PlayList_Manager & Record_This - Page 10 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #271 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 02:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
I am not sure if there is a major difference, and I am sure that each manufacturer implements it differently, but I would love my KWorld ATSC-110 to be able to be controlled by this as well...any thoughts?

When I was detailing out the features I wanted for my Schedule Manager one of the features I put down was the ability to support any card. The way I imagined it might work was that each card would have a "Reservation interface" (possible a COM object). The "Reservation interface" would take care of getting and putting information into the appropriate places for each card as it is different for each card. The Reservation interface would be open source so that anyone could write an interface for their card if they wanted it supported. This of course increases the complexity of the application considerably.

I would expect that neither Allen nor Tim wants to get that involved at the moment.

Allen and Tim have a pretty good idea for what they want THEIR (not our) applications to do. Let just help them make it the best it can be and not try to much to change it into OUR applications. Remember these guys wrote the applications for themselves and they were nice enough to share them with us.

Cris Moore is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #272 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 02:37 PM
Advanced Member
 
sterno3's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 549
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Moore View Post

When I was detailing out the features I wanted for my Schedule Manager one of the features I put down was the ability to support any card. The way I imagined it might work was that each card would have a "Reservation interface" (possible a COM object). The "Reservation interface" would take care of getting and putting information into the appropriate places for each card as it is different for each card. The Reservation interface would be open source so that anyone could write an interface for their card if they wanted it supported. This of course increases the complexity of the application considerably.

I would expect that neither Allen nor Tim wants to get that involved at the moment.

Allen and Tim have a pretty good idea for what they want THEIR (not our) applications to do. Let just help them make it the best it can be and not try to much to change it into OUR applications. Remember these guys wrote the application for themselves and they were nice enough to share it with us.

Thanks Cris...I totally agree with you. My use of 'we' in my post was mostly tongue in cheek...

I just wanted to through it out there as a possible requirement. I am more than willing to support them in meeting their own development goals whilst sitting back & letting my pet functionality come in its own time or not at all.
sterno3 is offline  
post #273 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
I just wanted to through it out there as a possible requirement. I am more than willing to support them in meeting their own development goals whilst sitting back & letting my pet functionality come in its own time or not at all.

I understand what you're saying. The closer Allen and Tims software come to MY requirements makes it less likely that I will have to write my own Schedule Manager. LOL!

Cris Moore is online now  
post #274 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 03:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jldet5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New version looks good. I tried again and the machine does not come out of standby when using RT only.
jldet5 is offline  
post #275 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 03:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jldet5 View Post

New version looks good. I tried again and the machine does not come out of standby when using RT only.

I haven't addressed (nor event thought about) the standby issue. Probably won't for now unless someone tells me in somewhat simple terms how to address it. Which I absolutely don't mind. Its just that I've already started looking into how to read/write mdb files.
AllenDB is offline  
post #276 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 09:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Added block time. Only tested to make sure the scanner picked up the correct values and things didn't blow up. New output message if a schedule fails because start time already passed. Added network identifier to channel name if it exists.

 

Record_This.zip 241.2890625k . file
AllenDB is offline  
post #277 of 2788 Old 01-24-2006, 09:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Allen. I've taken advantage of the "Time block". Is the "Skipping because start time passed " new?

01/24/06 21:50:57 Record_This: **********************************************************
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: >> showaddedschedule
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: >> today
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: >> xmlfilename c:\\HDTV_Tools\\XMLTV\\xmltv-0.5.42-win32\\oneday.xml
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: <<>> showallchannels
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: <<>> showallprograms
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: <<>> showoldschedule
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: <<
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << --- options
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << channel
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << directorystyle title
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << filenamestyle date_time
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << notseen
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << remote remote_host_name
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << reruns
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << scheduleconflicts
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << showaddedschedule
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << showallchannels
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << showallprograms
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << shownotseen
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << showoldschedule
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << timeoffset -8
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << today
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << tomorrow
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << xmlfilename
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: << ----
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: <<
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: >> local MYHD ant1
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Alias
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Bones
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Charmed
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Ghost Whisperer
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Invasion
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Medium
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Surface
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Smallville
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Veronica Mars
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: >> reruns
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record: Nova [07:00-11:00]
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record:
01/24/06 21:50:57 Get_Next_Record:
01/24/06 21:50:57 Record_This: Run date/time 2006/01/24 21:50:57
01/24/06 21:50:57 Record_This: Recording date 2006/01/24
01/24/06 21:50:57 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping because start time passed Nova on KOPBDT/PBS 1/24 17:00 till 18:00 or 60 minutes
01/24/06 21:50:57 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping because start time passed Nova on KOPBDT/PBS 1/24 20:00 till 21:00 or 60 minutes
Done

Cris Moore is online now  
post #278 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 07:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Moore View Post

Thanks Allen. I've taken advantage of the "Time block". Is the "Skipping because start time passed " new?
Done

The message is, the logic went in a version or two before.
AllenDB is offline  
post #279 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 10:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice. With some shows currently being shuffled around,

Bones - 8:00pm Tues -> 9:00pm Wed
Veronica Mars - 9:00pm Wed -> 10:00pm Wed

I didn't have to reschedule "weekly" recordings to adjust for the shuffling. Record_This takes care of this problem by only scheduling a day at a time.

