Madvr HDR Passthrough isn't working. - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 44Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 08:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Unhappy Madvr HDR Passthrough isn't working.

Hello everyone and thank you for reading me. [Edit : attachments removed]

As stated in the title I'm having trouble getting HDR content from MPCHC+Madvr to my Samsung HDR SUHD TV.

The screenshots attached are showing my madvr settings, which i think are correct but I'm not sure at all.

When I play a 4k HDR 10 bit video, the TV doesn't show the HDR logo that it shows for every other HDR content I play, which means it doesn't get it as HDR.

The colors as some screenshots can show are kind of washed out, and the light intensities are clearly SDR.

Now I've found a workaround, and it seems that madvr should be able to do this automatically but it doesn't :

I've got the display mode automatic switch enabled in madvr to match the framerate of the film on my tv.

So in this case, it automatically switches to 23 fps.

When this happens i'm allowed to change the nvidia output color depth to 12 bpc, and the windows HDR and Advanced Color switch to ON. (as shown in the' screenshots)

This makes my TV SHOW the HDR logo. (screenshots)

But the colors are even more washed out in windowed view for MPC, since madvr doesn't passthrough **** unless it's using the fullscreen exclusive mode.

BUT when I swithc the video to fullscreen, it seems that the lightness of the colors really IS HDR, but everything is RED. (photos of my creen attached)

So I don't know what I'm getting and I don't know how I can get HDR whenb I play a video but normal windows colors when I don't, since the HDR windows setting shows terrible, washed out colors on everything except fullscreen reddish MPC HC.

I don't knoiw if I've been clear enough but thank you for your help !

Last edited by ParanormalBanana; 07-02-2017 at 05:23 AM.
ParanormalBanana is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 08:59 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
You're probably only missing this:


You also need to watch it fullscreen, HDR passthrough does not work windowed.

If it's still red looking, that's because you are playing a fake HDR upscale of Rogue one ( this movie doesnt exist in UHD-BD). You should stay away from Visionplushdr releases, he's FOS.

Start by playing LEGAL HDR demo to see if it's working properly:
http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=159

Last edited by kwhite666; 06-26-2017 at 09:07 AM.
kwhite666 is offline  
post #3 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 09:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwhite666 View Post
You're probably only missing this:


You also need to watch it fullscreen, not windowed.

If it's still red looking, that because you are playing a fake HDR upscale of Rogue one ( this movie doesnt exist in UHD-BD). You should stay away from Visionplushdr releases, he's BS.
Thank you for your answer I appreciate it very much.


But I am very sorry that I vasn't very clear, english isn't my native language. So I've already activated the automatic exclusive mode, in fact I already stated in my original post that the exclusive mode worked.

For example : when I don't mess with the windows HDR option and Nvidia 12bpc : I get a normal SDR whether I am in windowed OR in fullscreen.

When I turn nvidia's 12bpc on, but leave the windows HDR and advanced color setting off, I get the same result.

BUT when I turn on both nvidia 12bpc and windows HDR, I get VERY washed out colors on desktop and MPCHC windowed, AND an HDR looking video when in exclusive fullscreen... but with a very strange tint of RED.... Also, this is the only way to get my tv show the HDR logo and display a message that says "This is HDR !"

Again, very sorry if I don't say things very clearly
ParanormalBanana is offline  
 
post #4 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 09:18 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
hdr doest work in windowed mode, only fullscreen exclusive mode using madvr. Windows 10 Movies and tvs app can play hdr video windowed and fullscreen.

Just try with a real hdr video (not the fake Rogue one upscale).
http://demo-uhd3d.com/fiche.php?cat=uhd&id=159

English is not my native language either.. sorry if i misunderstood you
kwhite666 is offline  
post #5 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 09:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Still not getting HDR with that one either.

Are you a french speaker ?
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #6 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 09:30 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
oui, je suis Québécois.

Hdr not working at all in fullscreen exclusive mode or is it just the red thing again ??
Did you activate HDR in Windows display setting ?You have to do it manually everytime you play an HDR video.

what's your GPU ?

