HDTVtoMPEG2 latest version - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2239 Old 05-21-2004, 05:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The idea I'm starting to get is that the only accurate clock references are in the transport stream control info. If you have no drop outs and do not cut commercials then converting to an MPEG-2 program stream may be okay. But if the streams are not continuous there may be no way to keep the audio in sync and you may end up with cumulative lip sync problems after stripping the transport stream control information.

Thus, if you are not going to re-encode it is probably better to keep the transport stream. The extra overhead is small and streams may be playable even after stripping commercials.

OTOH, if you are re-encoding to Xvid, WM9, etc. it is better to cut commercials in Avisynth/VirtualdubMod where you have a continuous stream and a known starting audio offset. Then it is individual frames and hopefully known audio lengths that are being cut.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
trbarry is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2239 Old 05-21-2004, 08:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Can you elaborate on this? If it completes the MPEG2 conversion without generating any errors is it creating "good" MPEG2? Or is the MPEG2 somehow damaged and worse than what was in the original TS files?

Sorry, I guess I'm being a bit negative here. If the MPEG-2 conversion works for your transport stream, great. I've only tried it once, and it failed. It would not include the audio. From what I can tell, very little if any work has been done on the MPEG-2 conversion code in a long time. It is likely to be picky about the transport streams it will convert correctly.

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #183 of 2239 Old 05-21-2004, 11:02 AM
 
HDHTPC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Silicon Valley Area Posts: 14,303
Posts: 889
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In response to the last two posts - I have found that WinDVD5 correctly syncs the audio from extracted MPEG2. On some streams where I had minor lipsync issues playing TS files with DVico Fusion or VLC, I actually got better lipsync extracting the MPEG2, then using WinDVD5. At this point, I think there may be some (many) streams out there with better sync in the MPEG2 than in the TS, but only some players can do it the right way.

(This is somewhat theory at this point, but I think it is true)

The other thing, is how do the players maintain sync?
Using the Elecard player, or DVHStools + Elecard using
Reclock and AC3 filter, I found that they could maintain sync, but they
would "stutter" the audio every so often to get the audio back in sync.
From what I can tell, WinDVD5 has a few tricks to keep sync...
It seems like it can alter pitch slightly to slow down or catch up
(which is much less noticable than just dropping audio packets).
Also, I think it may be able to adjust video playback to match audio.
From what I see and hear, it uses different techniques to keep
things in sync.

The real test is what happens when you use a timeline slider to jump
way ahead into an edited recording. WinDVD5 recovers right away,
some of the other players have a lot more trouble.
HDHTPC is offline  
post #184 of 2239 Old 05-22-2004, 02:44 PM
Senior Member
 
litz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by TPeterson
Look here.

Unfortunately, that's no help.

The downloadable file listed on that link is corrupted.

:-(

Any chance you can simply post it? Or email it?

thanks

- litz

EDIT : the above link is masquerading as a .zip, it should be renamed to .exe and run as-is
litz is offline  
post #185 of 2239 Old 05-23-2004, 11:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
.
Quote:


I've got weird stuff like this happening:
I record two episodes of Smallville and Angel from c-band using a DVB card and TSReader. The first set loads quickly and plays fine, the second set takes forever to load and freezes every 3-4 seconds, basically it is unplayable with a MyHD card. What's the difference?... I have no idea.

I've done a little experimenting. It turns out that if I select "Force PID's to be ATSC compatible" in TSReader while using the "Record Program" option, this will cause the problem and MyHD will not be able to play the transport stream. I still need to test to see if editing with H2 afterwards causes problems.

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #186 of 2239 Old 05-24-2004, 11:21 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there still a problem with editing large files (say over 8-9 gig)? I know when I first found the program, it had this issue - and I believe I saw someone mention it recently as well.

But after finally getting CapDVHS working on my HTPC, I realize that CapDVHS has no way to set a size of .ts files. Thus, a 2 hour movie will be 17 gig file.

If you need to put it in parts for DVD storage, this clearly is going to be an issue if the size limit still causes the program to perform an illegal function and shutdown.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #187 of 2239 Old 05-25-2004, 12:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Is there still a problem with editing large files (say over 8-9 gig)?

