Using Firewire to transfer files between computers? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 01-23-2004, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
wbcollegekid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To transfer files between computers using firewire, do I just simply connect them and let windows automatically configure a connection. Or do I need to do something additionally. I would like to transfer a 500mb file. Any info would be appreciated.

Samsung LN52B750, Samsung HLM5065 DLP, Pioneer elite DV-47A, JBL S series, Onkyo TX-SR 606, monster HTS 5000, , HTPC (win7, ATI 5750, 9.8 terabytes, OC 2.6 quadcore), HD-A20/A35, PS3, HR21-200.
wbcollegekid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 01-23-2004, 05:31 PM
Senior Member
 
stephen2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Share a folder on one of the systems and then just plug them in and wait a little while. Windows will usually have the shared folder come up under "My Network Places". If it does not you will have to make it see the folder manually:

1. Open a command prompt (Start -> Run; "cmd.exe")
2. Type "ipconfig"
3. On the other computer open My Network Places, click "add a network place", then Next, then "Choose another network location."
4. Type \\\\[ip address]\\[folder name] and then click next.

Your folder should now be visible and you can just drag and drop files as if it were a local drive!
stephen2002 is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off