S-Video from cable box to PC TV card - ASUS Digital VCR Whoa !? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-10-2017, 07:01 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
S-Video from cable box to PC TV card - ASUS Digital VCR Whoa !?

Hi, need some advice. For years I watched regular TV on my computer via a long S-Video out from my cable box to my PC's TV Card. The audio was managed by digital out to a Marantz receiver. On my PC desktop I ran the ancient ASUS Digital VCR (v2.3). Both Audio and Video were in sync, All was good!
I recently upgraded to Windows 10 (from Windows 2007). No more ASUS DVR, (doesn't work - 'Illegal Division by Zero' ?). Now i'm using WinTV (v7.0.27323). Image is ok but there is a second or two of S-Video buffering that puts things out of sync with the audio (ie: The Problem!). The old ASUS DVR app did *not* have this problem. Haven't found an option to disable the buffering. Is there a different app that I might try?


My setup details:
Cable box: SA Explorer SDC8300 (all Ch Tuning, DVR, ..etc through this)
- S-Video out to Desktop PC (Long >15' cable)
- Digital Audio to Marantz Receiver
PC Desktop: HP Pavilion Elite HPE
PC TV Card: Hauppauge WinTV HVR-1250)
Receiver: Marantz SR7000


Thanks in advance.
-Ames
avsames is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-11-2017, 04:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
bryansj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 8,806
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1377 Post(s)
Liked: 638
Downgrade from Windows 10 or spend some money on a modern solution.

bryansj is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-11-2017, 06:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 3,102
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 57
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
I used a program called VirtualVCR to do s-video captures when I was converting all my VHS tapes to DVD many years ago, you could give it a shot. But I agree with bryan, probably time for a better solution as there are many much better options out there.
JDLIVE is offline  
 
post #4 of 4 Old 09-12-2017, 01:09 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 113 Post(s)
Liked: 16
In WinTV, there is an option called SlipStream. You can try enabling that. You will have to reboot your computer after you enable that option.

You should have connected the cable box audio to the video capture card, so the video and audio are buffered or time-shifted. I never had the problem you are having when I was using a similar cable box ages ago although I was using analog output from the cable box to the sound card line-in and S-Video to the video capture card. I was using Linux back then. I used tvtime for watching and mplayer for recordings.

You can try MediaPortal and disable time-shifting for your card. I have used MediaPortal and it crashes when I scan analog channels and tuning analog channels. It should be OK for analog inputs like S-Video. Hauppauge writes poor drivers, so play cautiously when using MediaPortal.
tecknurd is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off