Has anybody used the Instant HDTV PCI (PTV-380-EF)? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 01-02-2006, 07:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Al_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Malta, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just started looking for OTA HDTV tuner cards for a PC and came across a few reviews for the ADS Tech Instant HDTV PCI card. The reviews appear to be more like press releases then reviews of the product.

Has anybody used one?
How well does it work?

Would I be better off getting a MyHD MDP-130 for a few dollars more?

Any other cards I should think about?
My computer is running an
AMP Athlon 2800+, 2.08 GHz, with 512MB or RAM.

Or am I wasting my time with this configuration and trying to get HDTV on my PC?

Thanks
Al E
Al_E is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 01-23-2006, 08:06 PM
Senior Member
 
hiperco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: "Greater Binghamton Area"
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
^BUMP^, I'm wondering the same thing...
hiperco is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 02-02-2006, 05:28 AM
Senior Member
 
SlackerX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 413
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have ordered one and will hopefully be able to post a review of this card from ADS within the next week. Here's a link for the product on the ADS website: http://www.adstech.com/products/PTV-...pid=PTV-380-EF

The card looks promising. I will be using it on an AMD Opteron machine in an MCE environment along with a Sapphire Theatrix (ATI Theater 550 chip) card. I have digital cable as well as an OTA antenna so I'll test for analog and digital, plus possible multiple mode tuner, capabilities in MCE as suggested by the specs.
SlackerX is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 02-02-2006, 07:48 AM
Senior Member
 
hiperco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: "Greater Binghamton Area"
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Does this card "count" as a tuner as far as MCE is concerned? (I don't think so, but it would be great if this is the only card you need to have in your MCE system. Its so stupid that MS won't let you have an HDTV tuner without an additional tuner... :mad: )
hiperco is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 02-02-2006, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Al_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Malta, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerX
I have ordered one and will hopefully be able to post a review of this card from ADS within the next week. Here's a link for the product on the ADS website: http://www.adstech.com/products/PTV-...pid=PTV-380-EF

The card looks promising. I will be using it on an AMD Opteron machine in an MCE environment along with a Sapphire Theatrix (ATI Theater 550 chip) card. I have digital cable as well as an OTA antenna so I'll test for analog and digital, plus possible multiple mode tuner, capabilities in MCE as suggested by the specs.
SlackerX
Thanks for the information so far, I will keep wathing the thread to see what the review says.

Al E
Al_E is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 02-02-2006, 11:29 AM
Member
 
deeseeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know which tuner this card is using? Is it a "5th generation" tuner claimed by some other products?
deeseeel is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 02-04-2006, 07:15 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Al_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Malta, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
deeseeel
There deosnt' seem to be a lot of information on this card.
I thought I found a good price for one on ebay of $89 but the guy wanted $20 for shipping and would not allow local pickup, even though I think I lived with in 50 miles of his location.

Al E
Al_E is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 02-04-2006, 07:34 AM
Member
 
hamltnh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manassas, VA
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al_E
I have just started looking for OTA HDTV tuner cards for a PC and came across a few reviews for the ADS Tech Instant HDTV PCI card. The reviews appear to be more like press releases then reviews of the product.

Has anybody used one?
How well does it work?

Would I be better off getting a MyHD MDP-130 for a few dollars more?

Any other cards I should think about?
My computer is running an
AMP Athlon 2800+, 2.08 GHz, with 512MB or RAM.

Or am I wasting my time with this configuration and trying to get HDTV on my PC?

Thanks
Al E
I just bought the ADS InstantHDTV PCI card and have been playing with it for the last few days. In terms of tuning ability, it is equal to my DirecTV H20 for the HD OTA stations in the DC area. What I haven't settled on is the front-end SW--the card comes bundled with BeyondTV Express, but the upgrade to BeyondTV Ver. 4 is another $50, so I'm debating going that route vs. MCE, vs. some other front-end. In terms of the card and OTA HD, so far so good.
hamltnh is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 02-04-2006, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
CityK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeseeel
Anyone know which tuner this card is using?
Its using the same Philips frontend as the MIT MyHD MDP-130, ATI HDTV Wonder, Twinhan/Fujiplus FD-3250, and Kworld ATSC-110

Quote:
Is it a "5th generation" tuner claimed by some other products?
Generation claims are specific only to a maufacturer's products, as opposed to an acknowledged industry wide generation level for receivers.

