CAV6.6 / MC11 link software - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 984 Old 10-10-2007, 08:42 AM
Member
 
themase's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I also am interested in getting my TS2 to work. If you guys need any more help, let me know and I'll be a guinea pig.
themase is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 984 Old 10-10-2007, 08:35 PM
Member
 
mikeav8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Florida
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone successfully using the Shuffle mode on their Uno (holding the Pause key) with the newer versions of JRMC (version 12.0.251 or higher)? I remember this working fine with previous versions...
mikeav8r is offline  
post #633 of 984 Old 10-10-2007, 11:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
netarc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,092
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hyslopc View Post

netarc - just spent a couple of hours reading through Russound's document center. That new E-Series stuff looks pretty cool, BTW - hmmm. Anyway it appears that Russound have not updated their documentation to include the TS2. The programming guide has not been updated, and includes the same codes as always. That guide was always incomplete, but at least the codes in their generally worked.

So I guess if we're going to get this going, we're going to have to work it out on our own. I'll PM you with more details...

Thanks, got your PM ... might take me until the weekend to get you the info, but I'll do so!
netarc is offline  
post #634 of 984 Old 10-11-2007, 02:45 PM
Member
 
skeeterfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hyslopc,

I'm guessing you don't have the time or inclination to make this work with anything but the Russound controllers?

A friend and I are leaning towards the Nuvo systems for our houses and would love something like this for them. Since they also interface via RS232, in theory, it should only take some changes to the serial part of your program to get it to work with a Nuvo controller. If nothing else, your work would be a great starting point for developing a Nuvo plug-in for JRiver.

Have you ever considered releasing your source code? I'll understand if you won't, but I can hope...

-John

BTW, looking at the prices of alternatives like CasaTools, CQC, and MusicLobby, we'd definitely be willing to help fund a Nuvo version if that would help.
skeeterfood is offline  
post #635 of 984 Old 10-12-2007, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually I've just put a downpayment on a block of land, so I'll be building a new house soon and will therefore be in the market for a new system myself. I quite like the look of Russound's new E-Series, even though it's not out yet so it's a bit early to tell. Can you tell me what you like about the Nuvo compared to Russound (esp the E-Series)?
hyslopc is offline  
post #636 of 984 Old 10-12-2007, 08:01 AM
Member
 
skeeterfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I actually hadn't heard of the Russound E Series before, I'll have to look into it. My friend really likes the Grand Concerto's OLED displays and he actually bought a system just the other day. I'm more interested in the new Essentia E6G (Grand Essentia). Looks like quite a bit of text space available in a single-gang format. I also like the low-power claims. Of course, it's not out yet either.

Edit: Here's a big pic of the E6G keypad.


-John
skeeterfood is offline  
post #637 of 984 Old 10-12-2007, 08:06 AM
Member
 
Surfikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

the new one sounds very good, but the price...

http://www.mavromatic.com/archives/000642


Surfikus
Surfikus is offline  
post #638 of 984 Old 10-12-2007, 08:14 AM
Member
 
skeeterfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Marion, IA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Whoa, that's a hefty MAP on the E-Series! $5650.00, compared to the Nuvo Grand Essentia's $2,299 MSRP. And the pdf seems to say that price is only for the ACA-E5 controller amp, then add another $599.00 for each KLK-E5 controller. There's also nothing saying that the KLK-E5 will work with anything prior to the ACA-E5...

Of course the ACA-E5 is a 12x8 AV matrix, versus the 6x6 audio only of the Nuvo. But, I only really need 6 zones at the moment.

It also sounds like Russound is really trying to crack down on any non-integrator/internet sales of the E-series, so that would require paying someone to install it too. I'll pass...

