HDMI Splitter for 4K hdr and HD Audio - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 02-21-2017, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuddyRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HDMI Splitter for 4K hdr and HD Audio

My HTPC has a gtx 1060 which runs directly to my TV (LG OLED B6) as my AVR doesnt support 4k. i can passthrough audio from the TV but only PCM 2.0 and DTS and DD.

Ive experimented running hdmi to tv and dvi to hdmi to AVR and that worked but i get a 2nd display and headaches with it.

Is there any hdmi splitter that sends video to tv and audio to another (or full signal to both) that supports hdr?
BuddyRich is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 02-21-2017, 09:25 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 22,406
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3575 Post(s)
Liked: 1999
The HD Fury Integral can split, but it still sends audio and 4K video. You might need the Integral and the Linker if your AVR isn't happy with getting a 4K input.
stanger89 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 02-21-2017, 03:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 292
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 154 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Your best bet is to use the 2nd hdmi from motherboard if available. The only "pain" is when upgrading drivers to your video card. You need to unplug hdmi connected from motherboard to avr before uninstalling driver to undetect 2nd monitor. After driver upgrade, insert hdmi cable back into motherboard/avr and your good to go. Right click on speakers/headphones - left click playback devices - look for your avr and right click - set up options and mark as default sound provider. Only way you will receive HD dts - dolby (lossless 5.1 - 7.1).
Friendlys is offline  
 
post #4 of 14 Old 02-22-2017, 03:56 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Nima's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 8 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 115
Sorry to hijack this thread. I was under the impression a 1060 could even use 3 devices. I was planning to use DVI for my monitor. HDMI to my Epson LS10000 projector and DP or 2nd HDMI to AVR.

This card should do the trick right? https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814126122
Nima is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 02-22-2017, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
BuddyRich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It "works" with multi outputs from the card, including hd audio, only you have a 2nd display in windows and some programs have a habit of opening on it and not my main one which is set as main. Also i seem to sometimes get a no signal problem because it briefly checks monitor 1 first and thinks 2nd display is dead. not sure if its a windows 10 bug or a problem because display 1 is 4k and display 2 is 1080p...
BuddyRich is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-29-2017, 10:34 AM
Member
 
vick82sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nima View Post
Sorry to hijack this thread. I was under the impression a 1060 could even use 3 devices. I was planning to use DVI for my monitor. HDMI to my Epson LS10000 projector and DP or 2nd HDMI to AVR.

This card should do the trick right? https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16814126122
hi.. i cant get audio to work.. i have the hdmi straight to projector and am using the displayport with a displayport to hdmi adapter to my sound bar..

it shows the sound bar as the audio device in windows ... but no sound will play from the sound bar

any ideas ?
vick82sydney is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-29-2017, 12:41 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 416
For any HDMI device to play sound, it needs to be setup a secondary screen in Windows. No screen setup, no sound. Hence what OP said the headaches of multi-screen setup.
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-30-2017, 12:25 AM
Member
 
vick82sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
For any HDMI device to play sound, it needs to be setup a secondary screen in Windows. No screen setup, no sound. Hence what OP said the headaches of multi-screen setup.
so it doesn't matter that the soundbar is showing as the sound playback device ? so as it is a sound bar i cant setup as second screen obviously ?
vick82sydney is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-30-2017, 12:33 AM
Member
 
vick82sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
guess this my only option:

http://www.auselectronicsdirect.com....0aAoMgEALw_wcB

since i'm using a soundbar i guess its ok that i can only use optical audio with this device..

i didn't have this problem in my previous setup as i had a proper theater room and an AVR that supports HDR... this is why i am trying to use it this way as the sound bar isn't HDR pass through compatible and even if it was i would have to use long hdmi cables which will only cause more headaches when it comes to HDR... My projector is HDR compatible.
vick82sydney is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-30-2017, 12:53 PM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
Foxbat121's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: VA
Posts: 11,413
Mentioned: 7 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 698 Post(s)
Liked: 416
You can use your motherboard digital audio out to achieve the same thing without paying $90 for a device which does the same thing.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
Foxbat121 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 09-07-2017, 10:31 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Warren_G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 1,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I have a similar problem in that my AVR seems to not approve of my old projector for HDCP so I get no picture via HDMI through it. I went with a simple splitter like this:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=10249

HDMI from the HTPC to the input and outputs to the AVR and projector. It works like a charm, no second display to figure out, no complex configuring of audio or video settings, and supports all audio and video formats/resolutions without a problem.
Warren_G is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 09-12-2017, 12:18 AM
Member
 
vick82sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxbat121 View Post
You can use your motherboard digital audio out to achieve the same thing without paying $90 for a device which does the same thing.

Sent from my ZTE A2017U using Tapatalk
motherboard didn't have optical... already tried with a pci soundcard with optical.. but the sound wouldnt work no matter what i tried.. and i did select it as playback device in windows... it shows the equalizer but sound wouldn't come out of the sound bar ... maybe it would have worked if my motherboard has optical.. maybe clash of to many devices... motherboard sound, nvidia card and a sound card
vick82sydney is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 09-12-2017, 12:20 AM
Member
 
vick82sydney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Warren_G View Post
I have a similar problem in that my AVR seems to not approve of my old projector for HDCP so I get no picture via HDMI through it. I went with a simple splitter like this:
https://www.monoprice.com/product?p_id=10249

HDMI from the HTPC to the input and outputs to the AVR and projector. It works like a charm, no second display to figure out, no complex configuring of audio or video settings, and supports all audio and video formats/resolutions without a problem.
so this device can split video and audio between hdmi output 1 and 2 ? i would prefer this over optical

but i cant use it as its not enough bandwidth for HDR .. but maybe there is simliar one that supports 18Gbps
vick82sydney is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 09-18-2017, 06:24 PM
Senior Member
 
stm69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Any recent solutions to this setup? I have an older AVR and a JVC RS400. Would like to get 4K HDR to projector but DTS-MA on the AVR. Is there a 2 HDMI output reasonably priced HTPC card available? Old motherboard, doesn't have HDMI or digital out.

stm69 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off