Last edited by kwhite666; 06-26-2017 at 09:53 AM.
kwhite666 is offline  
post #7 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 10:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ok faisons cela en Français pour le moment.

Donc, j'ai bien compris qu'il faut être en plein écran pour que ça marche, mais je donnais les exemples en mode fenêtré à titre comparatif, pour bien montrer qu'il y a une différence entre fenêtré et plein écran, justement quand le HDR semble fonctionner.

En l'occurrence ça ne marche pas avec la vidéo test parce qu'elle est en 60hz et ma télé ne peut pas faire du 10bit 60Hz.
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #8 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 10:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
J'ai remarqué en effet qu'il fallait activer manuellement le HDR dans les paramètres windows, et c'est relou, ce pourquoi ça ne marche pas en 60Hz parce que la télé ne le supporte pas donc windows ne me permet pas de l'activer.

quand je l'active, la télé passe en HDR, tout a l'air de marcher, sauf le fait que la bureau windows devient affreux ainsi que tout le reste du coup... C'est quand même dommage qu'il n'y ait pas une fonction de dither pour activer le HDR en permanence, ou alors une activation permanente qui ne s'activerait réellement que quand une video HDR est jouée.
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #9 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 10:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
En forçant le HDR j'ai réussi à bidouiller pour voir la video test en HDR mais j'ai toujours le problème avec le rouge, cela dit c'est beaucoup moins maquré mais par exele pendant la scène ou on voit le soleil passer à travers une fenêtre et des gens, ou la grenouille, on voit bien que le rouge est oversaturé
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #10 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 10:54 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Ta tv ne supporte pas 60hz mais elle supporte HDR??? **Samsung KS8000 est meme 120hz en frame interpolation.
Ton cable HDMI ne supporte p-e pas le débit, mais ta TV est définitivement 60hz.
Il faut des cables certifiés HDR comme ceux de MONOPRICE : https://www.amazon.ca/Monoprice-Cert...rice+hdr+cable
Si tu as l'option HDR dans windows display setting, j'imagine que ton GPU est HDMI 2.0 et compatible 4k/60/HDR

Si tu joue la video HDR dans l'app de windows10 ''Film et télé'', es ce que le rouge est oversatured aussi ?

Oui pour l'instant le bureau windows en HDR est tres pale et bizare. Le prochain Fall Creator Uupdate de Windows10 devrait corriger tout ce qui ce rapporte au HDR.

en passant tu devrais supprimer tes screenshots de Rogue one, on ne peut pas parler de contenu illégal sur se site.


Last edited by kwhite666; 06-26-2017 at 11:19 AM.
kwhite666 is offline  
post #11 of 158 Old 06-26-2017, 08:20 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Verge2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: arkansas
Posts: 3,105
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 782 Post(s)
Liked: 204
The movie you illegally downloaded and are attempting to play is fake. It's a bluray upscale and fake hdr metadata added.

So no, it's not going to work very well is it?
Verge2 is offline  
post #12 of 158 Old 06-29-2017, 07:47 AM
Member
 
lunnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 133
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 37
Make sure your use the 32bit version of MPC-HC if you want HDR metadata passthru. Took me a while to figure it out.

-Phil
"Tempo is everything, perfection unattainable..."
lunnar is offline  
post #13 of 158 Old 06-29-2017, 09:21 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by lunnar View Post
Make sure your use the 32bit version of MPC-HC if you want HDR metadata passthru. Took me a while to figure it out.
No it doesnt matter, I'm using the 64bit version of mpc / madvr and lavfilters. HDR is working perfectly.
kwhite666 is offline  
post #14 of 158 Old 06-29-2017, 12:59 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I've just talked to Microsoft and NVidia. And the current situation is as follows:

1) In Windows 10 Creator's Update there's a new option in the OS display settings dialog named "HDR and Advanced Color". If you turn this option off, your TV will always be in switched into SDR mode. If you turn this option on, your TV will always be switched into HDR mode. Windows does *not* support dynamically switching HDR mode on/off while you're playing an HDR movie (or playing an HDR game)! It's currently not supported, and there are no plans to add support for that. Basically Microsoft believes that if you want to use HDR at all, then you want your PC to always drive your TV via HDR mode.

