wake up circuity and scheduling software - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 08-23-2001, 07:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Please excuse me if this is an old issue since I am a newbie.
I have already built a basic machine to show digitized images from my vacation trips on my TV. I would like to add my own version of a TIVO with scheduling or timing software and some sort of circuit to wake the pc out of standby mode. Do either of these items exist out there?
My goal is a prototype complete video editing studio for video and stills with internet capability attached to my tv. the current unit has remote IR keyboard and mouse. Thoughts?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 08-24-2001, 10:01 AM
Advanced Member

Most modern motherboards that support 'Suspend to Ram' have 'Wake on LAN' and/or 'Wake on Modem'. Some will also allow you to use 'Wake on COM'.

So, Wake on COM should allow you to be able to wake up the machine using IRMAN, or some other circuit. The problem with IRMAN is that *any* IR signal recieved by IRMAN will wake the PC up, whereas making your own circuit could avoid this. In fact, there are IR reciever designs on the 'net that could potentially be modified to only respond to one IR command so that you could do this.

However, you are still stuck with the conundrum: The HTPC has to be on for the scheduler software to run.
A possible solution for this is if you have another machine on a LAN that is on 24x7 - you could hack together a scheduler on that system that will use WOL to wake the HTPC a few minutes before the scheduled event.

What would be nice is if someone wrote a scheduler to use a standard SQL database backend, using ODBC. Then the database could be be running on the other machine, and coding an application to read that schedule and wake the HTPC up would be fairly trivial.

------------------
No one made me an offer for my .sig so I'm going to keep it.