HDMI Sync Problem with hardware decoding - any thoughts on why? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 12-09-2016, 10:05 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ksdehoff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 16
HDMI Sync Problem with hardware decoding - any thoughts on why?

I've long had HDMI sync issues from several HTPCs that would cause my sony projector to shut off. I could reliably get the projector to shut off after 40-50 minutes of video playback. Tried several PC configurations, nvidia GPU, ATI, Intel - they all seemed to have the problem. Software I used included powerdvd, vlc, mpc-hc - all had the problem.

In talking to Sony they told me to get a sony blu-ray player - and sure enough for the past year that blu-ray player has not once shut the projector off. But it also can't play all the files I've got so I still use the HTPC - and live with the uncontrolled shutdown.

I recently made a change to PowerDVD and switched from Hardware decoding to Software decoding - and this has seemed to fix the problem - going on 20 hrs and no shut downs.

I was wondering if anyone was an HDMI/HDCP guru and might explain what may be different in hardware decoding vs the software decoder.
ksdehoff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 12-10-2016, 11:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Krispy Kritter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 224
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 25
And I don't know how or why that would affect the output connectivity. Software decoding simply uses cpu power to decode, while hardware decoding offloads the work to the gpu. The result of the decoding should be the same.

The difference between an HTPC and a standalone device would be the ability to alter the actual output. A standalone device is only going to output specific TV formats (ie: 480P/720/1080P), while an HTPC doesn't have that restriction even though that is typically how you configure it anyway. Depending on configuration, the issue is likely to be fps related and not resolution.
Krispy Kritter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off