2) If you switch the "HDR and Advanced Color" option off, your TV will always receive SDR from the PC. If you play an HDR movie in this situation with the madVR option "passthrough HDR content to the display" activated, the OS will perform a low quality HDR -> SDR conversion behind madVR's back. Consequently, HDR content will look "ok", but the quality is not really good. SDR content will look "perfect", though.

3) If you switch the "HDR and Advanced Color" option on, your TV will always receive HDR from the PC. If you tell madVR to "passthrough HDR content to the display" in this situation, HDR movies should look "perfect". If you play SDR content in this situation, the OS will convert SDR to HDR behind madVR's back. Consequently, SDR content will look "ok", but it will not be perfect.

4) Currently HDR and fullscreen exclusive mode is a problematic combination atm. It's partially the fault of the OS, partially of the GPU drivers, partially of madVR. It's not clear yet if this will be fixed, or when. Generally, Microsoft wants to get rid of fullscreen exclusive mode. It might suddenly disappear in a future Windows 10 version.

5) Nvidia comes to the rescue of all HTPC users who want perfect quality for both SDR and HDR content: Nvidia's private HDR API allows madVR to dynamically switch the TV into and out of HDR mode, as needed.

6) The current madVR build has a bug where Nvidia's private HDR API is only called properly in the 32bit madVR version, but not in 64bit. This will be fixed in the next build.

7) All post-Creator's-Update Nvidia drivers have a bug which result in madVR being able to switch the TV into HDR mode, but switching the TV back into SDR mode fails. You can work around this by either using Windows 8.1 instead of Windows 10. Or by installing older Nvidia drivers. E.g. with Nvidia driver 376.33 dynamic HDR switching works perfectly fine in Windows 10. Nvidia is aware of the bug in newer drivers and plans to fix that soon.

As it stands right now, for all Windows users who want to do both SDR and HDR playback in perfect quality, I can only recommend Nvidia GPUs, because only Nvidia's private API allows madVR to dynamically switch the TV between SDR <-> HDR. I'm talking to Intel, maybe they will add a private API, too. Unfortunately my AMD contacts have gone silent.

I still recommend Windows 8.1 as the best media play OS right now, as I've done for months. Windows 10 still has many stability issues, furthermore Microsoft is going into a direction which is very bad for HTPC users.
sjchmura, njfoses, brazen1 and 5 others like this.
madshi is online now  
post #15 of 158 Old 06-30-2017, 12:35 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
P.S: Just got an email from Microsoft. Maybe not all hope for the Windows 10 HDR API is lost just yet.
N3W813 likes this.
madshi is online now  
post #16 of 158 Old 06-30-2017, 05:42 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sjchmura's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 4,237
Mentioned: 24 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1463 Post(s)
Liked: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
P.S: Just got an email from Microsoft. Maybe not all hope for the Windows 10 HDR API is lost just yet.


Thanks for doing this - it's nuts how broken it is yet works 100% on xbox one

I hate having to choose between 4k forza 3 or hdr 900p


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

DocACE911 on Steam, XBOX, PS4
"Kill Cancer or Die"
Custom Z9 Game Settings For SDR and HDR
Sony 75" Z9, Denon X4200, Definitive Technologies BP7002 + 9.1 ATMOS, PSV 18" sub
Loving Wife and 4 year old Son who tolerate this expense!
sjchmura is offline  
post #17 of 158 Old 07-01-2017, 03:14 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
Latest madVR v0.91.11 out now:

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Should work well now with Nvidia GPUs, at least, even with newest drivers. Just make sure you have "HDR and advanced color" turned off.
madshi is online now  
post #18 of 158 Old 07-01-2017, 05:00 PM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
Latest madVR v0.91.11 out now:

http://madshi.net/madVR.zip

Should work well now with Nvidia GPUs, at least, even with newest drivers. Just make sure you have "HDR and advanced color" turned off.

thank you so much for this update, it seems to be working now.
My tv is now switching in HDR without having to turn on the win10 HDR slidder.

