MyHD MDP-130 - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joseph S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,979
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the tip, the order is in.

Now that my spending is done on a second EyeTV for my Macs and an upgraded MyHD tuner for the HTPC I can finally start saving for the Dual G5 I keep putting off. Can't wait to see the improved OTA reception and QAM on my HTPC as well. In my multipath plagued region, a next gen tuner is a necessity for reception of everything. The MyHD 120 does and hopefully the 130 will also play EyeTV files without difficulty.
Joseph S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 01:27 AM
Senior Member
 
psxjunky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was hoping to see a "MDP-130 + DVI for 130" combined purchase option for slightly less (like it is done for the MDP-120 + DVI card right now).

Kei - is this something you are considering ?
psxjunky is offline  
post #93 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 05:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
gerhard911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Cincinnati OH
Posts: 735
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
I have a Pace 550 cable box with DVI. Can the daughtercard's DVI passthrough feature be used with it ?

I want to be able to toggle my Sammy DLP between the cable box DVI output and the MyHD DVI output. I'll use the video card's VGA connection for displaying the PC desktop.

TIA
gerhard911 is offline  
post #94 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 05:18 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by psxjunky
I was hoping to see a "MDP-130 + DVI for 130" combined purchase option for slightly less (like it is done for the MDP-120 + DVI card right now).

Kei - is this something you are considering ?

Cliff already said they were pricing them at bleeding edge prices, and we likely wouldn't see any further discounts on them.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #95 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 06:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Karyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Seattle
Posts: 6,208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:


Originally posted by madpoet
Carey, you need to check the Local HDTV forum and find out of your Comcast local broadcasts their QAM in the clear. If they do, you probably do NOT need to upgrade. I have the very basic package from my local Cox, and I get all the HD locals they have through my QAM tuner. They won't tell you that you can, but you can .

This is the best advice here. I have the $12.95 limited basic from Comcast and I get the HD locals they offer. I also have the box for an additional $5.95. Although QAM is digital, the digital the cable companies refer to is different.

But, even though I also have Comcast (like the OP), each system is different.
Karyk is offline  
post #96 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 07:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wireburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Muskegon, Michigan
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I'm considering ordering this card, but it needs to do a few things. I did a search, but didn't come up with the answers to these questions:

1. Is there a way to get the card to output to overlay or VMR-9 so I don't need to run two RGB lines to my projector? I know there is a passthrough, but that usually comes at a PQ price.

2. Does the card decrypt DD and pass it to the SC like the Fusion?

3. Can I record one channel while watching another?

Thanks!

-Mike

I didn't do it
Nobody saw me do it,
You can't prove a thing

An Haiku by Bart Simpson
wireburn is offline  
post #97 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 07:54 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
1) Passthru doesn't touch the signal... it simply passes it thru. I'd reccomend using it.

2) Yes

3) I believe the answer is no, but someone else can verify.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #98 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 08:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,780
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 258 Post(s)
Liked: 247
3). No there is only one tuner. MIT is working on software to Play a program that is being recorded.

Then, they are "planning" on offering watch a recorded program while recording another.

-- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #99 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 08:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
wireburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Muskegon, Michigan
Posts: 1,355
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cool, thanks guys.

-Mike

I didn't do it
Nobody saw me do it,
You can't prove a thing

An Haiku by Bart Simpson
wireburn is offline  
post #100 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 11:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
has anyone really done a good evaluation of perceptable signal degradation of the vga passthrough at highrez desktop, such as 1920x1080 ??


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #101 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 12:15 PM
tji
AVS Special Member
 
tji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 2,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Originally posted by jimwhite
has anyone really done a good evaluation of perceptable signal degradation of the vga passthrough at highrez desktop, such as 1920x1080 ??

I have always used it with lower resolution displays (1280x720), and I have not seen any noticeable degradation.

