HDTVtoMPEG2 latest version - Page 75 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2221 of 2239 Old 01-08-2012, 06:23 AM
Newbie
 
fbassini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When i try to open video files HDTV .ts (1080i) recorded whit my Dreambox DM800, the Program HDTVtoMPEG2 said to me this error:
Could not find a channel!
Why?

Can you suggest a solution or another program to convert files 1080i .ts to MPEG2.

I need this to use virtualdub it do not support .ts but support mpeg or avi files.

Thank you

Best regards

Flavio
fbassini is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2222 of 2239 Old 01-08-2012, 08:05 AM
Member
 
Mr.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lyndeborough, NH
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbassini View Post

When i try to open video files HDTV .ts (1080i) recorded whit my Dreambox DM800, the Program HDTVtoMPEG2 said to me this error:
Could not find a channel!

I can't answer for the Dreambox, but you get the same problem with the ts files recorded by some TViX boxes. This is because there are some extraneous bytes inserted between ts packets near the beginning of the file. It appears that HDTVtoMPEG2 expects the ts packets to be perfectly aligned.

Have you tried using StreamClip (Convert to TS option) first?

Paul
Mr.H is offline  
post #2223 of 2239 Old 01-08-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
fbassini, I suspect that Paul is right regarding the problem with H2M and your TS files. MPEG2Repair is another (free) preprocessor that might render your files editable by H2M.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2224 of 2239 Old 01-08-2012, 11:18 AM
Newbie
 
fbassini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have tried MPEG2Repair but dont' see the stream video.
H2M dont' see the stream video
StreamClimp don' open the files it crashes
If a record a standar definition program there is no problem to use H2M
fbassini is offline  
post #2225 of 2239 Old 01-09-2012, 07:26 AM
Advanced Member
 
mtallent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cecilia,KY
Posts: 867
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Are you sure the file is mpeg2? Mpeg2repair will not process mp4 or H264 or other type of mpeg4 files. VideoRedo can do this conversion but it is not free. Can you play the files, if not maybe there is some problem with them.

Mike T
mtallent is offline  
post #2226 of 2239 Old 01-09-2012, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Mr.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lyndeborough, NH
Posts: 130
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have you tried an analysis tool like MediaInfo?
Mr.H is offline  
post #2227 of 2239 Old 01-09-2012, 08:06 AM
Newbie
 
fbassini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have attached the result of Media Info on This video file.
LL
fbassini is offline  
post #2228 of 2239 Old 01-09-2012, 09:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Yep, that's MPEG4 (AVC), not MPEG2. Do you have to convert to MPEG2? As mentioned, VideoRedo is one solution. You need a program with an MPEG2 encoder and those generally are not free. You can convert the container if that's the issue, there are free tools to do that.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #2229 of 2239 Old 01-09-2012, 10:58 AM
Newbie
 
fbassini's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you.

Now I understand

I thought that all the ts were of mpeg2, but I was wrong
fbassini is offline  
post #2230 of 2239 Old 01-12-2012, 04:57 PM
Newbie
 
yugurya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello all, when i convert a 3 hours long .ts video file with the HDTVtoMPEG2 software, the duration info of the converted video shows that it is 26 minutes. With both media player classic and windows media player, when i watch the video i can scroll until the 26th minute, but after that i have to wait(cant scroll after minute 26) to see the remaining 2hour and 34 minutes.

So, actually the converted file does contain the complete 3 hours video, but you cannot move the pointer after 26th minute. The mediainfo software also reports that the length of the video is 3 hours, so why does the windows property show 26 minutes? Does someone know how i can fix this?

And a question to experienced users of this software. Until now, i have converted a couple of videos with the HDTVtoMPEG2, and have not seen an audio/video out-of-synch problem. Did any of you experience such out-of-synch problems? If a .ts video is noisy(because of signal loss in the stream), will the converted version be out of synch(i have converted one noisy video and there was not a problem)?

What is the original website of this software where i can download the latest version? And are there good tutorials for how to remove unwanted scenes(without errors in the video)? Does someone know a software which can put a simple text watermark/title to the complete video, without increasing the video file(and without synch problem)(and also fast conversion time)?

Is the converted video compatible with a video editing software like Powerdirector? And is HDTVtoMPEG2 the best software to fastly(with no quality loss) convert from .ts to .mpg?

Is there a program which can analyze a video file, to see if there are audio/video out of synch problems?

Can someone advise me a fast/good software(like hdtvtompeg2) for converting .m2p files to .mpg?
yugurya is offline  
post #2231 of 2239 Old 01-12-2012, 08:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Cris, you see what trouble you caused by not changing the name of this sw?
TPeterson is offline  
post #2232 of 2239 Old 01-12-2012, 08:28 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yougurya, I think that the software you're looking for is VideoReDo.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2233 of 2239 Old 01-13-2012, 11:20 AM
Newbie
 
yugurya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, VideoReDo seems good and fast until now, but it has no "watermark add" option. Is there a software which can fastly(without causing audio/video sync problems) add a simple watermark title to a complete video?
yugurya is offline  
post #2234 of 2239 Old 01-13-2012, 12:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Mac The Knife's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,903
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 23
IIRC (I've never done watermarking), both FFMPEG and Mplayer/mencoder can add watermarks to video, but both of them are command line based and have steep learning curves. And I doubt they'll be fast because they'll probably have to decode and recode to add the watermark. And they're known to cause sync issues.

It seems like HDTVtoMPEG2 has been orphaned, so it's probably going to be difficult to find the last version now.
Mac The Knife is offline  
post #2235 of 2239 Old 01-13-2012, 01:16 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mac The Knife View Post

It seems like HDTVtoMPEG2 has been orphaned, so it's probably going to be difficult to find the last version now.

Actually, Jacob Balazar is still hosting the latest version on his site, as linked in this thread's first post, even though Cris Moore has ceased support.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2236 of 2239 Old 01-15-2012, 03:40 PM
Newbie
 
anuswara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi.
Sorry my bad english.
newbie here.

I have a big (more than 4GB!) file .TS (h264/avc/@4.0, 1920x1080i50) + audio DD ac3, 5.1 "oth"

how to do to get it to playback fine on my PS3 (video hdmi, audio optical, I dont remenber now the fw...surely later than 3.0) => but with *REAL* audio 5.1 (ac3 passthru), not 2 ch only, no pcm.

is this possible (via USB, or from a dvd/data bluray) ?

it seems umpossible, but I am no expert.

can you help me please. I'd be very grateful to you.
thanks a lot in advance.
anuswara is offline  
post #2237 of 2239 Old 01-15-2012, 05:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 17
anuswara--

Sorry but your question has nothing to do with this thread (since H2M is an MPEG-2 editor and does not handle H264 at all). I suggest that you post your inquiry to a PS3 thread instead.
TPeterson is offline  
post #2238 of 2239 Old 01-16-2012, 08:43 AM
Newbie
 
anuswara's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thank you and sorry.
anuswara is offline  
post #2239 of 2239 Old 02-13-2012, 03:18 PM
Newbie
 
amaze1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone

I used HDTV2MPEG2 for some time to successfully cut out ads from .ts files recorded on a net media player.
Suddenly some days ago it stop working: after marked the included and excluded parts from the origin .ts file and pressed process button after a while appears the windows message "program stop working" (well, I'm not sure about the english message for it, I have italian version of Windows 7 Home premium on my asus K53S notebook, core i-7).
Any ideas about the origin of this behaviour ? I would like still use this program since it is simple and effective.

MazE
amaze1 is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off