The crash that happened when Converting a large file or Converting a large number of files with the "Show Progress Image" option selected has been fixed.

Is that the problem you are talking about?

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #188 of 2239 Old 05-25-2004, 12:46 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Honestly, it was January when it happened and I first received a MyHD card. At that point, I didn't know what to set file size as and I took a wild guess to set it at 8.5gig (figuring an hour per show). I just remember it croaked when I tried to do anything with the .ts, but don't remember at which point. This was also an older version of the program.

I just reduced the file size in MyHD and didn't worry about it again.

I only remembered it when making some SA3250HD-PC caputures for dr1394 to examine and realized that CapDVHS doesn't have an option for file size.

Thus, a movie would clearly run over 1 hour and 8.7 gig.

Then I believe I read somewhere someone else said something about it - Cliff maybe.

More a question as people gear up to capture to Hard Drive and all the sudden find they have issues - such as I finally realized this evening trying to figureout what to do when I captured a large file directly to Hard Drive now.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #189 of 2239 Old 05-30-2004, 11:02 AM
Senior Member
 
litz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cris,

Did you ever make any headway on putting the current GOP timestamp somewhere on the screen ?

We don't need to actually *edit* by GOP time, but just display it.

That way when you're editting a nullpacketted .ts, you have some idea of the "realtime" location versus the computed location.

Also - is the sourceforge ready to go yet?

thanks

- litz
litz is offline  
post #190 of 2239 Old 05-30-2004, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shah8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Roswell Ga
Posts: 1,967
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
one note...there is a bug, it seems that when you open files that are in dvd drives, it will report that it fails to open tri file and crash. Is there an option to put all tri files in one certain place?

Darius
shah8 is offline  
post #191 of 2239 Old 05-30-2004, 12:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
litz,

I had gotten to the point where I was displaying the PTS timestamp for the i-frame that was being displayed, then I stopped. I'm not convinced that using the PTS information is the best solution. Although using the PTS data would be accurate for TS files that have had NULL packets removed, it would be inaccurate for any TS file that have had commercials removed. I'm thinking that the best way might be to calculate the TS rate and use that for the time display information. Although it wouldn't be exactly perfect, it should be pretty good and work for every TS file whether NULL packet or commercials or both had been removed. However, I haven't spent any time lately working on that problem or working on H2 for that matter.

Nothing has happened on SourceForge lately. It seems Alan and I have been busy doing other things. I believe Alan and I need to get the GPL headers stuff done for all of the source files before we can actually make a build available from SourceForge. The most current build is still available on balazer's site, its even newer than what's on SourceForge(code wise).

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #192 of 2239 Old 05-30-2004, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Darius,

Yes, that would be a problem. The assumption was that you were editing from a HD that you had write access too. It shouldn't crash though, just not write out a .tri file.

H2 does have an .INI file. I could put in a new entry where you could specify an output directory for .TRI files. You would have to edit the .INI file by hand. Perhaps it's time for an Option dialog box hung off the System menu.

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #193 of 2239 Old 05-30-2004, 02:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Darius,

I fixed the crash when reading from a non-writable drive. H2 won't create a .TRI if you do this, but it shouldn't crash now.

If you would like a copy with the crash fixed, PM me your address.

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #194 of 2239 Old 06-03-2004, 08:51 PM
Member
 
avsfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still have to keep version 1.09 around, because 1.10.5 will not save video from a broadcast recorded with MyHD from a Boston PBS station of four video streams. 1.10.5 will save it from a single HD stream.

Peter
avsfe is offline  
post #195 of 2239 Old 06-03-2004, 08:55 PM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by avsfe
I still have to keep version 1.09 around, because 1.10.5 will not save video from a broadcast recorded with MyHD from a Boston PBS station of four video streams. 1.10.5 will save it from a single HD stream.

Peter

There's plenty of info going on in the MyHD unofficial thread about a problem with MyHD and that particular Boston station's PSIP.

