6600GT resolutions - no more powerstrip? - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 365 Old 05-26-2005, 06:39 PM
Member
 
sonywaist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a NVIDIA 6800 Ultra and Panasonic ED plasma. The three widescreen input signals that the Panasonic TY-42TM6D DVI blade will accept are 1366x768, 1066x600, and 852x480. The only one of these widescreen modes that shows up on the NVIDIA software's list of resolutions for the DVI blade is 1366x768. How can I add 1066x600 and 852x480 to that list of modes? The "Add custom resolutions" dialog doesn't work with the version 71.89 NVIDIA driver I'm using. I added 1066x600 and 852x480 to the list for the computer's display by modifying the INF file, however the computer and the external display each have their own different resolution mode lists.
sonywaist is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 365 Old 05-26-2005, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
maxleung's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,495
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Sorry to say, but in some cases only Powerstrip will work. Personally, I never had much luck using the NVIDIA control panel to create new resolutions. :(
maxleung is offline  
post #363 of 365 Old 05-30-2005, 01:46 PM
Senior Member
 
arcticool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by maxleung
Sorry to say, but in some cases only Powerstrip will work. Personally, I never had much luck using the NVIDIA control panel to create new resolutions. :(
Agreed. You can drop a few weeks/months into getting the control panel to work for all your needs or you can save yourself the hassle and just go straight to powerstrip-
Funny how long I put off learning PS, tried to avoid it even in the 8500 days when Karnis was the sole pathfinder... Finally caved in and got over the initial learning curve and can only wish I'd done it sooner.

-AC
arcticool is offline  
post #364 of 365 Old 05-31-2005, 03:16 PM
Member
 
sonywaist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 106
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I thought I could get 1:1 pixel mapping using the nVidia 6800 Ultra with the latest drivers, and I considered installing PowerStrip to be a last resort. PowerStrip doesn't work for me either; it won't let me fine-tune the custom resolution that I added. Without fine-tuning, no 1:1 pixel mapping.
sonywaist is offline  
post #365 of 365 Old 05-31-2005, 06:41 PM
Member
 
tecklord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the 42pd50u/p model. At this time I have a cheap 5300 running the 71.84 MCE drivers from nvidia. If I run a 1280x720 I get overscan. If I set the overscan to 8% I think its 1216x686? I get a clean picture and can see everything. But there are 5 pixels from the top that are not used all the way across the screen. I have been hearing rumors of video cards having hdmi output? If so might help with picture to picture ratios. I am keeping my eye out on them. I do have 2 6600gt's in this rig running SLI and was thinking for the hell of it to yank one and put it in my MCE box and run that into the composite cable. Just want to see the PQ against the dvi to hdmi setup I have right now. I do know that the 71.84 drivers I am using work pretty well with my panny

DFI NF4 LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR (Bios Date 3/10/05)
AMD 64 3000+ ATHLON 64 939
Thermalright XP-90 With Arctic Silver Ceramique
Hyundai ImageQuest L90D19" LCD 8ms and DVI
2 x Western Digital Raptor WD360GD Sata
2 x Maxtors 250GB 16mb Cache Pata
2 x MSI NX6600GT-TD128E GeForce 6600 GT PCI Express 128MB DDR3
Corsair 1Gig (2x512MB) TWINX1024-3200LL
Thermaltake W0049 Silent Purepower 680W
Thermaltake XaserIII Case
NEC ND-3520A DVD-RW
Lite-On LTR 52327S CD-RW
Windows XP Pro SP2
Nvidia 76.10 Beta

MCE 2005 Machine
Dell SC420
Intel celly 2.53
512 MB Ram DDR2 400MHZ
80 Gig Hard Drive
Gforce 5300
DVI to HDMI
Audigy 2 value
Panasonic 42PD50U/P
Nvidia 71.84
tecklord is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off