PlayList_Manager & Record_This - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 10:04 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Yes, it would seem to be necessary to specify the input for each capture event. Conceivably, some would even be Svideo or (yech) composite, especially on the Fusion cards that can actually do decent NTSC captures.
TPeterson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 10:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Moore View Post

I would seem that you need to implement it so that the user can specify which antenna for which recording on the SAME card.

For example a friend of mine has two OTA antennas. One points north(Ant1), the other south(Ant2). So on the same card he would need to be able to specify that the antenna needs to switch between recordings. Also, what about those who use one input for QAM and the other for OTA?

This may be your intension already but I didn't read it that way with your post. It seems like your way would limit the card to a particular antenna.

I'm thinking like this:

machine/myhd ant1
program list
machine/myhd ant2 (same machine, therefore same myhd card)
another program list

The myhd here is the same myhd card. I will just set the ant param differently. Should work, I think.

QAM is a different story. I have no cable. I would need to see some samples of schedule entries and go from there. Post the output from RT showing QAM schedules. Or maybe I can be talked thru QAM channels.

Is that what your are asking?
AllenDB is offline  
post #183 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Awesome! I just had my first automatic update happen.
I have mine scheduled for 10:00am every morning. Unfortunatly nothing for me to watch tonight.

But still pretty cool though.

No matter that there is nothing on today. I'm going to go see Underworld: Evolution.

01/20/06 10:03:53 Record_This: **********************************************************
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: >> xmlfilename c:\\HDTV_Tools\\XMLTV\\xmltv-0.5.42-win32\\oneday.xml
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: >> today
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: >> showoldschedule
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: >> showaddedschedule
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: <<
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << --- additional options
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << channel
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << notseen
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << remote remote_host_name
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << reruns
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << scheduleconflicts
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << showallchannels
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << showallprograms
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << shownotseen
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << timeoffset -8
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << tomorrow
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: << ----
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: <<
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: >> local MYHD
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Alias
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Bones
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Charmed
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Ghost Whisperer
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Invasion
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Medium
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Nova
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Surface
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Smallville
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record: Veronica Mars
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record:
01/20/06 10:03:53 Get_Next_Record:
01/20/06 10:03:53 Record_This: Run date/time 2006/01/20 10:03:53
01/20/06 10:03:53 Record_This: Recording date 2006/01/20
01/20/06 10:03:53 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping rerun Ghost Whisperer on KOINDT 1/20 20:00 till 21:00 or 60 minutes
Done

Cris Moore is online now  
post #184 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


I'm thinking like this:

machine/myhd ant1
program list
machine/myhd ant2 (same machine, therefore same myhd card)
another program list

The myhd here is the same myhd card. I will just set the ant param differently. Should work, I think.

OK. I understand now. Should work.

Quote:


QAM is a different story. I have no cable. I would need to see some samples of schedule entries and go from there. Post the output from RT showing QAM schedules. Or maybe I can be talked thru QAM channels.

Is that what your are asking? "

I don't think QAM would be handled any differently as it still comes though an antenna input. As long as the channel information is correct from Zap2it it should work. I would post a QAM sample but I don't get cable either. Perhaps Terry can?

Cris Moore is online now  
post #185 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
The difference with QAM is that RT will have to tap into MyHD's (or create its own) mapping of the cableco numbers to the physical channels. I confess that I've not yet set up RT (or even PLM ) so I can't give you a specific example. But, Allen, I imagine that you have the format of the mapping table in the info from MIT, right?
TPeterson is offline  
post #186 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 10:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll send Allen an example of QAM when I get home in a couple of hours....

IIRC, it is similar to OTA with the RF cable channel, then the mapped virtual channel and sub from MyHD. Terry is right, you will need to allow the user to set these either manually or with a little help from the registry mapping tables....

example: My FOX on QAM
RF : 114
Virtual : 828
Sub : (None) coded as a -1 value in registry ($FFFFFFFF)

example: My PBS on QAM
RF : 114
Virtual : 32
Sub : 1
hdtvincr is offline  
post #187 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvincr View Post

I'll send Allen an example of QAM when I get home in a couple of hours....

