AccessDTV record & play at same time? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 09-12-2001, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
seandudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have recently built an HTPC with the AccessDTV card and have it working. The thing that really annoys me is that it won't let me watch something that has already been recorded while it is recording something else.

When in time-shift mode, if I "pause" the live feed, and then resume, it seems to me that this is recording and playing what is stord on the hard drive at the same time. Since this can be done, why won't it let me view a program stoed on the hard drive while it is recording something else?

Does anyone know if this is in the plans for an upcoming release, and if so, when I might be able to expect it?

Thanks.

Sean Dudley
seandudley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 09-12-2001, 06:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JKohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sean,

You're right, the accessDTV should be able to do this, along with starting playback of a recording before the recording has finshed, just like the DishPlayer and TiVo can do. Unfortunately the current software doesn't allow this, and though many have asked iTech has given no indication that they have plans for this. I would suggest emailing iTech support and letting them know your feelings on this.

Now that HiPix has full-featured recording, I can't believe iTech isn't trying to develop this feature since the HiPix won't ever be able to do it. You would think that if they have any sense at all they would realize that this could be the killer feature that sets the accessDTV apart from other cards. I know it would definitely make the product more useful to me.

------------------
Jeff Kohn
http://home.houston.rr.com/jeffkohn
My DVD Profiler Collection
JKohn is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 09-13-2001, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
seandudley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: East Tennessee, USA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the info.

So, why won't HiPix ever be able to do it?

Sean Dudley
seandudley is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 09-13-2001, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JKohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,948
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The accessDTV has an extra PCI-to-PCI bridge that allows it to handle the extra bandwidth required for live TV pause. The HiPix and WinTV-HD do not. I really truly think iTech is crazy for not leveraging this capability to set their card apart from the rest.

------------------
Jeff Kohn
http://home.houston.rr.com/jeffkohn
My DVD Profiler Collection
JKohn is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off