Dscaler Alternatives - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 09-27-2003, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone using anything other than Dscaler for TV out on the HTPC?

I am looking for alternatives (Freeware or commercial) due to sound issues I am having with Dscaler.

I am mostly interested in Picture quality and recording is not necessarily needed.

Actually tuning is not even necessary because I am feeding my Satellite picture into the S-Video input of my ATI TV Wonder Pro.

Here is my setup:

Dell SFF machine 2 Gig, 256 Meg RAM
ATI TV Wonder Pro (Svideo in via Sat)
ATI Radeon 9200 attached to Zenith D27D51 via VGA (RGB) input
720 x 540p powerstrip timings

Any help would be appreciated,

Eli
elias is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 09-27-2003, 09:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Sokoloff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Cambridge, MA
Posts: 802
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by elias
ATI TV Wonder Pro (Svideo in via Sat)
ATI Radeon 9200 attached to Zenith D27D51 via VGA (RGB) input
Why not just run the sound directly from the sat box to the sound system (either receiver or TV as the case may be. Presto, solves all your dscaler sound problems... :)

---Jim
Sokoloff is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 09-27-2003, 11:08 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply....


That would be fine if I was using a receiver, but I am going directly into the TV with the sound out of the computer.
elias is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 09-28-2003, 03:29 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bump
elias is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 09-28-2003, 03:57 AM
Senior Member
 
RippyD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: darichard1@yahoo.com
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Why can't you take the sound directly out of your satellite box to the TV? I'm new to HTPC and don't understand your Dscaler issue. Is it a timing issue causing a sync problem between audio/video?

Rip

Rip
RippyD is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 09-28-2003, 04:35 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For some reason Dscaler doesn't play well with the ATI Wonder Pro and sound... I have posted this issue to the Dscaler forum with no resolution.

The ATI app that comes with the board works fine, but pic quality leaves a lot to be desired.

I have the sound out of the PC (Used currently for DVD playback) already going to the sound in on the TV, so the RCA ports on the TV are already filled, short of putting in an audio switcher of some type I am at a loss...


Eli
elias is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 09-28-2003, 04:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lawdawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Springfield, MO USA
Posts: 1,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It's not free, but the MYHD 100 does a pretty good job of scaling SDTV, rock solid. I would imagine the MYHD 120 does just as well. I used to use Dscaler, but could never get Basketball (fast motion video) to stop jerking/look the way i wanted. I was buying a MYHD anyway, so I gave it a try. Looks pretty good to me.
lawdawg is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 09-28-2003, 05:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
elias's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 78
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply!

Yeah, I have been looking at the MYHD card for a while now, but was kinda hoping to get a software only solution that would work with my existing hardware.

Everything the way it stands, fits nice in snug in my SFF case...

Eli
elias is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-30-2003, 02:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
e vey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hot & Sunny Florida
Posts: 1,636
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I think that ShowShifter maybe works with this card. ShowShifter lists the Wonder and the Wonder VE, but not the Wonder Pro.

The picture will not be better than MMC until you use the Dscaler Deinterlacing Plugin they have as a separate download and set it up. I like ScalerBob.
http://www.showshifter.com/cgi-bin/u...c;f=6;t=000043

You can't use the noise filters this way, though.
e vey is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off