Delta DiO 2496 and WinME sounds - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 04-26-2001, 01:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Is anyone able to get the DiO card to reproduce all of the Windows media sounds? I only get the sounds occasionally, usually when one sound is followed immediately by a second sound, I will hear the second (but not the first sound).

Like the windows.wave, I never hear that when starting my computer. Nor the "You've got Mail" sound.

Help! http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 04-26-2001, 06:34 AM
Senior Member
 
renura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Canberra, Australia
Posts: 385
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have both a DCPro 24/96 and an Audiophile 24/96 and both of them play windows sound without any problems. If you are using WinME or 98, try this:

Open Windows Sound Recorder
go to Files.properties
Choose All Formats in the drop down box
Click on Convert Now button
Choose CD quality (PCM 44.100 Hz 16 Bit stereo)
Click OK to finish
Close application
Re-boot and see what happens

Good luck

Renura
renura is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-04-2001, 05:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Renura, this helped a little, but not much. I performed the steps you detail above, and what varied is that Windows Recorder would not let me exit without saving my changes as a .wav file. ???

Anyhow, it did help a little... but there is still a delay. Such as:

Instead of the wav "You've got Mail!"... all I get is "...Mail!". The beginning of all wav files is cut off!

Can anyone help? My receiver is an harmon/kardon AVR-65 if that will help, and I am using the fiber optic connection.

THANKS!

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-04-2001, 07:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Stereojeff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Whittier, CA USA
Posts: 1,510
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 21
If your HK receiver has "auto format detection" then the receiver could be the problem. We receiver manufacturers are caught between a rock and a hard place. It takes some time to identify the incoming data stream and to select the correct decoder. If we err on one side, we cut off the first sounds. If we err on the other, the user is bombarded by what could well be full output white noise.

Understandbly, most of us choose to err on the quiet side.

Jeff Hipps
Sherwood America
Stereojeff is online now  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-05-2001, 01:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
CZ Eddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin TX, USA
Posts: 7,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Ahh, Sherwood... that name brings back memories from my Car Audio freak days of years ago! I still remember the car that got me really started, it had a pair of Rockford Fosgate "Punch" 12's in a ported box, being run by a Sherwood amp. It was LOUD! http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif

Thanks, Jeff. I had considered that my amp could be part of the problem... I sure wish it weren't though.

Ed

"The boom is dead, long live the bass"
CZ Eddie is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-05-2001, 07:20 AM
Senior Member
 
tlastrange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 276
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yup, my Marantz AV9000 has a delay before it recognizes the format. The first place I noticed this was on Toy Story 2. When the main menu screen displays there's a second or two of white noise "static" as the old fashioned TV starts up. Using an old Dolby Pro Logic preamp being fed analog signals, I hear the static just fine. When I play through my Marantz feeding it S/PDIF, the preamp doesn't kick in until after the static has played.

I discovered this with a standalone Toshiba DVD player. Same thing happens with my new HTPC.


------------------
Tom L.
my-wannabe-home-theater

Tom L.
tlastrange is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off