IIRC, it is similar to OTA with the RF cable channel, then the mapped virtual channel and sub from MyHD. Terry is right, you will need to allow the user to set these either manually or with a little help from the registry mapping tables....

example: My FOX on QAM
RF : 114
Virtual : 828
Sub : (None) coded as a -1 value in registry ($FFFFFFFF)

example: My PBS on QAM
RF : 114
Virtual : 32
Sub : 1

I'd should use the registry if the mapping is there. But really would like to see some examples of scheduled entries. I understand there is a mapping but my simple view is that the virtual stuff is fluff. The Physical Chan is the frequency to tune. Like 65 for UHF here in the LA area for Fox or 129 over Cox cable. I don't know if its 129 but just saying as an example. Again this is my simple view.
AllenDB is offline  
post #188 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 01:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post

I'd should use the registry if the mapping is there. But really would like to see some examples of scheduled entries. I understand there is a mapping but my simple view is that the virtual stuff is fluff. The Physical Chan is the frequency to tune. Like 65 for UHF here in the LA area for Fox or 129 over Cox cable. I don't know if its 129 but just saying as an example. Again this is my simple view.

I believe we are saying the same thing... My NBC(7) is 55 OTA, but is located on cable QAM RF channel 114.1. Thus the QAM scheduled entry would list:

PhyCh: 114
VirCh: 7
SubCh: 1

Assuming that MyHD has been told to map that Titan entry to 7.1. This is really where it is helpful to pull the mappings from MyHD. That is what I'm in the process of doing now in my app to make it easier. I can send you some examples if you like. What format would you like it in? Just a registry export?
hdtvincr is offline  
post #189 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 02:59 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvincr View Post

I believe we are saying the same thing... My NBC(7) is 55 OTA, but is located on cable QAM RF channel 114.1. Thus the QAM scheduled entry would list:

PhyCh: 114
VirCh: 7
SubCh: 1

Assuming that MyHD has been told to map that Titan entry to 7.1. This is really where it is helpful to pull the mappings from MyHD. That is what I'm in the process of doing now in my app to make it easier. I can send you some examples if you like. What format would you like it in? Just a registry export?

Try registry export. But what I'm meaning to say is that we could put 678 in VirCh and MYHD might care less. If the user isn't looking at the entrties they could care less. But in the Zap2It data there is a character string that signifies the network identifier and that might be a good thing to display to the user.

I think I'm just mumbling but I'm going to set VirCh to garbage and schedule a recording.
AllenDB is offline  
post #190 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 03:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So far in my dealings, it has been REAL picky about getting the right data or not working at all. I believe you need all 3 values. I think MyHD does the proper lookup when the scheduled recording starts.

For instance... My ABC(9) is on QAM 115.4 and in the tables is mapped as Virch 9 and NO Subch. In the registry, the entries in order are 115, 9, -1. This is what I mentioned earlier about the -1 ($FFFFFFFF) value. There is no reference in the schedule entry about the real Subch (4) for Phych 115. Again, I believe MyHD does the lookup in it's tables to find the proper Subch for the entry of Virch 9 and Subch -1 and finds it really needs 115.4.

I'll get some recordings scheduled on different channels and export the whole registy key for you and send it to you along with my MyHD channel lists.
hdtvincr is offline  
post #191 of 2788 Old 01-20-2006, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Allen, You have mail!
hdtvincr is offline  
post #192 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 10:44 AM
Member
 
Andy81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 61
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Allen - I just got it to all work. Awesome!! Is there any hope of getting this to work with the fushion card as well somewhere down the road?

Thanks again!!
Andy81 is offline  
post #193 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 11:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Andy81 View Post

Allen - I just got it to all work. Awesome!! Is there any hope of getting this to work with the fushion card as well somewhere down the road?

Thanks again!!

Thanks....

I really hope. As soon as I get File Type stuff done I'll be jumping on it.
AllenDB is offline  
post #194 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 11:25 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This version is compiled with VS 6.0 at home like I was doing with the PLM. It hopefully fixes the conflict issue and added the Ant1/Ant2 specification on the machine/card line. So actually all it really does is add the Ant functionality.

I need to do some more research and probably sort some stuff out with the file naming problem.

The code file size for 6.0 is triple that for VS 2005. ???????

If anybody does get it to execute I'd like to know so I can rest easy on the code issue.

Thanks.

 

Record_This.zip 241.2890625k . file
AllenDB is offline  
post #195 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 11:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Seems like it is working to me.