-John
skeeterfood is offline  
post #639 of 984 Old 10-12-2007, 08:30 AM
Member
 
Surfikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That´s what I thought, on the other hand I build a house 2 years ago and the UNO´s are implemented in the walls - so no chance to update in the next time But nevertheless I´m really satisfied with the CAV and hyslops-tool. Everything I need works - except an interface or a small web-server for integrating my home automation system. I hope he will keep his cav and implement this. If he takes the E-series I don´t think that the tool will be improved/adapted in the future... I think a kind of web-interface would help a lot of people to adapt this tool to their requirements. I would have a friend who would implement directly a web-interface.

Surfikus
Surfikus is offline  
post #640 of 984 Old 10-14-2007, 11:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just FYI, I'm a long way from buying anything new now, and if I do, it will be in addition to what I already have (CAV6.6). The new house is a summerhouse, I'm not planning on selling my apartment anytime soon.
hyslopc is offline  
post #641 of 984 Old 10-14-2007, 11:50 PM
Member
 
Surfikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

that sounds great. But anyway, I think the E-Series is to expensive :-(

Science
Surfikus is offline  
post #642 of 984 Old 10-15-2007, 02:14 AM
Newbie
 
beaton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Carl:

I still use JRMC 11 and haven't upgraded to JRMC 12 but see requests to make multiple CAV6.6's work. I have three CAV6.6's with RS232 to the first device and RNET cable between device one, two, and three. CAV6.6exe works fine -- I see the name of the song playing, artist time and date on all 18 key pads. The only trick I have found necessary is that you always have to leave one zone on for device one for you to control JRMC from zones 7 to 18 on devices 2&3. If all zones are off on device one then you can not control JRMC on zones 7 to 18. The other pecularity is that if controlling from zones 7 to 18 I need to allow time for the commands from the keypads to take -- probably the lag time from going through RNET on device 2 or 3 to device 1 and then to media server over RS232. If I get impatient and start pushing the keys too fast on zones 7 to 18 it will cause CAV6.6exe to give its I'm giving up error message and freeze up. Other than that though it works fine. I only use the playlist function and don't search around for artists so have not tried that capability but the hold stop to get playlists and then change play lists works fine from the zone 7 to 18 keypads so assume the other commands would work as well.
beaton is offline  
post #643 of 984 Old 10-15-2007, 02:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually, beaton, I bet the other buttons don't work, unfortunately, although I would be interested to hear if they do or don't.
hyslopc is offline  
post #644 of 984 Old 10-23-2007, 06:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
How is everyone setting up Playlists? One large playlist with ALL your music, or are you splitting them up by Artist, Genre, Album, etc? Sorry, but I'm new to MC and not sure where to start.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #645 of 984 Old 10-23-2007, 11:48 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have lots of playlists, all sorted by Artist. Examples are Recently Imported, All (2+ stars), Good (3+ stars), Great (4+ stars), Greatest (5 stars), Running (I have a treadmill), Dinner, etc.
hyslopc is offline  
post #646 of 984 Old 10-25-2007, 04:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Mike_Boulanger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milford, MA
Posts: 465
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Carl -

Any update on getting multiple CAV66's working??
Mike_Boulanger is offline  
post #647 of 984 Old 10-27-2007, 03:35 PM
Newbie
 
VintageWine39's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Glenview, IL
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Folks,

I can't seem to download the most recent version of the utility. The file is not found on the server. I'm looking for version 136, can anyone help with an alternate place to get it. I tried iRiver site, but the link there is no longer active. I've been running a really old version for a long time and would like to upgrade.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Vintagewine39

VintageWine39
VintageWine39 is offline  
post #648 of 984 Old 10-29-2007, 04:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Anyone else having issues with Shuffle and MC12.329+? If I press and hold Pause, shuffle turns on, but not off. The display keeps showing "shuffle on" and that's it. Also, I can't seem to see any indication that shuffle is actually on in the MC dashboard.

Thanks in advance.

