HTPC decoding Dolby Atmos? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 22 Old 08-25-2016, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
jorsan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 25 Post(s)
Liked: 14
HTPC decoding Dolby Atmos?

I would like to avoid the use of a processor to decode Dolby Atmos ... is there any way to decode the codec inside the computer?. Thank
jorsan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 22 Old 08-25-2016, 02:40 PM
Member
 
styjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 47 Post(s)
Liked: 44
i would also like to know but as far as I know there is none. I think our only hope would be cyberlink but no word on atmos yet I hope I am wrong

Styj
styjp is offline  
post #3 of 22 Old 11-02-2016, 04:24 PM
Advanced Member
 
deandob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Any news on options for ATMOS support for HTPC's? Especially the software Blu-ray players?
deandob is offline  
 
post #4 of 22 Old 11-03-2016, 09:07 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Sammy2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Right next to Wineville, CA
Posts: 10,647
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 514 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Doesn't LAV do this? There's a discussion on it over on the Emby Forums.

Sammy2 is offline  
post #5 of 22 Old 11-03-2016, 10:15 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Isn't Windows currently limited to LPCM 7.1 max? If so, what's the point to decode at PC side?
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #6 of 22 Old 11-03-2016, 01:55 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 378
You can bitstream atmos but not playback on pc, you are limited to 7.1.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #7 of 22 Old 01-24-2017, 08:14 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
DavidML3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Posts: 1,168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 135 Post(s)
Liked: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrkazador View Post
You can bitstream atmos but not playback on pc, you are limited to 7.1.
How do you do this on Windows 10?
DavidML3 is offline  
post #8 of 22 Old 01-25-2017, 03:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 4,250
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 252 Post(s)
Liked: 378
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidML3 View Post
How do you do this on Windows 10?
LAV audio filter can passthrough Dolby Atmos, you need to enable bitstreaming.

_______________________________

DIY Sound Group: Information and Tips
Mrkazador is offline  
post #9 of 22 Old 02-03-2017, 12:09 PM
Member
 
erik.vanhamme's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 1
It's not true that you are limited to 7.1 on Windows. The windows audio stack is limited to 7.1, but there is nothing preventing you from using ASIO to output to a DAC with more then 8 outputs. I do this very thing right now to a Focusrite 18i20. I output 10 channels (7.3).

The only problem is that the decoding software must be ASIO capable, and smart enough to decode the atmos bitstream. I suspect JRiver MC is the closest at the moment. They don't have atmos decoding, but they are certainly capable of outputing to ASIO DAC.
erik.vanhamme is offline  
post #10 of 22 Old 02-06-2017, 02:44 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 250
the decoder has nothing to do with ASIO this is only about the audio renderer.

and now about atmos decoding and why it is pointless.

let's assume we can decode an atmos encoded audio stream.
so we can decode it and do what with the 16+ channels?
all these channels need to be mixed to your atmos setup and how to get these information. well we can't get these information.
your atmos AVR can do this because it has the position of your speakers too.

unlike 5.1 or 7.1 there is no fixed speaker position for atmos.
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #11 of 22 Old 02-06-2017, 06:39 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
unlike 5.1 or 7.1 there is no fixed speaker position for atmos.
While it is true, there is nothing that can prevent you configure the speaker settings, e.g. layout and distances in PC decoder and decode/mix the ATMOS into 5.1.2, 7.1.2 etc. The question is will any software maker do this (and paying licensing fee) knowing that it can't output via regular HDMI but rely on certain soundcard capability? Probably not.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #12 of 22 Unread Today, 12:06 AM
Senior Member
 