The problem I ran into is that I now have a triple conflict.
(Note: Record_This did NOT schedule conficts. I just mean I have three shows on at the same time)

Veronica Mars - 10:00pm - UPN
CSI:NY - 10:00pm - CBS
Invasion - 10:00pm - ABC

I can eliminate one of the conflicts by moving it to the Fusion card (oh to have Fusion support too ). The second conflict requires me to make a decision on which one to keep, remove the other from the .ini file temporarily, delete the schedule, and re-run the tool.

Allen,

MyHDAuto has a nice feature that would have been useful here. In MyHDAuto I can specify the priority of shows. In this case I would have listed Invasion BEFORE CSI:NY. This would cause Invasion to be scheduled instead of CSI:NY if there is a conflict.

Cris Moore is online now  
post #280 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Allen,

Feature request.

- A flag in the ini file, that when set, would clear ALL of the reservation slots, i.e. delete all of the reservations.

I often run Record_This multiple times while testing\\experimenting. Often in between each run I manually "clear" the used reservation slots in the registry so that all slots are available. It's faster to do it this way than to start MyHD and remove them using the dialog. It would be nice if the tool did this for me if the flag was set.

Cris Moore is online now  
post #281 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 12:40 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Moore View Post

I often run Record_This multiple times while testing\\experimenting. Often in between each run I manually "clear" the used reservation slots in the registry so that all slots are available. It's faster to do it this way than to start MyHD and remove them using the dialog. It would be nice if the tool did this for me if the flag was set.

I added that to MyHDAuto this morning!
hdtvincr is offline  
post #282 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 12:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


I added that to MyHDAuto this morning!

Thanks Tim! That little option will save me time when testing\\experimenting.

Cris Moore is online now  
post #283 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 01:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Moore View Post

Allen,

Feature request.

- A flag in the ini file, that when set, would clear ALL of the reservation slots, i.e. delete all of the reservations.

I often run Record_This multiple times while testing\\experimenting. Often in between each run I manually "clear" the used reservation slots in the registry so that all slots are available. It's faster to do it this way than to start MyHD and remove them using the dialog. It would be nice if the tool did this for me if the flag was set.

Like in the PLM.
AllenDB is offline  
post #284 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 02:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Like in the PLM.

Sorry I didn't know this feature was in the PLM. I've never used it. I'll get a copy and take a look.

Thanks.

Cris Moore is online now  
post #285 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 02:30 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Moore View Post

Sorry I didn't know this feature was in the PLM. I've never used it. I'll get a copy and take a look.

Thanks.

Whhooopps!

There is an option in the PLM that will clear the Play List, not the reservation list. My bad for maybe mis-speaking.

I've had the same problem in testing RT and was going to implement but not document it. Now I'll do both.
AllenDB is offline  
post #286 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 03:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jldet5 View Post

New version looks good. I tried again and the machine does not come out of standby when using RT only.

So does that mean that if you fire-up MyHD, then close it, then standby, it WILL come out of standby when the time comes?
sengsational is offline  
post #287 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 05:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jldet5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Algonquin, IL
Posts: 1,543
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post

So does that mean that if you fire-up MyHD, then close it, then standby, it WILL come out of standby when the time comes?

I'm betting you will have to go to the capture list and press ok. Haven't tried it.
jldet5 is offline  
post #288 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 06:41 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Interesting question. My guess is that opening and closing the app is sufficient. What size is your bet?
TPeterson is offline  
post #289 of 2788 Old 01-25-2006, 07:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is my guess also, but haven't checked for sure. Definitely gotta get something figured out to overcome this.

Here's a note for you zap2it users..... I grabbed listings at 12:15am and ran my app which scheduled "Lost" normally. I just happened to visit TitanTV and noticed that our local was carrying a college BB game. Re-grabbed zap2it data, and sure enough the BB game was there.

Moral of the story as I know some of us have been wondering , somewhere between 12:15am and 10:am this morning the schedules got changed, updated, fixed, whatever you want to call it.
hdtvincr is offline  
post #290 of 2788 Old 01-26-2006, 05:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
sengsational's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Interesting question. My guess is that opening and closing the app is sufficient. What size is your bet?

Does anyone have a feel for what the MyHD app is doing to get the machine to resume? There must be some MyHD logic that decides when power-ons are required, then that must get chunked into some Windows API? Then that goes finally to the bios? I suppose it uses the same API as do the scheduled tasks that are set to resume. This would have to be resolved for Record_This to really take-over scheduling.

--Dale--
sengsational is offline  
post #291 of 2788 Old 01-26-2006, 07:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm trying to figure out this myself, as like you, waking from hibernation is a must.