But, if degredation is a concern - especially at very high resolutions, you probably want to go for the DVI pass-through instead.
tji is offline  
post #102 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 01:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Cliff, since it's up for preorder any word on how close shipping is?

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #103 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 01:52 PM
Member
 
johnnyhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,

It says on the upper right of the digital connection page.... ETA 2/15/05

Two Weeks!!!!

John
johnnyhd is offline  
post #104 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 02:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Doh, so it does. I should learn to read

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #105 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 03:16 PM
Member
 
htpc steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nah. That's why Cliff is here.
htpc steve is offline  
post #106 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Teeps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Torrance,Cal. 90503
Posts: 1,045
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:


Originally posted by htpc steve
Nah. That's why Cliff is here.

Does Cliff have an affiliation with Digital Connection?

Cheers, Tp

"No lawsuit ever fixed a moron."
Teeps is online now  
post #107 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 04:00 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Heh, yes.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #108 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 04:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Teeps--

I think that Madpoet was replying to htpc steve rather than your question. Cliff is a freelance hobbyist in these parts and not a DC employee, if that's what you were asking.
TPeterson is offline  
post #109 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 04:32 PM
Senior Member
 
dstarlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a question for our DC contingent here. I noticed on the Preorder that it still lists a Serial IR control. I thought I read Cliff stating that it would be USB? Did I misunderstand, or is there going to be a switch over at some point?

Dave
dstarlin is offline  
post #110 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 04:50 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, sorry... should have clarified.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #111 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 04:51 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:


Originally posted by Teeps
Does Cliff have an affiliation with Digital Connection?

No way would I allow Kei to affiliate me.it sounds painful.
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #112 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 04:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't know Cliff... we've all seen Kei's picture

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #113 of 12511 Old 01-31-2005, 05:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
pochoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
They say a picture is worth a thousand words

Could it be? Whats behind the picture? that counts the most?
pochoboy is offline  
post #114 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 07:12 AM
Member
 
johnnyhd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Bad news....

The ETA on the DC page has changed...

ETA To be announced
johnnyhd is offline  
post #115 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 09:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kei Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Huntington Beach, CA, US
Posts: 4,416
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Here's the scoop.

The ETA you are seeing is right under the DVI card which is not going to be released at the same time as the MDP-130. DVI cards will be back-ordered until further notice.

The initial shipment of the MDP-130 will have the serial receiver/remote instead of the USB model which will not be ready until March. For those that have to have the USB remote model, we recommend that you purchase the card after March when the hardware is changed.

Still don't know for certain when the order will be ready to ship but final round of software testing is in progress.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Kei Clark is offline  
post #116 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 09:17 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ouch... good to know Kei, I need to cancel my preorder then . Got to have the USB remote.

-MP

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #117 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 09:20 AM
Senior Member
 
dstarlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: S.E. Michigan
Posts: 208
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Kei.

Dave
dstarlin is offline  
post #118 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 09:22 AM
Advanced Member
 
pochoboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 795
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you will please,

What's the difference between the USB and Serial remote model? Is it just a different reciever(usb vs. serial)?

or is USB radio vs. Serial ir?

thank you in advance

I may have to cancel my order with DC also, whats another 2 months?
pochoboy is offline  
post #119 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 09:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The USB will be IR just like the serial IR receiver.
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #120 of 12511 Old 02-01-2005, 10:25 AM
Senior Member
 
snipeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: The Big Easy
Posts: 210
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cliff or whomever,

I own the Airboard IR keyboard that I bought from Digital Connection. I actually just use the IR receiver from it, with a MX-500 remote. It works great for Sage and everything else I use now.

Is there any reason to even hookup the IR receiver from the MYHD-130 (either serial or USB)?

Would I be able to map all functions in the 130 software to keys that the Airboard IR receiver can pickup?

I'd like to pre-order the 130 now, but I only have one serial port on my PC, and the Airboard is already using it.

Thanks,

Andy
snipeman is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off