Can Radeon be set for D'iLA's sweetspot resolution? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 08-23-2001, 01:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
AudioFileZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Cullman, AL 35055
Posts: 116
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you adjust the Radeon card for native D'iLA resolution? On the menu selection I do not see a resolution that looks right for D'iLA's native sweetspot. Any info appreciated.
AudioFileZ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 08-23-2001, 02:53 PM
Advanced Member
 
brian_vh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Dexter, Michigan
Posts: 572
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Load the 7140 drivers (works fine with custom resolutions), or the 7075 that come with it. Some driver versions I tried wouldn't allow for custom resolutions to show up.

Then load powerstrip 3 beta - latest version from the web.

Add a custom resolution, such as 1360x1024 and 1360x768 within powerstrip. Reboot your machine, then select the resolution on the Display properties slider.

Remember to add custom resolutions after each ATI driver update, it removes them from the list.

Should work fine.



------------------
Our Home Theater - http://www.fatbulldog.com
Last updated 6/1/01

Our Home Theater...
http://www.fatbulldog.com
Last updated 1/11/03
[Our new HT is in the works...]
brian_vh is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 08-23-2001, 04:24 PM
Member
 
GilR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sunny Caribbean
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
brian_vh

When I try 1360x1024 I get a scrolling desktop that moves left and right with my mouse. When I use 1368x768 I get a chopped/split desktop. The only one I can get is 1280x1024.
Any help on that? I am using 7093 drivers but never worked even with the original drivers.
Rgds

Gil
GilR is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-23-2001, 05:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
Chris Carollo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 892
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You need to explicitly tell the radeon card what monitor you're using, since it can't recognize the projector.

Turn off plug-n-play support, then explicitly set the monitor to a ViewSonic G790 (many monitors will work, but this is was I use). Remove all custom resolutions with powerstrip, then reboot. Add the custom resolution, but don't switch to the resolution. Reboot. Set to the custom resolution, and you should be all set.
Chris Carollo is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-23-2001, 07:04 PM
Member
 
GilR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sunny Caribbean
Posts: 156
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Chris,

That was the ticket I was looking for!! Thanks much. I had the feeling it was a monitor file. I tried one or two with no luck but your worked great. Now the ati player works nice but I get some white horizontal line moving up and down every so often. Ever see this? I tried WinDVD and its the same. May be some other PJ adjustment. I have Dilard.
Any suggestions?

Thanks again.

Gil
GilR is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-24-2001, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Morbius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Livermore, CA USA
Posts: 4,728
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Gil,

Although the JVC D-ILA can sync to the resolution of any of
a number of monitors - if you want to drive the D-ILA at its
native resolution - and effectively bypass the internal
scaler - i.e. "pixel perfect" resolution - then Brian
gave you the proper advice.

Greg

Dr. Gregory Greenman
Physicist
Morbius is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off