The reference to "5th gen" is to the LG DT3303 demodulator....it happens to be the fifth geration of demodulator products for the N.A & Korean userspace that LG has manufactured.

The Philips frontend employed in the list of cards mentioned above makes use of the ATI Nxt2004 demodulator .... which happens to be ATI/Nxtwave's 3rd generation of demodulator products for the N.A & Korean userspace.
CityK is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 02-05-2006, 01:39 PM
Newbie
 
cjes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've ordered the ADS instant HDTV tuner card, noticed in the spes. it called for windows XP home or pro with SP2 , my XP pro is SP1 , Will I need to install SP2 , and what happens if I don't ???
cjes is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 02-06-2006, 10:56 PM
Member
 
deeseeel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CityK
Generation claims are specific only to a maufacturer's products, as opposed to an acknowledged industry wide generation level for receivers.

The reference to "5th gen" is to the LG DT3303 demodulator....it happens to be the fifth geration of demodulator products for the N.A & Korean userspace that LG has manufactured.

The Philips frontend employed in the list of cards mentioned above makes use of the ATI Nxt2004 demodulator .... which happens to be ATI/Nxtwave's 3rd generation of demodulator products for the N.A & Korean userspace.
Thanks for the clarification.

I noticed your posting that lists all the tuners and the chip they use. That's very useful since I've noticed different reception/tuning ability for different cards.

Any plans to put that in the post or to make a chart/table of the different cards and chips?
deeseeel is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 02-18-2006, 01:25 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Al_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Malta, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlackerX
I have ordered one and will hopefully be able to post a review of this card from ADS within the next week. Here's a link for the product on the ADS website: http://www.adstech.com/products/PTV-...pid=PTV-380-EF

The card looks promising. I will be using it on an AMD Opteron machine in an MCE environment along with a Sapphire Theatrix (ATI Theater 550 chip) card. I have digital cable as well as an OTA antenna so I'll test for analog and digital, plus possible multiple mode tuner, capabilities in MCE as suggested by the specs.
SlackerX
Just wondering if you ever managed to get this card to work?

Thanks
Al E
Al_E is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 02-18-2006, 08:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
CityK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by deeseeel
Any plans to put that in the post or to make a chart/table of the different cards and chips?
Sorry, I had seen your post originally but I guess I somehow managed to forget/miss to respond. In answer, I currently have no plans.
CityK is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 02-22-2006, 05:15 PM
Member
 
gabb7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just got this card yesterday and I've had no success to make it work in my mythtv box.
I'll probably have to take it back.
with the latest kernel I compiled (2.6.16-rc4) the drivers doesn't recognise the tuner so I can't use it.
---

Linux video capture interface: v1.00
saa7130/34: v4l2 driver version 0.2.14 loaded
ACPI: PCI Interrupt Link [LNK4] enabled at IRQ 3
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:07.0[A] -> Link [LNK4] -> GSI 3 (level, low) -> IRQ 3
saa7133[0]: found at 0000:02:07.0, rev: 16, irq: 3, latency: 32, mmio: 0xeb005000
saa7133[0]: subsystem: 1421:0380, board: UNKNOWN/GENERIC [card=0,autodetected]
saa7133[0]: board init: gpio is 400000
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 00: 21 14 80 03 54 20 1c 00 43 43 a9 1c 55 d2 b2 92
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 10: 00 ff 82 0f ff 20 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 20: 01 40 01 02 02 ff 01 04 08 ff 00 fe ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 30: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 40: ff 18 00 c0 86 00 ff 00 00 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 50: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 60: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 70: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
saa7133[0]: registered device vbi0
gabb7 is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 02-22-2006, 06:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
CityK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
gabb7,

There is no driver for it currently. However, with a bit of moddification to the Kworld ATSC-110 driver code (whose development is being spearheaded by AVS forum member "boilerbots"), you should be able to get the card working for the most part.