01/21/06 11:37:55 Record_This: **********************************************************
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: >> showaddedschedule
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: >> showoldschedule
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: >> today
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: >> xmlfilename c:\\HDTV_Tools\\XMLTV\\xmltv-0.5.42-win32\\oneday.xml
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: <<
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << --- additional options
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << channel
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << notseen
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << remote remote_host_name
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << reruns
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << scheduleconflicts
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << showallchannels
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << showallprograms
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << shownotseen
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << timeoffset -8
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << tomorrow
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: << ----
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: <<
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: >> local MYHD ant1
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Alias
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Bones
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Charmed
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Ghost Whisperer
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Invasion
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Medium
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Nova
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Surface
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Smallville
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record: Veronica Mars
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record:
01/21/06 11:37:55 Get_Next_Record:
01/21/06 11:37:55 Record_This: Run date/time 2006/01/21 11:37:55
01/21/06 11:37:55 Record_This: Recording date 2006/01/21
01/21/06 11:37:55 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping rerun Alias on KATUDT 1/21 23:35 till 0:35 or 60 minutes
01/21/06 11:37:55 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping rerun Nova on KOPBDT 1/21 8:00 till 9:00 or 60 minutes
01/21/06 11:37:55 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping rerun Veronica Mars on KPDXDT 1/21 16:30 till 17:30 or 60 minutes
01/21/06 11:37:55 Check_Program: >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> Skipping rerun Smallville on KWBPDT 1/21 15:00 till 16:00 or 60 minutes
Done

Cris Moore is online now  
post #196 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 11:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Allen,

This is certainly entirely up to you but I just wanted to put my vote in on priorities.

1 - Bug fixes\
equired enhancements (like File Type stuff)
2 - Fusion OTA support
3 - QAM support MyHD
4 - QAM support Fusion

Cris Moore is online now  
post #197 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 12:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Damn, I forgot to add.

As stupid as this might sound there is a remote possibility RT may handle cable/QAM stuff right now. As long as Zap2It has the right physical stuff and I get it--------------------

If anybody with cable can give it a try and let me know I'd really, really appreciate it.

TYVM!

Chris, I'm looking into the File Type stuff as we type and have no problem with priorities.
Fusion, Fusion, Fusion!
AllenDB is offline  
post #198 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 12:22 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Allen, are you saying that you already use the MyHD cableco-physical channel mappings for QAM? Otherwise, I think that there's very little chance that RT will find what it needs in the Zap2it data, since that's likely only to have the cableco channel IDs.
TPeterson is offline  
post #199 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 01:08 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post

Allen, are you saying that you already use the MyHD cableco-physical channel mappings for QAM? Otherwise, I think that there's very little chance that RT will find what it needs in the Zap2it data, since that's likely only to have the cableco channel IDs.

OK, lets think this out. First, there's a 90% chance I'm way off base.

On the other hand I can't think how MYHD has any knowledge or need of channel mappings. I think that data is in and comes from TitanTV or whatever. MYHD is TOLD what QAM channel to use to record something off CBS. Channel 115 or whatever. And as I said the service also says this is Vir 2 for CBS. So I'm missing the mapping process concept needed in MYHD.

So, no I don't do any mappings from MYHD. But I do think the providers do tell MYHD what QAM channel to use.

Funny,,, :<))) I don't have cable and I'm spouting off on how it works. But they do tell MYHD what UHF channel to use so thats why I speculate they should have the cable/QAM channel too.

I seemed to have dropped some mail from HDTVINCR with this info. We all wait with great trepidation!!!!!!!!!!!
AllenDB is offline  
post #200 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Allen

I resent the email. I'll attach it here in case you don't get it again.

I think you're way off base on how the QAM stuff is scheduled. If you haven't used QAM in MyHD, you probably don't realize that most cable channel listings have to be remapped by MyHD, so it I believe you HAVE to have some method in your RT to do this or it ain't gonna work.

Anyways, here is the file just in case...

 

QAM Reg Entires.zip 10.6181640625k . file
hdtvincr is offline  
post #201 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 01:24 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
And I've not looked directly at Zap2it's data, but judging from my experience with TitanTV, the difference between QAM and OTA is that the physical channel info is included for the OTA stations but it is not included for the QAM ones. All that TitanTV shows for the QAM stations is the cablecos "channel number" which has nothing whatsoever to do with the actual channel location. For example, the Comcast "channels" for the clear QAM HD stations here are all 70x (where x is between 2 and 9 and is typically equal to the "traditional" OTA VHF assignment for that station--e.g., KTVU-HD [old NTSC channel 2] is on "702") but they're physically on various subchannels of cable channels 79, 111, 116, and 117. However, you'll find no mention of "79" etc. in the TitanTV (or Comcast) listings, because those assignments are "proprietary" and may be changed without notice--or need for any--to Comcast's customers because the STB equipment handles the translation. But, obviously, MyHD and FusionHDTV need to know those physical channels. That's where the MyHD mapping from TitanTVhelper.exe comes into play.
TPeterson is offline  
post #202 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 01:47 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
And I've not looked directly at Zap2it's data,
*************************************
Does somebody, anybody-------------- have a Zap2It account that specifies a cable service?
Can you specify a cable service when setting up Zap2It account?
Lastly, if the above it true could you post the XML file for us to look at?
AllenDB is offline  
post #203 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvincr View Post

Allen

I resent the email. I'll attach it here in case you don't get it again.

