Desktop Icons in 256 color?? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 05-06-2001, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I have the radeon64 and running 1600x1200 at 32bit. I noticed the desktop icons are now in 256 color only? Anyway to change that in registry? Rest of the apps and games run in 32 bit. Only the sys tray and desktop icons are in 256. any ideas whats up?
Vasim Pathan is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 05-07-2001, 07:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
^
Vasim Pathan is online now  
post #3 of 4 Old 05-07-2001, 08:16 AM
Member
 
bdschuler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bethlehem, Pa
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, go to CONTROL PANEL, Select DISPLAY.

On the Settings Tab- True Color 32 Bit should be selected in Colors
On the EFFECTS Tab- Show Icons using all possible colors should be checked

If that still fails.

Change your backround picture to nothing and see if that helps.

Lemme know what happens.....
bdschuler is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 05-07-2001, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the info. I got my self into this mess because i was download this software called DreamRender that allow your desktop to act as a video interface. It replaces your desktop wallpaper with MPEGs or other videos. and I was going to try and make it work with MPEG2 (.vob) files. I thought it would be great for HTPC. It screwed my system and I could uninstall it. I booted to dos and deleted the directory and went back into windows removed the program in add/remove, reinstalled display drivers, reinstalled MMC 7.1, but the desktop is still stuck at low color. I will try your suggestion. Thanks!

This was the software. be careful:

http://www.3dfiles.com/utility/dreamrender.shtml

http://www.dreamrender.com/

Vasim Pathan is online now  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off