You might want to make a short clip and get it to Cris as he might not have access to a clip with 4 video streams.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #196 of 2239 Old 06-04-2004, 07:48 AM
Member
 
avsfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, I had to do some tricks to get MyHD running, but that is related to the channel/program guide.
Interestingly, the Name, ID of the streams do not match the content in H2 and there is a difference from 1.09 to 1.10.5 (but I should take a close look to just to make sure). If Cris would like to have a sample, I am more than happy to provide some.

Peter
avsfe is offline  
post #197 of 2239 Old 06-04-2004, 08:25 AM
Member
 
avsfe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Boston has two analog PBS stations. WGBH-Ch2 and WGBX-Ch44.
The corresponding digital channels are Ch19D and Ch43D (I can receive Ch43 only).
From a capture HDTV2MPEG2 version 1.09 reports the following streams, the content may not match reported ID:
Channel, Video PID, Audio PID, Content
Create 44.3, 0x41, 0x44 and 0x45, Create (SD)
NONAME 6.1(2), 0x21, 0x24 and 0x25, WGBX Ch44 (SD)
WGBX-DT 44.1, 0x31, 0x34 and 0x35, World (SD)
World 44.2, 0x51, 0x54 and 0x55, GBH-Kids (SD)

HDTV2MPEG2 version 1.10.5 correctly reports:
Create 44.3, 0x41, 0x44 and 0x45, Create (SD)
WGBX-DT 44.1, 0x21, 0x24 and 0x25, WGBH Ch44 (SD)
World 44.2, 0x31, 0x34 and 0x35, World (SD)
Kids, 0x51, 0x54 and 0x55, GBH-Kids (SD)

When the broadcast is HD, there is only one video stream,
1.09 reports it as NONAME 0.1(2) and
1.10.5 reports PBS1DTV 80.3, both version says IDs 0x31,0x34,0x35.

1.09 can save individual SD streams, but it will not show picture for HD when seeking.
1.10.5 will not save video of SD stream and the audio part is missing a great deal of content. But it woks fine for HD.

Peter
avsfe is offline  
post #198 of 2239 Old 06-11-2004, 10:07 AM
Member
 
tecqboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glenfishpoint, Wisconsin
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using MyHd card V.163 to capture HD streams form local PBS Milw WI Ch 35. The ts files play fine in MyHd or Elecard decoder. But H2 Ver 1.10.5 will not convert to a usable mpeg file. There is no video and only a few blurts of audio. Ts captured from any other TV channel convert to mpeg properly. H2 reports PID's V31 A34 and 17mbs data rate for the PBS station. There do not appear to be any subchannels. But where is the other 2 mbs going? Apparently some part of the PBS stream is different and causing the problem. I know there are other PBS issues with the MyHD as reported in the MyHD forum. But any ideas specific to a solution for using H2MPG would be appreciated. Tod
tecqboy is offline  
post #199 of 2239 Old 06-11-2004, 10:39 AM
Member
 
tecqboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glenfishpoint, Wisconsin
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is a follow up to my last post. I used TSReader to examine the PBS Stream. It reports the program as "3"

I'm new at this, so please forgive a dumb ? But what does it mean that the stream is "blacklisted"?

Elementary Stream PID 49 (0x0031)
**ES has been blacklisted**
MPEG Video: Bitrate 17.000 Mbps Resolution 1920 x 1088i
MPEG Video: Framerate 29.97 fps Aspect Ratio 16:9 Chroma Format 4:2:0

Descriptor: Data Stream Alignment Descriptor
Alignment type: video access unit

Channel 3
Service Name: MPTV2HD
Transport Stream ID: 3233 (0x0ca1)
Channel Number: 36.1
Carrier Frequency: 0
Modulation Mode: ATSC (8 VSB)
Service Location Descriptor:
PCR PID 0x0031
Stream Type 0x02 ESPID = 0x0031 Language = eng
Stream Type 0x81 ESPID = 0x0034 Language = eng

Elementary Stream PID 52 (0x0034)
AC3: Bitrate 192 Kbps Sample Rate 48 KHz
AC3: Mode complete main Coding 2/0 L, R

Descriptor: Registration Descriptor
Format identifier: 0x41432d33 (AC-3)

Descriptor: ISO639 Language Descriptor
Language: eng
Audio type: undefined

Descriptor: User Private Descriptor: 0x81
08 28 05 .(.

