What options are there for remote PC power-on? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 23 Old 10-04-2003, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm putting together an HTPC and I think I have everything figured out...except how to turn the PC on via remote.

I plan to use Girder with an IR receiver and Sony RM-AV3000 to control the applications I need...including shut down and DVD functions.

From what I understand, in order for the IR receiver to receiver a signal, the computer has to be on already right...and for Girder to work, Windows has to be loaded...correct? So going that route is not an option.

Now, I have a wireless keyboard/mouse and my motherboard supports "
any key" power on. Can I work with this someone? I'm thinking I can't since the keyboard words on RF technology not IR.

What have you guys done to overcome this? What options are there?
HX_Guy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 23 Old 10-04-2003, 09:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisW6ATV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Hayward, Collie-fornia USA
Posts: 4,205
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 17
One fairly simple idea is to use an X10 infrared receiver (model IR543) and a 3-prong X10 appliance module. Set up your remote control with two macros (if the Sony can do this; if not, this may be a good reason to switch to a Pronto 1000 or higher). The 'off' macro shuts down Windows by whatever method you are planning using the IR receiver and Girder. The 'on' macro is a 'power off' command to the X10 module, then a time delay, then a 'power on' command to the same module. Set your computer's BIOS for 'auto power on' (or a similar setting; it is the one where just plugging it in causes it to boot). Plug the computer into this module.

Chris

"It's [expletive] lame to watch Jaws, a film that uses the 2.40 ratio as well as any ever produced, in the wrong format on HBO." -Steven Soderbergh, Oscar-winning director

ChrisW6ATV is offline  
post #3 of 23 Old 10-04-2003, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Eiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
One simple option is to add an IR keyboard such as the Airboard, and teach your remote the key which wakes your PC.

For this to work, you will need to connect the IR keyboard to your computer via the PS/2 connectors, and convert your RF keyboard to use a USB connection.

Another alternative is to get a UIRT2 IR transceiver (Note that the newer USB-UIRT will not meet your needs)
Eiffel is offline  
post #4 of 23 Old 10-04-2003, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thank you for the suggestions.

I don't think my motherboard has the "auto on" option.

The IR keyboard sounds like it could work. Do they make PS2 to USB adapters so I can use my Logitech keyboard via USB?
HX_Guy is offline  
post #5 of 23 Old 10-04-2003, 09:44 PM
Newbie
 
gfret's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Florida
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can make almost any PC "auto on" with a normally closed relay point. Use a 12vdc relay and connect the N/C to "power on". When the 12PS comes up it releases the power on shot and allows the associated reset to go away. This has worked on every ATX machine I have tried it on.
gfret is offline  
post #6 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the suggestion but Im not too familiar with what you are talking about.
HX_Guy is offline  
post #7 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 04:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
hjackson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Tampa
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
"You can make almost any PC "auto on" with a normally closed relay point. Use a 12vdc relay and connect the N/C to "power on". When the 12PS comes up it releases the power on shot and allows the associated reset to go away. This has worked on every ATX machine I have tried it on."

Easy for you to say... :) Can you expand that explanation for the novices like me?

hjackson
hjackson is offline  
post #8 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
builty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Melbourne Australia
Posts: 1,069
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Check out http://www.pccasegear.com.au/prod596.htm for a commercial RF remote control PC starter.
builty is offline  
post #9 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I need an IR based controller...as my remote is IR.
HX_Guy is offline  
post #10 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 04:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MichaelZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Posts: 1,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I use WOL (wake-on-lan) and send a "magic packet" to wake my sleeping PC.
MichaelZ is offline  
post #11 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 06:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by MichaelZ
I use WOL (wake-on-lan) and send a "magic packet" to wake my sleeping PC.

that's neat.... but how do you send the magic packet.... I remember an old clunky console app to do this.... got something better?

:rolleyes:

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #12 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 08:50 PM
Member
 
BrianH33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is the easiest way and how I do it....

Like Eiffel said, get yourself an IR keyboard. Set the BIOS to wake on keyboard with any key or, if you need a special key, try the space bar. The teach that code to your remote and ... magically ... your PC will boot or wake up from suspend thru your remote.


Works really great for me!

HTPC w/ Asus P5B, e6400 @ 3.2gHz, 2 GB ram, HD 2600XT with HDCP and HDMI, MS HD DVD
BrianH33 is offline  
post #13 of 23 Old 10-05-2003, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by jimwhite
that's neat.... but how do you send the magic packet.... I remember an old clunky console app to do this.... got something better?
magic packet only works if you have some other ethernet device that sends it, usually a computer, although it is possible to make a device that takes an IR signal and send the special ethernet signal to wake up the computer, that is pretty specialised and elaborate.

If you needed to wake up one computer from another, here is a selection of software for you to try:
http://www.depicus.com/wake-on-lan/

Somehow I doubt that any of this I discussed above is truly desirable in your case.

Maybe you could put an IRDA port on the PC? I think many motherboards have the port, but often don't include the little IR board that connects to it. I thought PCs could wake up from IRDA. I have no sources for that, other than to suggest you check the manual for your computer, look in the BIOS to see your options and pop the cover to see if you have a jack for it. You might need to contact the motherboard or system manufacturer to get that circuit.
JeffDM is offline  
post #14 of 23 Old 10-06-2003, 12:04 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The IR keyboard is a good idea...but I'd like to keep my Logitech wireless keyboard which is RF.