curtisb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 383
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
While it is true, there is nothing that can prevent you configure the speaker settings, e.g. layout and distances in PC decoder and decode/mix the ATMOS into 5.1.2, 7.1.2 etc. The question is will any software maker do this (and paying licensing fee) knowing that it can't output via regular HDMI but rely on certain soundcard capability? Probably not.
Will? Nobody here can answer that.   Personally, I don't see much unless you are dead set on using your pc as pre vs having a separate pre with your pro or a receiver.   And if you care about Atmos, you should also care about DTS X support so your PC would need to support both which likely wouldn't happen at the same time. 
curtisb is offline  
post #13 of 22 Unread Today, 12:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3624 Post(s)
Liked: 1292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
While it is true, there is nothing that can prevent you configure the speaker settings, e.g. layout and distances in PC decoder and decode/mix the ATMOS into 5.1.2, 7.1.2 etc. The question is will any software maker do this (and paying licensing fee) knowing that it can't output via regular HDMI but rely on certain soundcard capability? Probably not.
HDMI 2.0 and higher can output 32 audio channels. http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_2_0/index.aspx
There's just no device (yet) on the receiving end. Then again why not just DA at the soundcard output and directly feed an amp.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #14 of 22 Unread Today, 04:47 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
HDMI 2.0 and higher can output 32 audio channels. http://www.hdmi.org/manufacturer/hdmi_2_0/index.aspx
There's just no device (yet) on the receiving end. Then again why not just DA at the soundcard output and directly feed an amp.
As mentioned above, windows currently only support 7.1 max on HDMI. So, you will have to write decoder for a specific sound card targeting 0.1% of the market.

Sent from my Venue 8 7840 using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #15 of 22 Unread Today, 04:53 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3624 Post(s)
Liked: 1292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
As mentioned above, windows currently only support 7.1 max on HDMI. So, you will have to write decoder for a specific sound card targeting 0.1% of the market.

Sent from my Venue 8 7840 using Tapatalk
That 0.1% is probably 99% of your target market

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole
markus767 is offline  
post #16 of 22 Unread Today, 08:26 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
That 0.1% is probably 99% of your target market
I'm not the one creating such software. How about you invest in it and see how it works out
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #17 of 22 Unread Today, 08:32 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
markus767's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,342
Mentioned: 75 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3624 Post(s)
Liked: 1292
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
I'm not the one creating such software. How about you invest in it and see how it works out
I don't believe in HTPC. Cluttered interface and lack of crucial content/apps. It seems to be more likely that we will see streamers with bitstream passthrough and no-frills boxes that do the decoding and speaker setup/room EQ.

Anyway, guess you've missed my point. You've claimed "can't output via regular HDMI" which is not correct.

Markus

"In science, contrary evidence causes one to question a theory. In religion, contrary evidence causes one to question the evidence." - Floyd Toole

Last edited by markus767; Today at 08:35 AM.
markus767 is offline  
post #18 of 22 Unread Today, 08:36 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
mightyhuhn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 1,401
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 731 Post(s)
Liked: 250
so nvidia, intel and amd support more than 7.1 pcm output?
mightyhuhn is online now  
post #19 of 22 Unread Today, 08:58 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by markus767 View Post
I don't believe in HTPC. Cluttered interface and lack of crucial content/apps. It seems to be more likely that we will see streamers with bitstream passthrough and no-frills boxes that do the decoding and speaker setup/room EQ.

Anyway, guess you've missed my point. You've claimed "can't output via regular HDMI" which is not correct.
This is, after all, HTPC forum and OP is asking a question regarding HTPC. Please keep that in mind before you nitpicking.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #20 of 22 Unread Today, 09:00 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,280
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by mightyhuhn View Post
so nvidia, intel and amd support more than 7.1 pcm output?
It is not like more audio channels require additional pins on HDMI port. But GPUs are limited to whatever audio data the OS driver can send to it.
Foxbat121 is online now  
post #21 of 22 Unread Today, 09:18 AM
Senior Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 228
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 14
noob question - Why do I/you want a processor to decode - what is a "processor", do you mean the A/V receiver?

I'm about to configure an ATMOS setup myself w/ a WIN 10 machine and Radeon R9 290. Is ther something I should be aware of? I watch all my content in Kodi w/ passthrough checked off. So does that mean there is more stress on my receiver or HTPC?
stevedawg85 is online now  
post #22 of 22 Unread Today, 09:29 AM
Senior Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevedawg85 View Post
noob question - Why do I/you want a processor to decode - what is a "processor", do you mean the A/V receiver?
Either the AVR or a HTPC can decode Dolby Digital and DTS streams and perform upmixing through 7.1 channels.
However, at present, only an AVR with Atmos capabilities (or DTS:Neural X) can decode or upmix to the height channels.

Quote:
I'm about to configure an ATMOS setup myself w/ a WIN 10 machine and Radeon R9 290. Is ther something I should be aware of? I watch all my content in Kodi w/ passthrough checked off. So does that mean there is more stress on my receiver or HTPC?
Yes. You'll need to enable passthrough if you want the Atmos signal to, well, pass through.

Also, you'll need to disable 'sync playback to display' in the video settings or that will prevent bitstreaming.

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off