360 and MCE PC = playback of HD 1080i .ts's !!!!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
the xbox 360 plays back 1080i transport stream over the network when connected to a MCE pc!

it even played 1080i50hz stuff!!!

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 12:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
that is great news. no way to read the files over the network from an XP PC (or external USB drive?)

DVD's are about movies & people watch them in living rooms, how many people actually use their computer drives to sit and watch movies- Bluray's Andy Parsons
chinch is offline  
post #3 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 02:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Xayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what about mpeg4 (including divx/xvid)?
Xayd is offline  
post #4 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 02:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
jflatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 847
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What about just plain old DVDs?
jflatt is offline  
post #5 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 03:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
i will try those for you guys

be back in a bit...

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #6 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
WiFi-Spy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,298
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 30
it wont read a usb external HD

it wont play my T2 WMVHD disc in the console itself

brb

Tyler Pruitt - Technical Liaison at SpectraCal
WiFi-Spy is offline  
post #7 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 03:25 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
do you have an external HD in FAT32 format? it won't read NTFS.

it should at least be able to read that, as it reads iPod which is FAT32.

DVD's are about movies & people watch them in living rooms, how many people actually use their computer drives to sit and watch movies- Bluray's Andy Parsons
chinch is offline  
post #8 of 33 Old 11-22-2005, 04:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
digiblur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Baton Rouge DMA
Posts: 2,923
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now if it would work with TSReader I would be all over it!!!
digiblur is offline  
post #9 of 33 Old 11-23-2005, 12:41 PM
Member
 
dantenatas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 90
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is HD TS file playback possible on a wireless network?
dantenatas is offline  
post #10 of 33 Old 11-23-2005, 01:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nick_danger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,405
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Now THAT is badass. Thanks for the info! Hopefully there will never be an update that changes that setting...
nick_danger is offline  
post #11 of 33 Old 11-23-2005, 02:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
Xayd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 817
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantenatas View Post

Is HD TS file playback possible on a wireless network?

not reliably. advertised max throughput on wireless is a far cry from sustained throughput.
Xayd is offline  
post #12 of 33 Old 11-28-2005, 06:25 PM
Newbie
 
Cpntrips's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post

the xbox 360 plays back 1080i transport stream over the network when connected to a MCE pc!

it even played 1080i50hz stuff!!!

I have an MCE 2005 pc connected to my xbox360 and wasnt able to play a .TS file.
The .ts files dont show up in my video folder via the mediacenter menu. Do I need to do something special for .ts files. I can only see the WMVHD files in my video folder.
Cpntrips is offline  
post #13 of 33 Old 11-28-2005, 11:13 PM
Member
 
christur's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Rename the file to .mpg and it may work.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This posting is provided "AS IS" with no warranties, and confers no rights.
christur is offline  
post #14 of 33 Old 11-29-2005, 12:10 AM
Newbie
 
Boeiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiFi-Spy View Post

the xbox 360 plays back 1080i transport stream over the network when connected to a MCE pc!

it even played 1080i50hz stuff!!!

Would you mind sharing/telling us how you made this work, and if it also played 720p and 1080p?
I'm installing MCE later on these days, and hoping to have my 360 in on fryday. Meaning to run a few laps with PGR3 and then connect to my notebook and play freakin HD beauty.

We live in good times of digital entertainment :p
Boeiend is offline  
post #15 of 33 Old 11-29-2005, 06:01 AM
AVS Special Member
 
chinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it took about 30 min to get my 360 hooked up w/ MCE last night. I don't use MCE and just installed it over the weekend. i did connect to the MediaCenter PC but had only empty video folders. the 360 is a nice MC extender in that you'd have thought you were using my PC's Media Center. That said, how do you navigate windows explorer and view the contents of shared drives? any help appreciated.

DVD's are about movies & people watch them in living rooms, how many people actually use their computer drives to sit and watch movies- Bluray's Andy Parsons
chinch is offline  
post #16 of 33 Old 11-29-2005, 07:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kendrid's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Lake In The Hills, IL
Posts: 1,521
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
An FYI: I muxed a DVD from multiple VOBs into one single VOB, renamed it to .mpg and streamed it to my 360. The 360 upconvert it to 1080i for my TV.

When playing a DVD in the 360 itself it is 480p and there is no upconversion.

