Backing up DVD’s with improved image quality for free! Here is how! - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 210 Old 03-02-2005, 08:27 AM
usg
Member
 
usg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Socio! Looking forward to your updated script and Zip.

USG
usg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 210 Old 03-02-2005, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally trying to make a encode with this method. But every time when I select a "Source Path" by pointing to a VIDEO_TS folder (either a virtual mounted drive or a hdd folder ripped in IFO format), DVD-Rebuilder just gives me a error:

Run-time error '6': Overflow

And quit!

I haven't even started to setup any Avisynth script! And I do have the 2 msxxx.dll under windows\\system32!

I'm using the DVD-Rebuilder v0.74 installer from their web. Tried the latest 0.74a exe with same result.

Thanks in advance.

regards,

Li On

PS: I want to do MC video deinterlace with MVBob(). The script runs ok in FFDShow Avisynth with a correct picture. Though the frame rate is only around 2fps I think!
Li On is offline  
post #183 of 210 Old 03-02-2005, 02:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Li On,

With regards to that error check this out:

http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.ph...682#post488682
Socio is offline  
post #184 of 210 Old 03-02-2005, 09:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks! Change Windows to English language works, though it's annoying!

I just started an encode and the CPU usage is now at 100% so I guess it's working.

Is there any way to see the encoding frame rate and total/remaining encoding time?

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #185 of 210 Old 03-02-2005, 09:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I found the fps reading. It's in the QuEnc 0.59 box. It say 1.35fps, 02:07:25 Time Left, 1/2 Pass.

Use VBR, High Quality, Use Trellis Quant, 2 Pass Encoding all checked. Should I be using these setting?

Btw, is there a way to leave the Audio protion untouch? Or it must be transcoded too?

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #186 of 210 Old 03-03-2005, 06:13 PM
Member
 
warlordbb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Socio, you have PM!

We need to get you some free filespace and I'm offering to do just that!
warlordbb is offline  
post #187 of 210 Old 03-05-2005, 07:00 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Thanks to warlordbb for hosting my files a new scripts.zip is available on the first page with most of the scripts seen in this thread and a new one that USG requested.

Also there is a new version of the ColorMatrix Avsynth plugin available you can get it
here
Socio is offline  
post #188 of 210 Old 03-05-2005, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally posted by Li On
I found the fps reading. It's in the QuEnc 0.59 box. It say 1.35fps, 02:07:25 Time Left, 1/2 Pass.

Use VBR, High Quality, Use Trellis Quant, 2 Pass Encoding all checked. Should I be using these setting?

Btw, is there a way to leave the Audio protion untouch? Or it must be transcoded too?

regards,

Li On
Those are the settings I used for the best quality and yes it is slow but if you want the best from it you have to be patient. CCE basic is a bit faster which is what I have now but it will cost you $58.

Side note: I know that Didee is working on a new version of IIP that is supposed to be much faster so when it is released it should speed things up doing these DVD backups.

As far as excluding the audio side I am not sure.
Socio is offline  
post #189 of 210 Old 03-05-2005, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I did a 4 mins clips and it took around 30 hours to finish on my P4 3G 512M!

My test is on MVBOB in this thread http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?threadid=84725

I use the all-in-one mvbob.rar in page 4.

I want to do deinterlace on a pure 60i DVD clip. The avisynth script claim some kind of motion compensation video deinterlace.

The problem is my clip is pure NTSC 480i 59.94 (or 29.97fps). But the re-encoded clip becomes a 25fps format so everything is in SLOW motion!

I've no idea what went wrong. I registered on the Doom9 forum but need to wait 5 days before I can post a question!

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #190 of 210 Old 03-05-2005, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Socio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 2,267
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 17
I played with that script a while back works nice but I realy did not have a need to use it.

I believe you have to add either mvfps(59.94) or convertfps(59.94) to your call script for it to output correctly not 100% sure though.

Or could be mvfps(29.97) or convertfps(29.97)
Socio is offline  
post #191 of 210 Old 03-05-2005, 08:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Li On's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Posts: 4,182
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know there is a mvfps function but I thought it's for NTSC/PAL conversion. My clip is already the correct NTSC 59.94 and I just want to do the video deinterlace as is.

I hope I can get some hint when I can post on Doom9.

regards,

Li On
Li On is offline  
post #192 of 210 Old 06-16-2005, 05:38 AM
Member
 
ulisse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys

i am an Italian Boy,

i have founded this thread "Backing up DVD’s with improved image quality for free! Here is how! - AVS Forum".........

absolutely amazing!
Congratulations!!

I have started to read the thread to understand the procedure ecc......but i have notated that there are a lot of changes in the procedure/softwere/settings ecc.....and my English is not too much good.......

this is the point of question:

I want to apply that procedure to "Citizen Kane" ntsc Warner R1(one of the best movie of the Istory in my opinion),
as you know that movie is in black and whyte ,4/3 format ecc....

so i want to ask you:

1)have you just/never"filtered Citizen Kane before?

