Software compressor/limiter - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 09-08-2017, 05:37 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Software compressor/limiter

Is there such a thing for windows 7 that will compress/limit the audio on my HTPC which is the audio on the HDMI output. Does anything exist? Sick of all the different volume levels on internet content -- youtube etc.
ralphcramdon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 09-08-2017, 05:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 130
Sure. Most sound cards and even sound chipsets like C-Media have a "smart volume" or "night mode" setting which enables a compressor.

However, a more controllable version is available as a general-purpose audio filter as part of the LAV audio stuff from https://1f0.de/lav-audio/, which has a Dynamic Range Compressor, clipping protection, a "normalize matrix" setting which tries to smooth out volume changes, etc.

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 09-09-2017, 11:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cswiger View Post
Sure. Most sound cards and even sound chipsets like C-Media have a "smart volume" or "night mode" setting which enables a compressor.

However, a more controllable version is available as a general-purpose audio filter as part of the LAV audio stuff from https://1f0.de/lav-audio/, which has a Dynamic Range Compressor, clipping protection, a "normalize matrix" setting which tries to smooth out volume changes, etc.
Thanks -- I'll look at it. is it pretty user friendly? Do I have to download other software to get it to work? I'd be glad to pay for something as well -- just need basic compression/limiting, no bells and whistles eq etc.

Appreciate the suggestion.
ralphcramdon is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 09-09-2017, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ralphcramdon View Post
Thanks -- I'll look at it. is it pretty user friendly? Do I have to download other software to get it to work? I'd be glad to pay for something as well -- just need basic compression/limiting, no bells and whistles eq etc.

Appreciate the suggestion.
Plus -- don't have a sound card. This is the HDMI output on my video card that i feed straight into my 5.1 receiver that I use.
ralphcramdon is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 09-09-2017, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ralphcramdon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 245
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just saw the setup on youtube -- anything else that doesn't require a a lot of setup? I just want to download and set two functions --

volume adjust low and limit high. maybe even something that looks like a hardware device in the gui.

I have breakaway audio but it only does stereo.
ralphcramdon is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 09-10-2017, 09:42 AM
Advanced Member
 
cswiger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Sunnyvale, CA
Posts: 584
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 284 Post(s)
Liked: 130
While LAV can do all sorts of stuff you might not care about, installing it and enabling just the compressor is easy.

With regard to using HDMI from a graphics card, if you go to your Sound Properties via the control panel or device manager, there should be an entry like "NVIDIA High Definition Audio" associated with your AVR or display. Select properties, go to enhancements tab, there might be a "Loudness Equalization" option provided by Microsoft. (It's definitely there under Win 10, anyway, but I recall it showing up back in Win 7 or Vista as well.)

Primary (2.1): Thiel CS 1.2 / Velodyne F1000 sub / Adcom GFA-555 Mk2 / Rotel 970BX / Sony CDP-CA9 ES
Secondary (5.1): Paradigm Mini-Monitor v.3 / CC270 v.3 center / ADP-170 v.2 surrounds /
SVS SB1000 sub / Marantz SR-6010 / AppleTV + Win7 PC / BenQ BL3200PT
cswiger is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 09-14-2017, 10:53 AM
AVS Forum Addicted Member
 
stanger89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 22,387
Mentioned: 23 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3563 Post(s)
Liked: 1976
stanger89 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off