Antec Black Fusion, motherboard ideas - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 01-22-2017, 10:47 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sgtarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Antec Black Fusion, motherboard ideas

I build a HTPC back in 08, using an Antec Black Fusion , quad amd phenom . Its been working great but I know power/heat management has gotten alot better, it has been getting hot lately(yes I cleaned everything), I had to set it on top of my entertainment center instead of inside it. I am thinking of getting a smaller and possibly fanless motherboard and using extra space for laptop harddrives. suggestions on motherboards, and have any of you done the same thing with this case.
sgtarky is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 01-23-2017, 03:12 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 269
Ya gotta give us the case model. "Antec Black Fusion" covers multiple cases.
LexInVA is online now  
post #3 of 8 Old 01-23-2017, 10:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sgtarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry, 430
sgtarky is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 01-24-2017, 04:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
LexInVA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3,269
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 661 Post(s)
Liked: 269
My thoughts are the following....

1. Don't bother with an mATX board. The case doesn't have enough bays to take advantage of anything beyond a low-end mini-ITX board with four SATA ports. A mini-ITX board that uses M.2 and a low-end quad-core 2017 CPU or APU would be perfect.

2. Don't bother with laptop drives. Just get two 4TB desktop drives and call it a day. If you need more storage, you can easily add an eSATA storage tower.

3. If you have one of the 430 models with a 5.25 bay, you may want to upgrade to a new Blu-Ray drive once UHD-BD on PC is finalized.

4. Upgrade the PSU. Just do it. You can get a silent modular one if you want to maximize airflow/cooling and minimize noise.
LexInVA is online now  
post #5 of 8 Old 01-24-2017, 04:50 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,802
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1376 Post(s)
Liked: 638
And get a proper USB IR receiver and disconnect the Soundgraph/iMon crap that is built in.

bryansj is online now  
post #6 of 8 Old 01-24-2017, 08:23 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
sgtarky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryansj View Post
And get a proper USB IR receiver and disconnect the Soundgraph/iMon crap that is built in.
i never use that panel, and I use bt keyboard with it.
sgtarky is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 01-25-2017, 02:49 PM
Senior Member
 
mobilelawyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Mobile, Alabama
Posts: 349
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Odd that you would ask... I have that case and recently looked into replacing the motherboard, but keeping the Phenom II X6 1075T processor. I figured I could upgrade to USB 3 and DDR3 ram for about $100.00. Yes, the 6 core phenom II does put out some heat, but I was thinking about going with the onboard Radeon 3000 video in this micro ATX Asus board:

https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...36&ignorebbr=1

With regard to the built-in IR, one thing that the ancient iMon software does is allow you to substitute an MCE compliant remote, preserving full Mediacenter functions AND turning the computer on and off with the remote, which is a nice feature, and without any outboard blaster.

I would be curious to know what you decide to do.

mobilelawyer

Samsung PN 59D7000 for broadcast and OTT only
Intel NUC D54250WYK, HD Homerun Connect,
TiVo Roamio, Nvidia Shield, Sony Playstation Vue
Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Prime
mobilelawyer is online now  
post #8 of 8 Old 01-27-2017, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
StardogChampion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New Hampshire, USA
Posts: 3,118
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 93 Post(s)
Liked: 160
As far as Radeon HD3000 goes, it does not support bitstreaming of HD audio (Dolby True-HD/DTS Master Audio) if that is something you care about. Any semi-recent AMD or Nvidia GPU will fix that though -- HD5450 or better, GT610 (I think?) or better. I have fanless GT710s and GT730s in my HTPCs and they're great.

 

 

StardogChampion is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off