DScaler 2.3 and CPU usage - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 05-24-2001, 09:34 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
everettes's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Richmond, Virginia USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying DScaler for the first time. PC Specs as follows: P4 1.4 GHz, 256MB, SBLive Value, Herc GeForce2 MX (Det 12.10), and Win-TV Go. The problem I'm experiencing (on DTV 2.1.2 and DScaler 2.3, I haven't tried the older versions) is that my CPU usage stays at 99%. I've tried as many settings as I feel safe trying. The program works perfect in EVERY way except for processor usage. Win-TV's application runs at 0%-1% usage. Any help would be great.
everettes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 05-24-2001, 09:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
everettes -

Depending upon settings DScaler will try to grab all unused CPU time. It looks bad on a CPU monitor but it will gracefully yield if anything else is running.

Since you have more than enough processor power anyway you can easily change this behavior by adding a line

Sleep_Interval=1

to the [Threads] section of the DScaler.ini file.

- Tom

------------------
Getting started:
HTPC FAQ , DScaler , Xcel's Links .

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off