MyIRC polls the registry every 3 seconds, so it sees the information just fine. Leads me to believe that it is not setting the wake up times. Which then would mean that MyHD itself and most likely the TitanTVHelper MUST be doing the work. I say TTVHelper also, because there are many times that I schedule from Titan without MyHD running and it wakes just fine.

Anyways, I'm working on it for my MyHDAuto app which I hope to release for everyone by the weekend. Probably, initially without the wake up support....
hdtvincr is offline  
post #292 of 2788 Old 01-26-2006, 07:29 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvincr View Post

MyIRC polls the registry every 3 seconds, so it sees the information just fine.

Do I infer correctly from this that you've confirmed that the wake-up fails even after MyIRC shows the correct next reservation event provided that MyHD is not run after the Registry update with a new capture event and before sending the PC to sleep?
TPeterson is offline  
post #293 of 2788 Old 01-26-2006, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That is correct Terry.

And to confirm from a few posts back, simply opening MyHD and then shutting down, without going into the capture dialogs, is enough to properly wake up the system.
hdtvincr is offline  
post #294 of 2788 Old 01-26-2006, 08:03 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by sengsational View Post

Does anyone have a feel for what the MyHD app is doing to get the machine to resume? There must be some MyHD logic that decides when power-ons are required, then that must get chunked into some Windows API? Then that goes finally to the bios? I suppose it uses the same API as do the scheduled tasks that are set to resume. This would have to be resolved for Record_This to really take-over scheduling.

--Dale--

Yes, Cliff told me a long time ago that MyHD uses the very same Windows API for scheduling wakeups as does the Windows Task Scheduler. From Tim's recent experiments, I gather that the API call happens from MyHD (upon exiting is my guess) and from TitanTVhelper when requested to deal with a TVPI file. I'm still waiting for MIT's reply to my request for some details.
TPeterson is offline  
post #295 of 2788 Old 01-26-2006, 09:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Latest RT.

'Clear' option was added that removes all current reservations before adding new ones.

A priority mechanism was added that resolves conflicts. If the entry to be added was specified in the ini file before the reservation that currently exists the new one overwrites the current one.

On the subject of wakeup both the Fusion and MYHD packages have these reservation processes or services that are always there. It just seems like there would be the logic to cause a wakeup from a mobo sleep. Just a SWAG tho.

 

Record_This.zip 241.2890625k . file
AllenDB is offline  
post #296 of 2788 Old 01-27-2006, 08:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post

On the subject of wakeup both the Fusion and MYHD packages have these reservation processes or services that are always there. It just seems like there would be the logic to cause a wakeup from a mobo sleep.

Thanks to Terry for getting me the info! Hibernation problem solved for my app MyHDAuto (MyHDAuto Thread ). Should have it cleaned up enough to release to everyone by tonight or tomorrow! (MyHD only... No Fusion support...)
hdtvincr is offline  
post #297 of 2788 Old 01-27-2006, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post

Latest RT.

'Clear' option was added that removes all current reservations before adding new ones.

A priority mechanism was added that resolves conflicts. If the entry to be added was specified in the ini file before the reservation that currently exists the new one overwrites the current one.

On the subject of wakeup both the Fusion and MYHD packages have these reservation processes or services that are always there. It just seems like there would be the logic to cause a wakeup from a mobo sleep. Just a SWAG tho.

Its amazing how one can mentally debug a feature after its posted than before.

The clear option may not work as intended if you have multiple systems. Fix it this weekend.

If someone already has a system set up to sleep and then wake to make MYHD recordings could you try something? Terminate the MyIRC (I'm at work & don't recall the exact name) process before the system goes to sleep. Curious to see if it wakes up at the right time
AllenDB is offline  
post #298 of 2788 Old 01-27-2006, 08:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm at work also, but I think I can predict the outcome and the answer will depend on whether a "wake event" has been sent to the bios.

If MyHD or Titan has scheduled the event AND sent the "wake event" to bios, I do not think it matters whether MyIRC is running or not (although it MUST be running for captures to start).

If RT has scheduled the recording and not instructed MyIRC to set a "wake event", then it obviously isn't going to know to wake up.
hdtvincr is offline  
post #299 of 2788 Old 01-27-2006, 09:03 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,845
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Allen--

You've got PM and EM at two addresses....
TPeterson is offline  
post #300 of 2788 Old 01-27-2006, 09:09 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvincr View Post

I'm at work also, but I think I can predict the outcome and the answer will depend on whether a "wake event" has been sent to the bios.

If MyHD or Titan has scheduled the event AND sent the "wake event" to bios, I do not think it matters whether MyIRC is running or not (although it MUST be running for captures to start).

If RT has scheduled the recording and not instructed MyIRC to set a "wake event", then it obviously isn't going to know to wake up.

I want RT to run unattended and manage remote systems. Since Task Scheduler can't be used (it restricts capabilities) I have to write a separate process to run RT.

In there I expect I would set the timer event, SetWaitableTimer or some such. Since MyIRC and Fusion's comparable process are intimately aware of the reservations, and they HAVE to be running, it would seem natural (IMHO) for them to control the wake up process. Oh well.
AllenDB is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off