I think you're way off base on how the QAM stuff is scheduled. If you haven't used QAM in MyHD, you probably don't realize that most cable channel listings have to be remapped by MyHD, so it I believe you HAVE to have some method in your RT to do this or it ain't gonna work.

Anyways, here is the file just in case...

Got the stuff and looking at it. Do wonder about normal email tho.

You are right in that I don't know anything about QAM. Are QAM channels the channels that cables xmit HD on?

OK, this QAM stuff, this mapping table, I think Terry says the TitanTV helper app does the mapping. Would the user have to manually enter a table into RT? Do you have a user entered mapping table or where did you get it?
AllenDB is offline  
post #204 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 02:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 11,846
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post

Are QAM channels the channels that cables xmit HD on?

OK, this QAM stuff, this mapping table, I think Terry says the TitanTV helper app does the mapping. Would the user have to manually enter a table into RT? Do you have a user entered mapping table or where did you get it?

The user (who has to discover the correspondence empirically or from peers) enters it as part of the first-time reservation setup for that station using TitanTVhelper. Thereafter, it's saved in the MyHD channel list, of which I think Tim sent you an example. QAM is the modulation used on cable channels instead of the 8VSB that's used OTA.
TPeterson is offline  
post #205 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 02:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
hdtvincr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Cedar Rapids, IA
Posts: 1,863
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post

And I've not looked directly at Zap2it's data,
*************************************
Does somebody, anybody-------------- have a Zap2It account that specifies a cable service?
Can you specify a cable service when setting up Zap2It account?
Lastly, if the above it true could you post the XML file for us to look at?

You can go to the zap2it web site and change to a cable listing if you want. WARNING: It requires you to run the --configure option again thru xmltv...

I've looked and Terry is correct. All it will give you is whatever the cableco has defined as that channel . That is almost always not where it is on the actual QAM channels.

MyHD handles it thru Titan by allowingyou to select the proper MyHD channel that you have saved, and then associates any further cable listings for that channel to the one that you pick in MyHD.

What I have done in my app is just to simply get zap2it plain ol regular OTA listings, look at MyHD channels, and allow the user to associate the OTA listing to the MyHD channel.

I just need to throw together a readme and I think I'll be ready to let folks see my app if anyone is interested. Allen and I both were looking for some way to auto schedule and both were excited and went right to work when we discovered the xmltv data. As long as Allen doesn't mind, I will throw a link to mine up later so that we can compare likes/dislikes, etc. I do NOT have a Fusion card though.. Sorry....
hdtvincr is offline  
post #206 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 05:21 PM
Advanced Member
 
jmonier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 665
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by AllenDB View Post

....

The code file size for 6.0 is triple that for VS 2005. ???????

One possibility is that MFC or some other library is statically linked in 6.0 and setup to be used as a DLL under VS 2005. Thus the 6.0 build would include a lot of code that was in the separate DLL under VS 2005. And the VS 2005 build would not work on any machine that did not have the proper DLL(s).
jmonier is offline  
post #207 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 06:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It was pointed out that RT does not support the file/directory names that MYHD did. This version tries to. It more than likely requires two new entries in the ini file. I put them in mine to get the the same results as before and it worked.

The two new options are DirectoryStyle and FileNameStyle. If they don't generate what is expected let me know.

If you don't enter them RT will use the registry settings from MYHD but I don't think the results will be what the user wants.

Keep the previous version in case this one presents any problems. But this has to work to be compatible with various users needs.

Maybe on to Fusion? Fusion or QAM?

 

Record_This.zip 241.2890625k . file
AllenDB is offline  
post #208 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 06:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cris Moore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oregon
Posts: 1,157
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Maybe on to Fusion? Fusion or QAM?

Fusion, Fusion, Fusion.

Cris Moore is online now  
post #209 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 06:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RalphArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Rockville MD
Posts: 2,753
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Vote for QAM from a MyHD MDP130 owner
RalphArch is offline  
post #210 of 2788 Old 01-21-2006, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
AllenDB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kerrville, Texas
Posts: 1,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by hdtvincr View Post

You can go to the zap2it web site and change to a cable listing if you want. WARNING: It requires you to run the --configure option again thru xmltv...

As long as Allen doesn't mind, I will throw a link to mine up later so that we can compare likes/dislikes, etc. I do NOT have a Fusion card though.. Sorry....

No, I think I'll leave my Zap2It setting just like they are.

But no problemo on anything with a GUI. Maybe some day I'll get the hang of it.
AllenDB is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off