See the Linux-dvb mailing list for help ... sources can be found in the mercurial repository.
CityK is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 02-22-2006, 10:06 PM
Member
 
gabb7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
unfortunately there's no search function on the linux-dvb mailing list. I compiled the latest snapshot from mercurial but it doesn't load right in my kernel. I'll have to go trough the mailing list archives again...
gabb7 is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 02-23-2006, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
CityK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by gabb7
unfortunately there's no search function on the linux-dvb mailing list.
You can use a google site search
Quote:
I'll have to go trough the mailing list archives again...
Shouldn't be hard to find. There are a number of Kworld posts in Feb. Also note that the development discussions spilled across the v4l mailing list...Actually the whole thing started on v4l in December.

Quote:
I compiled the latest snapshot from mercurial but it doesn't load right in my kernel.
You should mention that to the maintainers.

Anyways, to get support for your card, you'll want to look at
saa7134-cards.c
saa7134-dvb.c
saa7134.h

And a couple of the dependencies (which may or may not require any changes to them):
tda9887.ko
tuners.ko
dvb-pll.ko
nxt200x.ko

You'll also require the firmware for the nxt2004 and make sure its in the correct location (/lib/something or other).
CityK is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 02-23-2006, 04:33 PM
Member
 
gabb7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
checked out the latest tree from http://linuxtv.org/hg/~mkrufky/v4l-dvb

had to change the PCI ids in saa7134-cards.c (the right ones for the ADS card are 1421:0380)
recompiled the modules, reloaded (with modprobe -f otherwise it would complain for unkown symbol something)

reloading the modules sees the card right (from what I can tell), I'll just have to wait 'till I get home and see if it really works.

----
ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:02:07.0[A] -> Link [APC4] -> GSI 19 (level, low) -> IRQ 209
saa7133[0]: found at 0000:02:07.0, rev: 16, irq: 209, latency: 32, mmio: 0xeb005000
saa7133[0]: subsystem: 1421:0380, board: Kworld ATSC110 [card=90,autodetected]
saa7133[0]: board init: gpio is 400000
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 00: 21 14 80 03 54 20 1c 00 43 43 a9 1c 55 d2 b2 92
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 10: 00 ff 82 0f ff 20 ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 20: 01 40 01 02 02 ff 01 04 08 ff 00 fe ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 30: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 40: ff 18 00 c0 86 00 ff 00 00 00 ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 50: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 60: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
saa7133[0]: i2c eeprom 70: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
tuner 2-0061: chip found @ 0xc2 (saa7133[0])
tuner 2-0061: type set to 68 (Philips TUV1236D ATSC/NTSC dual in)
saa7133[0]: registered device video0 [v4l2]
saa7133[0]: registered device vbi0
saa7134_dvb: no version magic, tainting kernel.
nxt200x: NXT2004 Detected
DVB: registering new adapter (saa7133[0]).
DVB: registering frontend 0 (Nextwave NXT200X VSB/QAM frontend)...
gabb7 is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 02-24-2006, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Al_E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Malta, IL
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ended up ordering a card.
It took a couple of tries to get it installed and then I had to try to figure out how to get it configured.
I only have a very cheap set top indoor "Recoton" antenna. With it I was able to get two local stations to tune in. The signal strength was pretty low so the picture and sound went in and out.
I have an outdoor antenna that I need to run coax from to the computer and I am hoping that will give better signal strength.
AntennaWeb gives a distance of 29.5 miles from my address to the nearest stations.
Al_E is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 03-03-2006, 11:29 AM
Member
 
xxiangg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Currently, I have an ATI HDTV wonder. I have also tried Kworld 110 and
InstantHDTV in the past.

ATI HDTV has the best reception abilities. I used an indoor antenna with an
amplifier, living in 20 miles south of SanFransisco. For the same antenna and
the same station. ATI HDTV wonder signal meter is +90. InstantHDTV is +80.
And Kworld is only +60. Using BeyondTV, ATI shown about 7~8 stations is
good enough for recording. InstantHDTV shown about the same number of
stations to be good. But Kworld shown only 2 stations are good enough for
recording.