I sure wish there was a book about this stuff.

Thanks for any help. Tod
tecqboy is offline  
post #200 of 2239 Old 06-11-2004, 04:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Peter\\Tod,

Can you guys send me sample files?

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #201 of 2239 Old 06-11-2004, 05:38 PM
Member
 
tecqboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glenfishpoint, Wisconsin
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd be happy to send you a short clip of the problem PBS stream. Just give me instructions on how and where to send it. Thanks Tod
tecqboy is offline  
post #202 of 2239 Old 06-11-2004, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Tod,

It would be nice to have a 50MB+ file. This leaves e-mail out. If you don't have an ftp site I can download from, then I guess the next best thing would be to send me a CD. If you want to go this route, PM me and I'll send you my address.

Cris

Cris Moore is online now  
post #203 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 05:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it may be counter-productive to spend a lot of effort working with problematic PBS streams.... the streams are faulty.... see the many comments on these faulty streams in the many MyHD threads....


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #204 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here is a feature request for you.

Is it possible to give the option to integrate a null packet stripper into hdtv2mpeg so it strips the file as its splitting it? Not a necessity, but would be nice to have for one less step. Thanx.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chap is online now  
post #205 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 10:20 AM
 
HDTVFanAtic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 3rd Rock from the Sun
Posts: 8,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by jimwhite
it may be counter-productive to spend a lot of effort working with problematic PBS streams.... the streams are faulty.... see the many comments on these faulty streams in the many MyHD threads....


Actually the HD Streams are different - not faulty, they are using a different protocol that PBS is adapoting at all their stations - thus, everyone will eventually have the problem on their PBS stream.
HDTVFanAtic is offline  
post #206 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 10:49 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
HDTVFanAtic--

They may be faulty as well as different. Since only a few PBS stations seem to be giving problems, it's very likely that they've improperly implemented the new protocol, hmm? IIRC, you said that WGBH and the (currently dark) NYC station were leading this charge, right? How likely is it that Glenfishpoint WI is the closest follower?
TPeterson is offline  
post #207 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 02:44 PM
Member
 
tecqboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Glenfishpoint, Wisconsin
Posts: 75
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
T. Peterson. Glenfishpoint Wisconsin is a suburb of Milwaukee. We have 4 PBS stations here all operated by the same group. Ch8 DTV Ch10 Atv Ch35 Dtv and Ch36 Atv. On Ch35 DTV they usually just pass the PBS national HD service 24/7. Thats the stream I'm having trouble with. They use the Ch8 DTV for multicasting local SDTV.

Cris, I sent you a snail mail PBS transport stream on a CD. I forgot to put a letter inside explaining where it came from. Look for an envelop from T3 reasearch. Thanks again for all your effort. Tod
tecqboy is offline  
post #208 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 03:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Tod, although I'm guilty through my phrasing of fishing for a cheesehead rise , my point was that there's precious little broadcaster experience these days with DTV in any U.S. market, so the possibility of station-engineer error is pretty large--and one doesn't "just pass" a DTV feed, as there are plenty of little buttons and switches to poke and push the wrong way! (Take a tour of your local PBS station and you'll likely see what I mean)
TPeterson is offline  
post #209 of 2239 Old 06-12-2004, 07:49 PM
Senior Member
 
akula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Menlo Park, CA
Posts: 217
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Tod,

Go here for an explanation.

akula

Quote:


Originally posted by tecqboy


....

I'm new at this, so please forgive a dumb ? But what does it mean that the stream is "blacklisted"?

...

Thanks for any help. Tod

akula is offline  
post #210 of 2239 Old 06-18-2004, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Edgewater, nj, usa
Posts: 3,767
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
One other very important feature request I have is to be able to select where those TSRI files get saved. When I try to edit something I have that has been recorded to DVD it cant create one and won't let me edit. Also It would be nice to just have them created all in one folder so I can randomly delete the contents of that folder at a later date.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
chap is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off