care about it's form factor or fans because most of my gear sits outside the theater room.) Maybe PCs are all the same but my experience with Dell and supporting other people I know with Dell has been good. THey have a service number somewhere on the case that makes getting good drivers for all the hardware easy and they don't come with much "shovel-ware".

-Brian
Brian Hampton is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 04-14-2016, 04:23 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Make sure it has an HDMI port, some don't.
Qtrmeg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off