Is it possible to run two keyboards? My Logitech is PS/2...but maybe there is a PS/2 to USB adapter? Would that work?
HX_Guy is offline  
post #15 of 23 Old 10-06-2003, 06:40 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
rudolpht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Boxborough, MA, USA
Posts: 7,566
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There are good PS/2 to USB adapters. That is how I run a microsoft keyboard, but the USB is not always "powered up" while a MB is off. There are newer wake on USB motherboards.

My solution, since Airboard totally messes up girder (but I do run both ESB-UIRT & IRMan on serial to USB adapter) is just to have a long hardwire to the computer to hit the spacebar to wake up.

Thanks to builty, I did Paypal one of the keychain RF adapters, looks supercool and both my MX-800 & Pronto 6000 can hopefully do the RF (20m range is also cool), which would obviate the hardwire.

Tim
Selling Anthem PVA7.
STABILITY + Superior audio (SC09-TX) + Incredible picture (VPL-VW200) + good integration.
rudolpht is offline  
post #16 of 23 Old 10-06-2003, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just to make sure, the Airboard IR keyboard will make the computer up using wake-on-keyboard?
I have an RF keyboard/mouse combo that connects via the PS/2 ports but will not wake the PC up when a key is pressed. I guess there isn't enough juice for the RF receiver. I won't have this problem using the Airboard, correct?

T.
gtrogue is offline  
post #17 of 23 Old 10-06-2003, 09:20 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
HX_Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Phoenix AZ
Posts: 418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Do you have wake-on-keyboard enabled in BIOS?

I have an RF keyboard/mouse combo (Logitech) that connects via PS/2 and wake-on-keyboard works fine.
HX_Guy is offline  
post #18 of 23 Old 10-06-2003, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gtrogue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 1,054
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yep. And a standard keyboard works fine. The keyboard is flakey in general so it may not have anything to do with it being RF. Just junkey.

T.
gtrogue is offline  
post #19 of 23 Old 10-12-2003, 12:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
JeffDM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Michigan, USA
Posts: 722
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It may not be for you but I found something that does this trick and much more, possibly for around the cost of an X-10 part. ($50 USD)

I just bought a TV tuner card with an IR remote and receiver that plugs into the card. The model number is TVP3XP, EX-TV or something like that. The remote has a "power on" button that turns the computer on, it didn't even have a driver installed yet.

The manual says it requires PCI 2.2 compliant slots, and that the motherboard BIOS set to allow wake on PCI or similar feature name. Also, it uses the Philips SAA7133 chip for TV & FM tuning, and has lots of handy software, like DVD playing, encoding, DVR timeshifting and writing video to CD / DVD. I will play with it some more this afternoon.
JeffDM is offline  
post #20 of 23 Old 10-22-2003, 05:15 PM
Member
 
jojor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am having a hardtime teaching the airboard keystroke to my 16.99 Radioshack Learning Remote. So far, I manage to learn only 4 keys : ESC, P, Up/Down Arrow. When I press the key on my keyboard, such as P or ESC, the computer will Powerup, it doesn't when I press on my Remote. Yes, I start up notepad to verify that the P key is working from my Remote.
I have tried and tried, and cannot teach any more keystroke to my remote. Is it my remote or Airboard code is simply too complicated for a simple Universal Remote?
Will switching to something like MX-500 or RM-AV3000 solve my problem?

Thanks
CJ
jojor is offline  
post #21 of 23 Old 10-23-2003, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Eiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: London
Posts: 1,637
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
CJ,

Teaching airboard IR codes to the RS remotes can be difficult (It is difficult with almost any remote, as pushing a key doesn't send one single code as with a standard remote). I was able to teach my RS 15-1994 and 15-2116 the code for the space bar and a few other keys, and to use the learned space bar to wake up my PC... So you should be able to get it to work (try different ways to teach the key, such as a shot push, or the release code, etc.)

If you have a JP1 cable (Highly recommended), you can also download the codes for the Airboard device into your remote, and they have access to all the keys on the Airboard without memory limitations.

Good luck
Eiffel is offline  
post #22 of 23 Old 11-18-2003, 05:40 AM
Member
 
netstroller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
rudolpht, how did you rig your button to activate the space bar?

I have the Gyration combo and an ATI Remote Wonder, both USB and can't send any codes when the PC's suspended, but my USB keyboard will wake the PC.

I'd like to rig a wired button to send a keystroke like you did. Thanks for any help! PC is a Dell 4550 with ATI9000Pro AIW
netstroller is offline  
post #23 of 23 Old 12-02-2003, 09:07 AM
Senior Member
 
S-dogg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Here, of course
Posts: 419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm having a weird problem with the MS Wireless Desktop and a Shuttle SB51G. The Shuttle supports wake on keyboard (any key or hot key), which worked fine during setup with a wired keyboard. When I switched to the wireless (both mouse and keyboard are using the PS/2 ports), the computer wouldn't shut down with the any key option turned on - it would turn off and come right back on. I switched it to hot key, and the pc turns off, but the keyboard won't wake it.

I don't believe there's an option in the bios for wake on usb. Has anyone had a similar problem? Thanks.

Insanity is just a state of mind

Visit the Atomic Playground for the latest on movies, video games, computers, and more!
http://atomic-playground.blogspot.com
S-dogg is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off