Pros:
ATI: Very good reception ability. ATI MMC can directly generate DVD/MPG2.
Works with WatchHDTV(very good free software).
InstantHDTV: Good reception ability. Very low CPU load when recording in
.ps using BeyondTV.
Kworld: Inexpensive. Very low CPU load when recording in .sp using BeyondTV.
Heard recently that WatchHDTV recent release support this card.

Cons:
AIT: High CPU load in recording. Because I did not find how to do recording in
background. I did not find how to record in .ps or .ts using its software.
InstantHDTV: No support for WatchHDTV.
Kworld: Poor reception ability.

All three cards are relatively stable. I do not remember there were many crashes.

As for ATI, I have a problem for continue recording for a long period (+3hours).
For last weekend Winter Olympic show, I got some bad frames in the recording
about 3 hours. For SD program, ATI works OK for long recording. I have tried
6hours recording and had no problem. I do not know how the other two cards
behave for long recording.
xxiangg is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 03-04-2006, 06:43 PM
Member
 
gjones6794's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingwood, Tx
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have the Kworld card running with beyond tv4.1 in kingwood, tx. I have a silver sensor (indoor antenna ) sitting in my 2nd floor window pointing toward the Houston towers (40 miles away). Signal strenght Hi def is 98 for abc, cbs, nbc, upn, wb, trinity, and 2 spanish stations. I am using Windows xp home. I really like the card and the Beyond TV software for Hi Def. Analog cable is not so good. The sound is out of sync by 2 seconds or so and echos. Oh well, great intro into Hi Def TV.

Nobody Gets Everything
gjones6794 is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 03-07-2006, 11:34 AM
Senior Member
 
anderdea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: E. Hampton, CT
Posts: 439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased the ADS Instant HDTV in the middle of January and fror that time until about two weeks ago logged a enormous amount of time trying to get it to work properly. I have a Athelon 64 3400+ CPU, 1 GIG of dual channel ram, Windows XP SP 2 and a ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 256 MB ram video card. I even sent back and replaced the tuner card. I must add here that I was only using it for my local OTA channels. ADS Tuner Card with SnapStream Beyond TV software.

At first I couldn't get any video or audio at all although the setup would detect all my OTA channels with a high reseption level. On second card (first was OK, it was a software issue) I was finally able to get audio and video by changing the video renderer form Overlay to 3D accelleration and using my WinDVD codec. I wasn't ever able to get anything at all to work with Overlay. When I finally got it to work the video was very jittery. If you look on the Beyond TV forum, you'll find that this is a big issue for a lot of people with the BTV software. The card may have been OK but I couldn't really tell because of the software issues. You also need a pretty hefty processor to get this thing to work.

My observations:
- Because it's fairly new, ADS wasn't much of a help.
- They kept referring me back to Snap Stream the maker of the Beyond TV front end software for the card. Althogh I must admit, one very knowledgable Tech did resolve the Overlay problem. that finally got me audio and video.
- The bad news is that Snap Stream has email only tech support and the turn around time at it's best was 4 days. Very frustrating. Very unproffessional and I will never use any of their products again. I even tried the trilal version 4.0 of BTV. The one that comes with the ADS is the Express 3.8 version. No difference!
- The mapping of the HD OTA channels to the BTV software was very confusing. Instead of using the digital channels like 61.1, 61.2, 3.1, 3.2 etc it used a generic 5 digit number. This is what came up in the channel guide (which by the way was the only way you could select a channel) and if you didn't know the TV stations call letters, it was difficult to determine what channel you were selecting.


I sent it back for a refund and purchased a FUSION GOLD 5 card and haven't looked back since. The FUSION card works great.

Don
-
anderdea is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 03-07-2006, 03:29 PM
Member
 
gjones6794's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Kingwood, Tx
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I looked at the fusion card and it looks pretty good. I'll have to give it a try.

Nobody Gets Everything
gjones6794 is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 03-08-2006, 05:12 PM
Newbie
 
garthj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I plugged in an Ads Instant HDTV in my MCE 2005 box and have no complaints, I got it after returning the ATI board.
I have not tried the software or the remote that came with it.
garthj is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off