2)what kind of procdure you can suggest to me to apply to that movie (as i have wrote i have not understood all the various procedure and relatives reasons of changing ecc....,
so if you can say to me directly what kind of procedure and setting you will be use for this movie it will be grat for me!


Thank you.


best regards
ulisse is offline  
post #193 of 210 Old 11-15-2005, 07:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr.Bitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Socio,

Very interesting (just finished reading this thread, and your other thread on pre-processing using limited sharpen (in real-time)).

Ive been using ffdshow for a couple of years now and am generally happy with the results, however i'd like to see how some DxVA capable decoders display a processed mpeg stream - ie. not use ffdshow when viewing at all and do all of the processing beforehand (including resizing to, in my case to 1776x1000).

I also watch a lot of recorded HDTV (1920x1080) and for these I strongly prefer the more fluid DxVA capable decoders to the likes of dscaler5006 with ffdshow.

Is it possible to use these methods to create a mpeg stream that is both resized and 'enhanced' ? (which can then be viewed with a DxVA capable mpeg decoder) ?

EDIT: Just finished reading Didee's thread over on doom9 which sounds like it will do what I want, hopefully I can work out how to make it work with DVD-RB / CCE which is what im planning... I think there are many late nights ahead!! (if you have any tips let me know! :-)

Cheers,
Bitey
Mr.Bitey is offline  
post #194 of 210 Old 11-16-2005, 04:19 AM
Senior Member
 
tetsuo55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
would it help to use lanczos 2 at 4x enlargment, then back to regular dvd resolution?

it would take a lot longer, but i wonder if it further enhances image quality
tetsuo55 is offline  
post #195 of 210 Old 11-16-2005, 09:08 AM
Senior Member
 
jammarjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why not just buy the BlueRay version next year ;)
jammarjim is offline  
post #196 of 210 Old 11-16-2005, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
tetsuo55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jammarjim
Why not just buy the BlueRay version next year ;)

That says absolutely nothing about quality
tetsuo55 is offline  
post #197 of 210 Old 11-16-2005, 09:41 AM
Senior Member
 
jammarjim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: USA
Posts: 254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The HD version will surely give you much more detail than you'll ever get from all this work.

However I was just kidding, I know that it will be awhile before many titles are available in HD. This just seems like an awful lot to go thru for such a small gain.
jammarjim is offline  
post #198 of 210 Old 11-18-2005, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
tetsuo55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jammarjim
The HD version will surely give you much more detail than you'll ever get from all this work.

However I was just kidding, I know that it will be awhile before many titles are available in HD. This just seems like an awful lot to go thru for such a small gain.
Serveral movies aired in HD are worse quality than the dvd releases
tetsuo55 is offline  
post #199 of 210 Old 11-18-2005, 12:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sotti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 6,636
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by tetsuo55
Serveral movies aired in HD are worse quality than the dvd releases
OTA HD != next gen DVD

OTA HD is mpeg2 with around 75:1 compression vs DVD also using mpeg compression but closer to a 20:1 compression ratio. This means current HD often has many more artifacts from it's compression than DVD does, these artifacts often far out weigh the increase in resolution.

next gen DVD will be H.264 encoded an will have much better pq as a result.

Joel Barsotti
SpectraCal
CalMAN Lead Developer
sotti is offline  
post #200 of 210 Old 11-19-2005, 02:29 AM
Senior Member
 
tetsuo55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti
OTA HD != next gen DVD

OTA HD is mpeg2 with around 75:1 compression vs DVD also using mpeg compression but closer to a 20:1 compression ratio. This means current HD often has many more artifacts from it's compression than DVD does, these artifacts often far out weigh the increase in resolution.

next gen DVD will be H.264 encoded an will have much better pq as a result.

However true that may be, an upconvert will always be nothing more than an upconvert. In Being only that, these upconverted DVD's come pretty close to what youll get on nextgen dvd. Even upconverting masters will still cause grain because a lot of them are old.

Only movies filmed in HD will really show how beautifull HD is
tetsuo55 is offline  
post #201 of 210 Old 12-19-2005, 04:34 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr.Bitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Guys,

Any developments in this area?

I believe that using MT for dualcore/hyperthreading/dual CPU's can result in quite an increase in performance... check out socio's other thread on using limtiedsharpen in realtime for more info.. and socio's site (which brings it all together very nicely!) note: the site doesnt have this method but the new work can be applied to this process I believe..

Socio,

Is there a way to tell DVD RB to not 'shrink' the video down? - ie not further compress the source material ?

Ive been toying around with virtualdubmod scipts and outputting to an uncompressed avi then feeding into cce (but havent done so yet as Ive been busy playing with ffdshow/limitedsharpen (thankyou!)..

Cheers,
Bitey
Mr.Bitey is offline  
post #202 of 210 Old 12-19-2005, 06:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 3,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bitey
...Is there a way to tell DVD RB to not 'shrink' the video down? - ie not further compress the source material ?...
Yes, by placing a TargetSectors=xxxx into the Rebuilder.ini file under Options, you can control the "shrinkage". I forget the default sectors, but they are something less (maybe 50-100Mb) than full DVD-R size. You can change this to fit a DL disc; I have done it.

