VGA -> Component (Key Digital KD-VTCA1) - What do you think? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 05-02-2001, 11:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav Sandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anyone used the Key Digital KD-VTCA1? It seems like the best VGA to Component transcoder. It seems like it does auto switching of resolutions. They priced it around $159. What do you think? Also, anyone know where to get a better price?

http://www.keydigital.com/detail.asp...CT_ID=KD-VTCA1

Product Description (PDF)
http://63.94.22.10/vtca1.pdf

Nav
Nav Sandhu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 10:16 AM
MR
Senior Member
 
MR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Beaverton, OR USA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Interesting. I would like to see someone's opinion who owns or has tried it out. Is this recommended over the AA?
If I had one to test, I would give you my own opinion.
-MR
MR is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 10:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have the first Key Digital transcoder & have also tried the AA9A60 and the RCA transcoder. The KD unit is clearly superior in terms of picture quality, no doubt because of the high bandwidth capacity. One thing I noticed on this new unit: although is does tout its' auto resolution switching capability, when the unit is in auto sensing mode, the horizontal positioning function is disabled.

------------------
Wayne Harrelson
Springfield, Va
http://www.geocities.com/wayneharrel...HTPC_Page.html

http://www.mp3.com/karnis
Karnis is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 11:03 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav Sandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Karnis:

What does the horizontal position function do?

How do you use Powerstrip or any other type of utility to control the picture? Does it work well with the Key Digital unit?

Thanks,
Nav
Nav Sandhu is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 02:05 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
<font face="Verdana, Arial" size="2">Originally posted by Nav Sandhu:
Karnis:

What does the horizontal position function do?

&gt;&gt;&gt;&gt;Adjusts image left or right.

How do you use Powerstrip or any other type of utility to control the picture? Does it work well with the Key Digital unit?
Read: http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum12/HTML/007647.html
</font>


------------------
Wayne Harrelson
Springfield, Va
http://www.geocities.com/wayneharrel...HTPC_Page.html

http://www.mp3.com/karnis
Karnis is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 02:34 PM
MR
Senior Member
 
MR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Beaverton, OR USA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The AA does not have any horizontal positioning controls either. I think it is a trade off between auto switching and some control over the positioning, although I can't imagine why. Maybe with manual switching, there are separate circuits for each resolution which makes it easier to tweak (??)

Anyway, I would be interested to see if this takes care of the wavy lines some of us have using the AA and RPTV. I am still holding out for a video card that can do YPbPr natively (damn you Radeon,) but this might be a nice intermediary.

-MR
MR is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Karnis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Frederick MD USA
Posts: 6,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you use Powerstrip 3, try reducing the vertical sync pulse width closer to "1" to reduce the wavy lines at the top of your image. You can see them get even worse as you increase to a value of 16, then improve with a value of 1. Check this post for my HDTV/PS 3 timings, you'll notice I try to keep the V-sync width close to 1.
http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/Forum12/HTML/007647.html

------------------
Wayne Harrelson
Springfield, Va
http://www.geocities.com/wayneharrel...HTPC_Page.html

http://www.mp3.com/karnis
Karnis is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Nav Sandhu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Palo Alto, CA USA
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Karnis:

Thanks for the link. It seems like it is going to help!

Nav
Nav Sandhu is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 05-03-2001, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jacmyoung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 4,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just installed a new AA transcoder to my PC for my 53" Pioneer (RCA never worked). Compared to the RGB direct HD input for my TV, the DVD images (both text and graphics) looked equal to RGB, may be a little sharper than RGB, Win98 text is a little less legible through AA to component input but I don't intend to have my RPTV as desktop monitor. The benefit is I now have most TV user adjustments, which are not available through RGB input.
jacmyoung is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 05-04-2001, 10:23 PM
MR
Senior Member
 
MR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Beaverton, OR USA
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Karnis,

Have you actually got them to go away? Even at 1 they are there... and they get worse the longer I have the set on. The lines do get worse as I increase the vertical sync pulse to 16 (or if I increase the number of beers per sitting, but that's a separate matter.)

Maybe my set is just finicky.

-MR
MR is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off