Any common HDCD titles? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-24-2001, 08:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tony Lai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd like to test some HDCD's? I heard that some mainstream CD's are coded in HDCD. Vaguely remember the Austin Powers soundtrack. Any more?

You know what I'm testing.

T.

IntelInside?
CyrixInstead:-P
AuthenticAMD!

"From the depths of winter I finally learned that within me lay an invincible summer..." a.c.
Tony Lai is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-24-2001, 08:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tony Lai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.hdcd.com/music_catalog/mu...ER/ST&submit=1

Unfortunately I think that it's like certain dts CD's which have very similar ISBN's to the ordinary CD's.

T.

IntelInside?
CyrixInstead:-P
AuthenticAMD!

"From the depths of winter I finally learned that within me lay an invincible summer..." a.c.
Tony Lai is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-24-2001, 10:02 PM
Senior Member
 
TheLongshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Burke, VA
Posts: 432
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
All the King Crimson remasters that are comming out are labled as HDCD.

What are you testing anyways. HDCD on computers?

Jason
TheLongshot is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-25-2001, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Tony Lai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Posts: 1,198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
>What are you testing anyways. HDCD on computers?

Since Microsoft bought Pacific Macrosonics, they added HDCD capability to Media Player 8 which at the time being is a beta for WinXP. I got the beta player and installed it under WinMe and Win2000.

It seems to detect the above Austin Powers CD and add a little 'HDCD' logo to the player indicating it knows the media and is playing it back but I can't tell much difference on my system.

T.

IntelInside?
CyrixInstead:-P
AuthenticAMD!

"From the depths of winter I finally learned that within me lay an invincible summer..." a.c.
Tony Lai is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-25-2001, 09:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
KevinYee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: CA Bay Area
Posts: 1,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
*WARNING* Shameless plug about to follow! http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/biggrin.gif


I play in a band and our new CD that we released at the end of last year was encoded in HDCD.
http://www.islandriddim.com/our_new_cd.htm

KevinYee is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-25-2001, 09:37 PM
Member
 
vmixer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Rotel CD player with HDCD and a few titles I have make the little red HDCD light come on:

Modest Mouse -- Lonesome Crowded West
Beck -- Mutations
Beck -- Midnight Vultures
XTC -- Wasp Star Apple Venus Volume 2

Best,
--Geoff
vmixer is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off