Kevin
Kendrid is offline  
post #17 of 33 Old 11-29-2005, 12:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GrantMeThePower's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Los Angeles Area
Posts: 1,673
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kendrid View Post

An FYI: I muxed a DVD from multiple VOBs into one single VOB, renamed it to .mpg and streamed it to my 360. The 360 upconvert it to 1080i for my TV.

When playing a DVD in the 360 itself it is 480p and there is no upconversion.

Which program did u use to mix the vobs?
GrantMeThePower is offline  
post #18 of 33 Old 02-07-2006, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FourDoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Since I recently started playing with .ts files again, I thought I would update this thread with some info I have found from xbox-scene.

1. The XBOX 360 plays .ts and .tp files just fine. However it will not let you ff or rw when playing back the files. It will however let you do 30second skips. In order to get .ts files to play in MCE/WMP and the 360 you can either rename the files to .mpg or install HDTVPump (http://www.dvbportal.de/projects/hdtvpump/). HDTVPump is basically a plugin that allows the playback of .ts files through WMP which then trickles down to the 360. With HDTVPump you no longer have to rename your .ts files to .mpgs.

2. T2 Extreme 1080p wmv files play great on the XBOX 360 with DRM supported.

Here is what zombie4rave posted:
Quote:


I got the HD version of T2 Extreme Edition working last night through the 360. If anyone has this you 1st need to patch the Interactual player on your pc for Media Player 10. The patch is on the Interactual site. Now you can open and acquire licenses for the HD-WMA files directly through Media Player. Once this is done you can copy over the 4 parts of the movie to your pc's hdd and stream them over to the 360. This is where the files are located on the DVD where X is your DVD drive location.

X:\\common\\win\\lang\\en\ 2x\\esource\\
T2_Part1.wmv 2gb
T2_Part2.wmv 2gb
T2_Part3.wmv 2gb
T2_Part4.wmv ~870mb

- A couple notes on this T2 stuff. First of all, I hate the Interactual player and other 3rd party players like this that install on your system. I popped in the T2 Extreme disk last night (disk 2) and it installed the player on my PC. Then it froze after trying to play the intro menu. I restarted the DVD again and the player worked this time. It then prompted me for a WMP 10 update which I downloade. I shut down IP and install the patch. It fired back up the Interactual player again and froze yet again. So I give up and decide to just copy the 4 .wmv files noted above to my PC at this point. WMP played the files just fine but my I was only getting 2 channel audio out of SPDIF. I monkey around with it some more and find out that I pretty much have to use the analog 5.1 channel output from my sound card to get 5.1 out of T2 Extreme. AC3filter wasn't able to help me here.

However, when I went to the 360 and looked for the shared folder housing the T2 1080p wmv files, I first got 2 little "!" notes on the files. 1 was that the 360 could not produce thumbnails for the files; and 2, when I checked the video file info, it said that I was only authorized to play the file up until 2/11/2006. Now I wonder what will exactly happen if I try to play the T2 wmv files again on the 360 after 2/11/06.

Either way, I am very happy right now with HD content streaming to the 360:

- I have my .dvr-ms files from MCE that records Lost and 24 for my HD-DVR needs.
- I now have my first official wmv high def 1080p movie that I can play on my 1080i set. (which btw supports MS DRM)
- I can play high def .ts files on the 360 (which can be led back to non DRM'd HD content )
FourDoor is offline  
post #19 of 33 Old 02-07-2006, 06:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
Dr. Spankenstein's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 700
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have to add my two pennies...
My experience with renaming VOB files to MPG left much to be desired.The picture quality was very murky and flat-looking. Lots of lost detail. I'm in the process of using DVD-RB to put the video though some post-processing to see if it helps.
If you folks think it looks better than the source material you ripped it from, let me know what you did.

Bryan
Dr. Spankenstein is offline  
post #20 of 33 Old 03-18-2006, 06:22 AM
Member
 
ryanvb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It seems to me like 1080i/p media files that are streamed through MCE to the 360 are downscaled to 720 lines on the 360, and are then upscaled back to 1080i. It is commonly known that games run at 720p and are upscaled to 1080i, if that is your chosen resolution, and I'm really getting the impression that the media center extender feature does the same thing. Does anyone else agree?

