AccessDTV software lockup... HELP!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-06-2001, 09:35 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
seandudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got my AccessDTV card several days ago and installed it from the CD-ROM. The software came up and everything seemed to be ok. I don't have my Dish 5000/modulator quite yet, so I couldn't do a whole lot.

At the end of the install, it told me that I should install DirectX. I went to http://www.microsoft.com/directx and downloaded DX80ENG.EXE. I then installed it on the computer and tried to bring up the AccessDTV software. This time the computer locked up. I rebooted and tried again, same thing.

Next, I went to http://www.accessdtv.com, and downloaded the latest drivers & software. First I updated the drivers as per the instructions (went into device manager to the device tab and selected "Update Driver"). Next, I updated the AccessDTV software itself. I tried to load it, and this time it said something about not being able to find the card, and to try rebooting. I rebooted, and the same problem again.. lockup. The AccessDTV software locks the computer every time I try to bring it up.

I even tried reinstalling the DirectX again, but still the same problem.

I am running on an HP Pavillion computer which DOES NOT have the VIA chipset.

Anyone else run across this problem before? Solutions? Suggestions?

Thanks.

Sean Dudley
seandudley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-07-2001, 09:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scott Gammans's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Brambleton, VA (Suburban Washington, DC)
Posts: 3,265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bumping you back to the top so that someone will see this, Sean. Unfortunately I have no suggestions to offer. Horror stories like this are what is keeping me from upgrading my accessDTV card to the new software version. I have actually had to reinstall the entire O/S at least twice on earlier versions of the software before I got everything right; hopefully someone brighter than I will come up with a fix that won't require you to do that as well.

------------------
Scott Gammans
DFAST is EVIL! BOYCOTT ANTI-CONSUMER 5C/DVI/HDCP MANUFACTURERS!
The Scooterplex Cinema 1

[This message has been edited by Scott Gammans (edited 09-08-2001).]
Scott Gammans is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-08-2001, 06:22 AM
Member
 
TBMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: New Port Richey FL
Posts: 98
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I assume you are using Win 98 or ME?

Are both the drivers loaded as instructed by AccessTV instructions. They should be loaded first. I would put on DirectX before trying to load AccessTV. Uninstall drivers and AccessTV software. Then load DirectX by itself and make sure that is not what is causing problem.
I download and installed DirectX via Windows update but should be same.
I loaded the software on two different Hard drives and had a lot more problems the second time. Go figure.(I changed from a 20G to 60 G) Interrupts are tricky on AccessTV and if you don't have that right it won't work.

My experience.

TBMike


TBMike is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-09-2001, 10:36 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
seandudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply TBMike...

I am running Windows ME. I initially loaded the drivers/software off the CD-ROM, and the install program took care of it. I then installed DirectX as they indicated I should do at the end of the install. After I installed DirectX it started locking up whenever I try to load the software.

I tried removing both the drivers and software, and reloading them but to no avail. I don't think I removed both and then installed the new drivers before installing the AccessDTV software again, though. I beleive I uninstalled and reinstalled the drivers, and then tried uninstalling and reinstalling the AccessDTV software. I'll try removing them both at the same time and then try instlaling the drivers before the software.

Regarding interrupts, I moved the card to 3 different slots on the motherboard so that different interrupts would get assigned each time. Made no difference, though.

Thanks.

Sean Dudley
seandudley is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-10-2001, 09:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
seandudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yipee!! I got it working. I tried completely removing the drivers and the AccessDTV software, and then reinstalling the card with the latest drivers and then reinstalling the software and it works now!

Thanks for the help TBMike!

Sean Dudley
seandudley is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off