my program to repair KQED-HD recordings - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-16-2004, 12:11 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhnjp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: escaped Silicon Valley
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I've decided to share a program I wrote to fix the broken HD transport stream broadcast by SF Bay area PBS station KQED after 8 p.m. The symptom of this problem on the MyHD card is recordings show a black screen for 1 minute (or forever on the most recent MyHD beta driver).

The cause is the PAT map is incorrect, so the card has to do a deep scan of the transport stream to build its own map. My program repairs the PAT by removing bogus entries for the subchannels that aren't broadcast after 8 p.m., and then updates the length of the PAT map and generates a new CRC32 field.

This program runs in a command shell, and only has 1 option: keep subchannel 1, or keep subchannels 1 and 2. Example:
fix-kqed 1 oldfile.tp newfile-hd-only.tp
fix-kqed 2 oldfile.tp newfile-both.tp

My program only changes the PAT map, it doesn't remove any packets. If you want to reduce file size when just keeping subchannel 1, then use NullPacketStripper to strip out the packets for subchannel 2 (0x20-0x2f).

By downloading this program, you accept the following terms & limitations:[list=1][*]program is distributed "as is" with no warranty[*]program has not been tested with files larger than 4GB--there's a chance it won't work--if in doubt, use NullPacketStripper to break the large file into several smaller pieces <4GB[*]I'm sharing work I've already done--I don't plan to put any more time into this, so do not ask for new features[/list=1]

The attachment is the actual executable, not a zip file, just change the .zip to .exe to run.
Post here if you find this program useful.

--Dan

 

fix-kqed.zip 5k . file

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
dhnjp1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-16-2004, 01:07 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Dan--

Thanks bunches!! I tried it with v1.62.2 MyHD app. on D09-2(30)-0108-2300 (Catherine of Aragon), first a 1-minute clip and then the whole hour, and it seems to have worked for both--although I did experience a machine lock-up while moving the slider near the end of the 1-hour file. This may be a MyHD bug, however, so I'll see if it recurs before regarding it as a "fix-kqed.exe" problem.

--Terry
TPeterson is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-16-2004, 06:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
BenCJedi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Winchester
Posts: 1,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Can I use your app to reinsert the PAT that was accidently removed in NPS Beta-09? Olli has since fixed the 'delete PAT' in beta-11, but I have a few recordings I already nullpacketstripped (burnt on DVD) that are missing the PAT now (and take 20-30 seconds to start playback, but only in the official MyHD app, not the MyHD beta app).
BenCJedi is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-16-2004, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
dhnjp1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: escaped Silicon Valley
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally posted by BenCJedi
Can I use your app to reinsert the PAT that was accidently removed in NPS Beta-09? Olli has since fixed the 'delete PAT' in beta-11, but I have a few recordings I already nullpacketstripped (burnt on DVD) that are missing the PAT now (and take 20-30 seconds to start playback, but only in the official MyHD app, not the MyHD beta app).
Sorry, my program only modifies an existing PAT packet (PID=0). The bug in NPS deleted all PID=0 packets, so there's nothing there to modify.

--Dan

My
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
.
dhnjp1 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-22-2004, 02:52 PM
Senior Member
 
litz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The link above, unfortunately, no longer works (the downloaded file is a corrupted 5k .zip) ... can it be fixed?

thanks

- litz
litz is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 05-22-2004, 06:28 PM
Member
 
kiel1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by dhnjp1
The attachment is the actual executable, not a zip file, just change the .zip to .exe to run.
Post here if you find this program useful.

--Dan
kiel1 is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off