Edit: it's not switching to HDR in FSE, so i think i'm getting some banding since we cannot get 10bit output in windowed mode.

Last edited by kwhite666; 07-01-2017 at 05:13 PM.
kwhite666 is offline  
post #19 of 158 Old 07-01-2017, 05:41 PM
Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Confirm. My display is also switching HDR and advanced color ON when title is started and back OFF when closed.
GTX 960 - 22.21.13.8476
RGB Full or YCbCr Limited.
Only windowed, FSE not working.
No longer see NVidia API vs Windows API setting.


Very, very, nice to see the HDR dynamic switch AT LAST!
Thank you very much madshi. You are answering the community and you are very close.

Last edited by brazen1; 07-01-2017 at 05:46 PM.
brazen1 is offline  
post #20 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 12:06 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
FSE not working seems strange. Can you guys try an older driver? E.g. 376.33? Does FSE work then?

You should get no banding with 8bit output, thanks to madVR dithering. However, 8bit output will have slightly higher dithering noise floor than 10bit.
kwhite666 likes this.
madshi is online now  
post #21 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 01:17 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I can confirm dynamic HDR switching not working in FSE mode with latest drivers. This is a driver bug that I can't work around. It will be fixed in a future Nvidia driver. For now, you can either disable FSE mode and live with 8bit windowed mode. Probably not a dramatic problem. Or alternatively, use any driver between 376.xx and 380.xx.
madshi is online now  
post #22 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 04:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by kwhite666 View Post
Ta tv ne supporte pas 60hz mais elle supporte HDR??? **Samsung KS8000 est meme 120hz en frame interpolation.
Ton cable HDMI ne supporte p-e pas le débit, mais ta TV est définitivement 60hz.
Il faut des cables certifiés HDR comme ceux de MONOPRICE : https://www.amazon.ca/Monoprice-Cert...rice+hdr+cable
Si tu as l'option HDR dans windows display setting, j'imagine que ton GPU est HDMI 2.0 et compatible 4k/60/HDR

Si tu joue la video HDR dans l'app de windows10 ''Film et télé'', es ce que le rouge est oversatured aussi ?

Oui pour l'instant le bureau windows en HDR est tres pale et bizare. Le prochain Fall Creator Uupdate de Windows10 devrait corriger tout ce qui ce rapporte au HDR.

en passant tu devrais supprimer tes screenshots de Rogue one, on ne peut pas parler de contenu illégal sur se site.

Je sais exactement ce que supporte ma télé, et en l'occurrence, elle ne supporte PAS 4k HDR 60Hz 4:4:4, Mais elle le supporte en 4:2:0. elle supporte très bien 4k HDR jusqu'à 30Hz en 4:4:4.
L'ennui était donc ceci : je suis sur le bureau windows en 4k SDR 60Hz 4:4:4, et quand je lance une video HDR, Madvr ne sait que changer la résolution de l'écran et sa fréquence de rafraîchissement, mais il ne sait pas changer l'option de windows qui permet le passthrough de l'HDR.

Il est finalement impossible de régler ce problème, donc je dois changer à chaque fois le paramètre dans windows, ce qui fait passer la télé en mode HDR.

L'autre souci était donc la saturation des couleurs en HDR qui n'était pas bonne, et ce même sur le fichier de test de samsung avec la grenouille. E

t cela s'explique finalement par ce que windows et Nvidia ne transmettent pas à la télévision les métadonnées nécessaires à appliquer le bon espace colorimétrique par la télé.

j'ai donc réglé ce souci en paramétrant un profil de calibration pour le HDR windows dans la télévision, ce qui normalement est automatique.

Merci pour votre aide.