There are Rebuilder support forums at Doom9 and digital-digest where you can ask further about this.
Laserfan is offline  
post #203 of 210 Old 12-19-2005, 07:48 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr.Bitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool - thanks Laserfan

Cheers,
Bitey
Mr.Bitey is offline  
post #204 of 210 Old 12-19-2005, 11:31 PM
Senior Member
 
sxr71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Posts: 277
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sotti
OTA HD != next gen DVD

OTA HD is mpeg2 with around 75:1 compression vs DVD also using mpeg compression but closer to a 20:1 compression ratio. This means current HD often has many more artifacts from it's compression than DVD does, these artifacts often far out weigh the increase in resolution.

next gen DVD will be H.264 encoded an will have much better pq as a result.

So what you're saying is that OTA HD is basically a sham? When I first got HDTV on my computer monitor I noticed how heavy the artifacting was and I thought it to be a substandard broadcast. While OTA HD is better than analog TV I've noticed that it is a trade off of sorts, almost like picking your poison. Analog aritifacts or digital artifacts?
sxr71 is offline  
post #205 of 210 Old 01-03-2006, 11:02 PM
Newbie
 
shadowfax3000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So uhhhh...where's IIPX.zip? Can someone post it please?
shadowfax3000 is offline  
post #206 of 210 Old 04-14-2006, 06:24 PM
Newbie
 
adrianmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i'm also waiting the IIPX.zip reupload too.

Besides, I've a question, if I use any of the scripts mentioned under this post to to dvd ripping (i.e. dvd -> xvid/divx), should I put deinterlace process, cropping, and video resize , all after the pre-processing scripts/filter ?

For example

Code:
SetMemoryMax(96)

Import("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\LimitedSharpen2.avs")

#  PLUGINS
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\DGMPGDec\\DGDecode.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\Convolution3DYV12.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\undot.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\MaskTools.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\WarpSharp.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\colormatrix.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\asharp.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\Program Files\\AviSynth 2.5\\plugins\\aWarpSharp.dll")

#  SOURCE
mpeg2source("F:\\[DVD-VOB]movie\\movie.d2v")

Convolution3D (0, 6, 10, 6, 8, 2.8, 0)

LimitedSharpen2( ss_x=1.0, ss_y=1.0, 
\\ Smode=4, strength=60, radius=2, aSharpS=0.4,
\\ Lmode=1, wide=false, overshoot=1,
\\ soft=false, edgemode=0, special=false,
\\ exborder=0 )

UnDot()

ColorMatrix()

FieldDeinterlace()
crop(2,0,716,476)
LanczosResize(640,480)
adrianmak is offline  
post #207 of 210 Old 04-16-2006, 06:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr.Bitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guys,

Check out the IIP5 thread over on doom9 - i believe all the scripts are there - there are a few versions tho so make sure you get right 'version'.

Cheers,
Bitey
Mr.Bitey is offline  
post #208 of 210 Old 04-19-2006, 01:25 AM
Newbie
 
adrianmak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr.Bitey
Guys,

Check out the IIP5 thread over on doom9 - i believe all the scripts are there - there are a few versions tho so make sure you get right 'version'.

Cheers,
Bitey
I'm sorry, I can't search any post neither by keyword "IIP5' nor by username
adrianmak is offline  
post #209 of 210 Old 04-19-2006, 06:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Mr.Bitey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 338
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Adrianmak,

Here you go:
http://forum.doom9.org/showthread.php?t=70916

Seems the search function is crap :-)

Its a bugger to get working as copying scripts from sites (ie. copy/paste) seems to add spaces in unusual places which creates script errors.

I think some of the later posts here (or possibly doom9) have some 'packages' (downloadable zips and the like) which are easier to get working and have fixed scripts

You may also want to check out seesaw (doom9) - seems to be part of the Didee's new project..

IIP is really really slow BTW...

Cheers,
Bitey
Mr.Bitey is offline  
post #210 of 210 Old 06-09-2006, 04:42 AM
Newbie
 
joblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
import("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\Limitedshar pen2.avs")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\UnDot.d ll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\MaskToo ls.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\WarpSha rp.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\asharp. dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\aWarpSh arp.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\colorma trix.dll")
LoadPlugin("C:\\PROGRA~1\\GORDIA~1\\AviSynthPlugins\\LoadPlu ginEx.dll")
mpeg2source("D:\\kovboy\\kovboy.d2v")

crop(2,76,716,426)
LanczosResize(704,288)
Undot()
ColorMatrix()
LimitedSharpen2( ss_x=1.0, ss_y=1.0,
\\ Smode=4, strength=40, radius=2,aSharpS=1,
\\ Lmode=1, wide=false, overshoot=1,
\\ soft=false, edgemode=0, special=false,
\\ exborder=0 )
FieldDeinterlace()


ERROR ??????

1. Avisynth open failure:
script error:there is no function named "mpeg2source"
(D:\\ kovboy\\ kovboy.avs,line9)

OK

2.Cannot open file "kovboy_Movie.avi"
joblack is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off