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #649 of 984 Old 11-16-2007, 01:38 AM
Super Moderator
 
Bob Sorel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 8,460
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 66 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Mod's note: Please obtain author's permission for redistribution (when required), even for freeware.
Bob Sorel is offline  
post #650 of 984 Old 11-17-2007, 03:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry about the broken link - it is working again now, v1.36 is available for download here. v1.37 includes support for the TS2 keypads and is available here - anyone with a TS2, use this version and post here how it goes. It should work fine for everyone else, too, but I haven't tested it much myself yet. The shuffle problem appears to be a JRMC 12 issue - I have posted it on their forums, hopefully we will have a fix soon.
hyslopc is offline  
post #651 of 984 Old 11-17-2007, 08:32 AM
Member
 
caribbeansun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This may just be a weird coincidence but I installed a second keypad using a splitter for my outdoor zone - one set of speakers up top and a second outside of the walkout basement.

Anyway, it's not playing nice with this application and stops JRMC running frequently. Alternatively, it may have something to do with the fact I ripped all my CD's in FLAC and it appears that JRMC and FLAC don't always like each other, at least that's what I've concluded.

Anyone else using a splitter and either having or not having issues?

Any thoughts on FLAC and JRMC?

Thanks in advance.
caribbeansun is offline  
post #652 of 984 Old 11-17-2007, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
blipszyc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Concord, NC
Posts: 2,561
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 35
Is there a way to change what is displayed on the keypads? Is that a function of the INI file or MC?

Visit the Lipszyc Home Theater! 1.0
2.0 done and finally posted! - Theater 2.0

And now...The Queen City Theater (3.0)
blipszyc is offline  
post #653 of 984 Old 11-18-2007, 10:21 PM
Member
 
Surfikus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Germany
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Carl,

did you tried with a kind of webserver/interface we spoke about?

Surfikus
Surfikus is offline  
post #654 of 984 Old 11-19-2007, 12:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only way you can change the display is to turn display of time on or off, and to choose between 12- and 24-hour time. No IP interface as of yet - sorry.
hyslopc is offline  
post #655 of 984 Old 11-21-2007, 05:32 AM
Newbie
 
MrPid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All.

I want to run the software off an old pc but I also want to be able to control the cav with an HAI 5.7 touchscreen which provide an UNOS2 styled screen.

Unfortunately, they both want the serial port on the cav - has anybody hooked this up like this and/or what did they use to share the port?

Also, has anybody tried the software using the hai touchscreen?

Stu
MrPid is offline  
post #656 of 984 Old 11-25-2007, 07:47 PM
Member
 
Brettcp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 129
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm using MC 12.0.338 and the latest CAV66 plugin.. I noticed that after I upgraded to MC 12, the zones will shut off after about 20 minutes or so.. I can turn them right back on and they're fine for another 20 minutes or so, then shut off again.. This does not occur without the CAV66.EXE plugin running.

Any ideas? This only occured after upgrading to MC12.

-Brett
Brettcp is offline  
post #657 of 984 Old 11-26-2007, 12:50 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You mean the CAV keypad switches off, or that the music stops playing?
hyslopc is offline  
post #658 of 984 Old 11-26-2007, 03:20 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
hyslopc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You haven't by any chance set AutoFadePeriod=20 have you?
hyslopc is offline  
post #659 of 984 Old 11-26-2007, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
mickydisco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

Is anyone using the link s/w on a Vista machine? If so what sound cards are you using?

My M-Audio Delta 44 which works great on Windows XP is not supported on Vista - no drivers available.

Regards

'Disco
mickydisco is offline  
post #660 of 984 Old 11-26-2007, 08:49 PM
Senior Member
 
rxtrom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hyslopc, or anyone else that might know.

I installed JRMC12 and I have a CAM6.6 not a CAV. The cav66.exe is running simple w/o a .ini file. It is my interstanding that I do not need one. Anyway, none of the keys work on the kaypad, and when i manually hit play on the computer the music starts and stops after 03 sec. The firmware on the kaypads are up to date with rev 3.01. The cav66 program shows correct info for all keypads. (usos2)

Any ideas?
rxtrom is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off