Big Phat Band truly rox - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-10-2001, 04:08 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pootle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was going to attach this to original post on good audio demos, but it is hiding http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif

Just to say thanks to all those who recommended the Big Phat Band DVD - I had to order from USA and it took an AGE to come, but boy was it worth the wait!

My favourite track is A Few Good Men - or is it Sing Sang Sung - maybe its the one I last listened to!

This DVD is awsome, especially now I've junked my SB Live! Card and started using a Santa Cruz. I run PowerDVD in 6 ch mode and have power amps plugged straight into back of sound card.

Is this the DD5.1 equivalent of the old Sheffield Labs direct cut LPs? These are still a revelation on a really good analogue system.

Enermax PSU
Abit k7 motherboard
Duron 750 cpu (not clocked!) radial fan
128Mb RAM
latest via 4-in 1 drivers
Win98 SE
Creative DXR2 5X DVD
ATI AIW radeon - drivers 3063
SVGA output to Sanyo projector
Sonic Fury (Turtle Beach SantaCruz) soundcard
(SBPlatinum live! donated to deserving cause)
MMC7.0
PowerDVD 3 plus upgrade (3024)
on-digital STB, RGB feed to Lektropak RGB - S-video converter
S-video input to AIW
Quad 303 power amps B&W Nautilus 804 / HTM2
Jamo rear speakers, 2 X KEF B139 isobaric LFE

------------------
Its not what you do - its the way that you do it

HDCP => lots of expensive technology that never seems to work
Pootle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-10-2001, 01:38 PM
Senior Member
 
Hepcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Austin
Posts: 336
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yup, I love that disc. Hey, how's that Duron treating you for HTPC? I've been playing with some KT7/TBird combos, but they've been kinda quirky. I've got my home box running stable now with a good Antec 400W PSU, but I want to make sure the Duron would be a stable platform before I upgrade my HTPC. The ol' Celeron 300A @ 464MHz is getting long in the tooth...

-will

------------------

No man has enough luck to save himself from his fellow man
--Combustible Edison

No man has enough luck to save himself from his fellow man
--Combustible Edison
Hepcat is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-10-2001, 03:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Pootle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Posts: 282
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
will,
Duron works fine - had a few problems with later ATI Radeon drivers, but now I've gone back to 3063 Radeon drivers with the latest via drivers it all works a treat, but I do get some frame loss recording at full quality if I'm watching in full screen, so I tihnk I might go for *small* overclock to around 850 to see if that fixes it.



------------------
Its not what you do - its the way that you do it

HDCP => lots of expensive technology that never seems to work
Pootle is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off