EN CE QUI CONCERNE LE FILM : je dispose du blu-ray, il n'est donc pas illégal pour moi de récupérer le même contenu par une autre voie, ce qui constitue une copie de sauvegarde de mon support. La véritable raison est que je n'ai plus de lecteur blu-ray, mais ça reste légal, d'autant plus que ces captures pourraient très bien être d'un upscale que j'aie fait moi-même avec mon propre disque.
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #23 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 04:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I've just talked to Microsoft and NVidia. And the current situation is as follows:

1) In Windows 10 Creator's Update there's a new option in the OS display settings dialog named "HDR and Advanced Color". If you turn this option off, your TV will always be in switched into SDR mode. If you turn this option on, your TV will always be switched into HDR mode. Windows does *not* support dynamically switching HDR mode on/off while you're playing an HDR movie (or playing an HDR game)! It's currently not supported, and there are no plans to add support for that. Basically Microsoft believes that if you want to use HDR at all, then you want your PC to always drive your TV via HDR mode.

2) If you switch the "HDR and Advanced Color" option off, your TV will always receive SDR from the PC. If you play an HDR movie in this situation with the madVR option "passthrough HDR content to the display" activated, the OS will perform a low quality HDR -> SDR conversion behind madVR's back. Consequently, HDR content will look "ok", but the quality is not really good. SDR content will look "perfect", though.

3) If you switch the "HDR and Advanced Color" option on, your TV will always receive HDR from the PC. If you tell madVR to "passthrough HDR content to the display" in this situation, HDR movies should look "perfect". If you play SDR content in this situation, the OS will convert SDR to HDR behind madVR's back. Consequently, SDR content will look "ok", but it will not be perfect.

4) Currently HDR and fullscreen exclusive mode is a problematic combination atm. It's partially the fault of the OS, partially of the GPU drivers, partially of madVR. It's not clear yet if this will be fixed, or when. Generally, Microsoft wants to get rid of fullscreen exclusive mode. It might suddenly disappear in a future Windows 10 version.

5) Nvidia comes to the rescue of all HTPC users who want perfect quality for both SDR and HDR content: Nvidia's private HDR API allows madVR to dynamically switch the TV into and out of HDR mode, as needed.

6) The current madVR build has a bug where Nvidia's private HDR API is only called properly in the 32bit madVR version, but not in 64bit. This will be fixed in the next build.

7) All post-Creator's-Update Nvidia drivers have a bug which result in madVR being able to switch the TV into HDR mode, but switching the TV back into SDR mode fails. You can work around this by either using Windows 8.1 instead of Windows 10. Or by installing older Nvidia drivers. E.g. with Nvidia driver 376.33 dynamic HDR switching works perfectly fine in Windows 10. Nvidia is aware of the bug in newer drivers and plans to fix that soon.

As it stands right now, for all Windows users who want to do both SDR and HDR playback in perfect quality, I can only recommend Nvidia GPUs, because only Nvidia's private API allows madVR to dynamically switch the TV between SDR <-> HDR. I'm talking to Intel, maybe they will add a private API, too. Unfortunately my AMD contacts have gone silent.

I still recommend Windows 8.1 as the best media play OS right now, as I've done for months. Windows 10 still has many stability issues, furthermore Microsoft is going into a direction which is very bad for HTPC users.
Thank you for your answer and research !

So, about 1)2)3) I'd figured that out thank you for the confirmation, I suppose I have to switch it everytime but well there aren't too many HDR movies around (or true for that matter) so I'll settle with that until microsoft changes his mind ?

5) I'm very happy to read that, can you please explain to me the right way to use it ?

6) So I just have to wait the next madvr build and enable the nvidia private API, and i'll be hapi ?

7 : thank you for the information and research again

I currently am using windows 10 and would have a lot of work going back to 8.1, and also am very happy with some of windows 10 features and solution for all my other applications for this computer (it's my only PC and I use it to work, for gaming and as a HTPC, which makes things difficult to combine)

I thank you again for this reply which was exaclty what I was asking.

