How to Power PC Speakers with Power Supply? HELP!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 05-11-2005, 01:05 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Arty13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm building a PC Jukebox and it has 2 internal speakers, 5" round, maybe they are 4", but one of those two...
so my question is... i know the audio out on the Motherboard doesnt output enough power to the speakers... so i was wondering if anyone knew how to power the speakers with the pc powersupply?
so i'll have stereo, one left channel and one right channel, so far two wires... now what do i do?
thanks,

Arty
Arty13 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 03:48 AM
Keh
Advanced Member
 
Keh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You could try searching this forum with the words "pci" and "amplifier" (should get you this thread).

Or there's Google etc...

Another approach (if there is space) would be to use a car amp.
Keh is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 07:17 AM
Member
 
MrGone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 30
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Maybe I misread your question, but it should be noted that you just can't take power (electricity) and apply it to speakers to make them powered. Like Keh said, you'll need an amplifier, which can run off the same outlet your PC is connected to, but I wouldn't attempt to draw power from the output of your PC's power supply. You might be better off buying a set of powered PC speakers (integrated amplifier and speaker). Circuit City, CompUSA have tons of these.
MrGone is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 08:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
tbdombrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It "should" be possible to do this. Most pc speakers have amplifiers that work off of 12v. If yours does, just take a 5.25 power cable, cut off the end, and attach the yellow (12v+) to the + and black (ground) to the -. I have never tried this though and I wouldn't recommend doing it but technically it should work.

Tom
tbdombrosky is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 10:58 AM
Senior Member
 
AmigaDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 243
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Arty -- NO, NO, NO !!!

Tom, that would fry his motherboard, speakers, and maybe even his house. Internal speakers do NOT have amplifiers, only with external speaker enclosures would this possibly work. Even then he would be better off using the transformer in the speaker enclosure.

AmigaDude
AmigaDude is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 11:28 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Arty13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so i just cant run power to them along with the signal.... hmm... how small do they have these pc speaker amps? cause i dont really have any more room left... i did online searching, didnt find anything so gave up after awhile...
any other advice, please let me know.. thanks

Arty
Arty13 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 11:39 AM
Advanced Member
 
tbdombrosky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 597
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by AmigaDude
Arty -- NO, NO, NO !!!

Tom, that would fry his motherboard, speakers, and maybe even his house. Internal speakers do NOT have amplifiers, only with external speaker enclosures would this possibly work. Even then he would be better off using the transformer in the speaker enclosure.
That's exactly what I was talking about. I'm talking about using pc speakers like the kind logitech makes, not the ones built into computer cases. He would have to use something that came with an amplifier that could be powered by 12v.

Tom
tbdombrosky is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 11:45 AM
Member
 
didgeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Arty.

Something like this: (i can't post links yet - so do a google for -
K4003 30W Stereo Amplifier - )
would probably suit, looks small enough to fit in most cases (although it is going to add some heat - look at those sinks) and will take power from the PC's power supply. It's then just a matter of supplying line level (from line out) to the amp and connecting your speakers at the other end .. I wish you luck.

Cheers

Didge
didgeman is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 05-12-2005, 12:43 PM
Senior Member
 
samgreco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Villa Park, IL
Posts: 284
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Or, you can go somewhere like this:

http://www.apexjr.com/JBL12.htm

and for $9.95 get this small amp from a set of powered speakers and mount the board in your case. Not a lot of power but it should work pretty well.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Website Development and PC Support

samgreco is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off