I just watched the Matrix (1080i DD5.1) on my 1080p Toshiba DLP, and the resolution just didn't seem to be even close to as high as running straight from my computer at 1920x1080.
ryanvb is offline  
post #21 of 33 Old 11-11-2006, 09:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FourDoor View Post

2. T2 Extreme 1080p wmv files play great on the XBOX 360 with DRM supported.

It then prompted me for a WMP 10 update which I downloade. I shut down IP and install the patch.
Either way, I am very happy right now with HD content streaming to the 360:

- I have my .dvr-ms files from MCE that records Lost and 24 for my HD-DVR needs.
- I now have my first official wmv high def 1080p movie that I can play on my 1080i set. (which btw supports MS DRM)
- I can play high def .ts files on the 360 (which can be led back to non DRM'd HD content )

Where do you find the patch for IP? I have the files copied, and I see them on the 360. But when I try to play them, it says " you can't stream protected files? Can you lend a hand?

I love my HT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #22 of 33 Old 11-11-2006, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Never mind the PM. I found it! http://download.interactual.com/patc...20/t2patch.exe

I love my HT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #23 of 33 Old 11-11-2006, 10:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Darn. It still says "You can't access protected content on your PC" I'm using WMP 11 to stream. I don't have WMCE, I have XP Pro. Anyone know how to get this T2 HD streaming?

I love my HT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #24 of 33 Old 11-12-2006, 04:33 PM
Senior Member
 
curtisb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 327
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Not sure of how to enable the streaming but you could use the fairuse4wmv from doom9 (if it is still posted there) to not have to deal with the activation of the movie again. It isn't very responsive when streaming but it works.

For streaming other file types (other than WMV) you still have to use the real time transcoder. I forget the name of that program but you could find the methods on thegreenbutton.
curtisb is offline  
post #25 of 33 Old 11-12-2006, 10:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
FourDoor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: CA
Posts: 1,583
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
cnickersonjr: The last time I tried to play the T2 WMV HD files was a few months ago. There's a thread either here or in the 360 forum which basically said that there were problems renewing the licenses for the wmv video files. So I haven't been able to replay them either on my HTPC or 360 for several months now.

I would try fairuse4wmv if you want to stream T2 in 1080p. I haven't tried it myself personally but thats where my bet is to get the files streaming on the 360 again.
FourDoor is offline  
post #26 of 33 Old 11-22-2006, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sethk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 1,285
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will it play ts files off a Vista box (such as Vista Home Premium, which should have all of MCE's features)?
sethk is offline  
post #27 of 33 Old 11-23-2006, 07:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cnickersonjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Missouri City, Texas (Next door to SUGARLAND)
Posts: 3,031
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FourDoor View Post

cnickersonjr: The last time I tried to play the T2 WMV HD files was a few months ago. There's a thread either here or in the 360 forum which basically said that there were problems renewing the licenses for the wmv video files. So I haven't been able to replay them either on my HTPC or 360 for several months now.

I would try fairuse4wmv if you want to stream T2 in 1080p. I haven't tried it myself personally but thats where my bet is to get the files streaming on the 360 again.

Anyone have a link to this "Fairuse4wmv"? I did a search but couldn't come up with anything.

I love my HT


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
/
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
cnickersonjr is offline  
post #28 of 33 Old 01-09-2007, 02:16 PM
 
AJP69's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Manhattan, KS
Posts: 204
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xayd View Post

what about mpeg4 (including divx/xvid)?

If you install transcode 360 you can.
AJP69 is offline  
post #29 of 33 Old 02-19-2007, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Schiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,184
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Anyone have step by step instructions on how to play T2 WMVHD on the Xbox360?
I have the license, I can play the individual files on my PC, I'm using WMP 11 with a share for Xbox 360, the 360 sees the files, but I get protected content error messages.

Is there a trick to getting it to work?
Do you have to share it on the DVD itself?
I can't find the fairuse4wmv file anywhere.
Doug Schiller is offline  
post #30 of 33 Old 02-19-2007, 07:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NJ
Posts: 2,038
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doug Schiller View Post

Anyone have step by step instructions on how to play T2 WMVHD on the Xbox360?
I have the license, I can play the individual files on my PC, I'm using WMP 11 with a share for Xbox 360, the 360 sees the files, but I get protected content error messages.

Is there a trick to getting it to work?
Do you have to share it on the DVD itself?
I can't find the fairuse4wmv file anywhere.

i'm pretty certain amir said you can't play the protected ones from 360.

it's safe to assume anyone getting it to work has the drm-stripped copy floating around

DVD's are about movies & people watch them in living rooms, how many people actually use their computer drives to sit and watch movies- Bluray's Andy Parsons
chinch is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off