Good day to you !
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #24 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 05:00 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I can confirm dynamic HDR switching not working in FSE mode with latest drivers. This is a driver bug that I can't work around. It will be fixed in a future Nvidia driver. For now, you can either disable FSE mode and live with 8bit windowed mode. Probably not a dramatic problem. Or alternatively, use any driver between 376.xx and 380.xx.
Sorry to bother you again but even when i switch off FSE my TV is still not going into HDR mode, what did I do wrong ?
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #25 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 05:11 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 16
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanormalBanana View Post
Sorry to bother you again but even when i switch off FSE my TV is still not going into HDR mode, what did I do wrong ?
I tried disabling the ffdshow raw video filter and it worked, how xcan I get them to work together ?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-07-02 14.04.25.png
Views:	76
Size:	45.8 KB
ID:	2214121   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot 2017-07-02 14.0411.25.png
Views:	61
Size:	46.7 KB
ID:	2214129  

Last edited by ParanormalBanana; 07-02-2017 at 05:21 AM.
ParanormalBanana is offline  
post #26 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 06:10 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
LAV Video Decoder sends HDR information upstream. If you use ffdshow raw video filter, ffdshow doesn't pass the HDR information along, so it gets lost. As a result madVR doesn't know that the video is actually HDR. There's currently no solution for this problem. ffdshow would have to be updated, but there's no developer left that's working on ffdshow.
madshi is online now  
post #27 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 07:04 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
Quote:
Originally Posted by madshi View Post
I can confirm dynamic HDR switching not working in FSE mode with latest drivers. This is a driver bug that I can't work around. It will be fixed in a future Nvidia driver. For now, you can either disable FSE mode and live with 8bit windowed mode. Probably not a dramatic problem. Or alternatively, use any driver between 376.xx and 380.xx.
Thanks Madshi, I can confirm HDR in FSE is working on drivers version 378.92.
Could it be possible one day to get 10bit output in windowed mode ?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ParanormalBanana View Post
EN CE QUI CONCERNE LE FILM : je dispose du blu-ray, il n'est donc pas illégal pour moi de récupérer le même contenu par une autre voie, ce qui constitue une copie de sauvegarde de mon support. La véritable raison est que je n'ai plus de lecteur blu-ray, mais ça reste légal, d'autant plus que ces captures pourraient très bien être d'un upscale que j'aie fait moi-même avec mon propre disque.

La loi te permet de faire des copies de tes bluray mais sa reste illegal de downloader des films sur internet meme si tu en possede la copie original.
Aussi, tu es sur un site US, cette loi ne s'applique pas ici.

De plus, on voyait le titre de ta release dans tes photos (visionhdrplus), alors non ce n'est pas une capture hdmi que tu a fais toi-meme!

anyway merci d'avoir supprimé tes photos.

a+

Last edited by kwhite666; 07-02-2017 at 11:29 AM.
kwhite666 is offline  
post #28 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 07:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
madshi's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 6,085
Mentioned: 48 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 600 Post(s)
Liked: 584
I've asked Microsoft to support 10bit output in windowed mode, with "HDR and advanced color" turned off, but I'm not sure if they're going to do that. So far it's only supported with "HDR and advanced color" turned on.
madshi is online now  
post #29 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 07:46 AM
Member
 
brazen1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 181
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 114 Post(s)
Liked: 41
378.92 driver with FSE on goes into HDR mode but does not switch back to SDR when finished for me. It remains stuck in HDR mode. Does render 10 bit though. This driver is also the last before the HDR and advanced color switch was implemented. Going to just use the latest driver and turn FSE off and accept 8 bit. Hopefully NVidia will address it in the next few weeks or MS will do us all a favor and support 10 bit windowed. Thanks for getting it to dynamically switch. That in itself is a huge leap forward toward complete automation.
brazen1 is offline  
post #30 of 158 Old 07-02-2017, 07:47 AM
 
kwhite666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Montréal, Canada
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 89
I'm getting a blackscreen with the win10 hdr slider on + windowed mode. Screen stays black even when I close MPC-BE. The only way to get the image back, is by switching to FSE.

Only FSE is working with the win10 hdr slider on.

Last edited by kwhite666; 07-02-2017 at 07:53 AM.
kwhite666 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off