Hiper Media Center case - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Video Components > Home Theater Computers > Hiper Media Center case

Home Theater Computers

galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
09:45 AM Liked: 12
post #1 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
http://www.hipergroup.com/English/products/media.html

Is it possible to get one in the US? I only see UK and European resellers.

Help greatly appreciated.
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
01:15 PM Liked: 10
post #2 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
wow first time I saw someone ask about hiper in AVS... I'm getting one very soon. Will post pics when I receive it. But as far as I know they dont have reselers in the US. I had to source mine from Australia. UK distributors are not allowed to sell outside the UK.

They sent me pics the latest models of the hiper case... its sooooooo beautiful!

heres a link
http://www.coolersystem.fr/cebit2006.htm
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
01:54 PM Liked: 12
post #3 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpadua View Post

wow first time I saw someone ask about hiper in AVS... I'm getting one very soon. Will post pics when I receive it. But as far as I know they dont have reselers in the US. I had to source mine from Australia. UK distributors are not allowed to sell outside the UK.

They sent me pics the latest models of the hiper case... its sooooooo beautiful!

heres a link
http://www.coolersystem.fr/cebit2006.htm


Very nice. Is there a way to get one from Australia?
c1courtney's Avatar c1courtney
01:57 PM Liked: 10
post #4 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Jul 2004
Austria not Australia
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
03:00 PM Liked: 10
post #5 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
Australia they could ship it... but my contact is just getting it from me... arenapc.com.au check it out.
c1courtney's Avatar c1courtney
03:15 PM Liked: 10
post #6 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 1,734
Joined: Jul 2004
Ok, I did find a number of Austrian resellers but not any Australian so I assumed incorrectly that it was a Typo/Brain Fart whatever that many people make wrt Austria.

CCourtney
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
05:13 PM Liked: 12
post #7 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Austria,Australia, who cares . As long as I get my case


Why, oh why british resellers are not allowed to sell outside UK? I thought we had free trade world etc. Imagine chinese resellers not to be able to sell outside of China.

Any people from Great Britain willng to help me out here in colonies? Wait, California never was a colony...

jpadua, thanks for the info.
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
08:59 PM Liked: 12
post #8 of 579
03-15-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
So..no one from Great Britain is going to help poor boy from SF?
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
03:58 AM Liked: 10
post #9 of 579
03-18-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
here's a clearer picture of the new case


Anyway I'll be getting the old case for now... it might arrive om 2 weeks or so...I'll take pics of my installation when I get it.

I'll be using the following hardware:

Mobo: DFI RS482 Infinity
VGA/DVI/S-Vid/Component/SPDIF/Firewire/Gigabit Lan all on the back I/O port!
Athlon64 3500+
250GB Sata Drive
Dual Channel 1GB Geil Value
Panasonic Slimline DVDRW slot load
Hardware MPEG2 Tuner card

I'm guessing the 200w PSU of the hiper case can handle this load.

This will be perfect for a simple PVR and DVD Player and the occasional HD clips (if the onboard GPU x300 can handle it)

According to reviews, the DFI RS482's GPU can go from the default 300mhz to 500mhz without any heating issues! The gpu is not limited to the amount of ram you have on board contrary to 6150s (GPU performance is dependent on amount of Ram)

As for the CPU heatsink, I think it can be modded to fit a 120mm fan but I'll have to experiment with that.


I'll also probably clockdown that 3500+ to 3000+ level to lower the heat since the heatsink is a 1U Opteron cooler.
Thats all you need!



Jay
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
04:06 AM Liked: 10
post #10 of 579
03-18-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

So..no one from Great Britain is going to help poor boy from SF?

Try www.arenapc.com.au they might be able to ship from Australia to SF.... Cause they are shipping my case from Australia to the Philippines.

Oh, FYI the prices on arenaPC are in Australian Dollars.
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
07:49 PM Liked: 12
post #11 of 579
03-22-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
jpadua,

Thanks a lot for all your help.

No British friends had offered a helping hand.

I got in touch with arenapc folks and they succesfully charged my credit card..

They quoted me everything in USD, very convenient

Little bit on the expensive side, but as my wife says: "desire is worse than pain".

They should be able to take advantage of us, since we don't have any vendor in the USA.

So I should be getting it soon.



MB is ready:
Asus P4P800-VM

CPU is ready :
Intel 2.4 Northwood 533FSB (I am an Intel guy. Intel offered me a job at some point. I politely declined, but still have warm feelings about the people who offer me a job. Never happened with AMD).

HDD is ready
Seagate 300GB 16MB cache

HSF is ready:
Spire 9R272B1H3 RackSper lll All copper heatsink low profile 1U Rackmount
For Socket 478 Cooling. This guy is flat.
( let me know if there is a way to put 120 mm fan with the corresponding heatsink, I was not able to find any to fit. My favorite is Zalman, but it won't make it into this case).

Video card is ready:
ATI Radeon 9600 AGP non-SE 128 MB passive heatsink.

DVD is ready.
Pioneer DVR-K05 ("might" change it to simple Dell DVD, I don't need to use it as a burner)

RAM is ready.
Corsair value PC3200 2x512MB

19" LCD is ready.
Acer whatshisnumber

USB 802.11g adapter is ready.

Only the case, please!

My total for everything, 19" LCD included, should be around $700.

As of PSU reqs, I posted link to the online PSU calculator somewhere on this forum. You might want to check it out. Wait, it's right here: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/index.jsp
I am getting 182W for 100% utilization, I "might" be able to run ffdshow on this system.

I'll let you know how it ends and maybe post some pictures if people from the Fifth Continent will keep their promise.
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
09:53 AM Liked: 10
post #12 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
Hi Galileo, ArenaPC has already setup my order as well, it should be arriving this week! I also have all my components ready:

DFI RS482 Infinity
Panasonic Slimline Slotload DVD-RW
Coolermaster 1U A64 Cooler
A64 3500+
Seagate 250GB SATA
RAM 1GB 2x512 Dual Channel Geil Value

Let me know how your build goes, I was a bit weary of goin intel because of the heat so I stuck with an Athlon64.

I want to try to hook up a 120mm fan to the Heatsink. I found a 25mm high 120mm fan on Directron.com if you'd like to try that out. I dont have access to it though since I am in ASIA bummer.

I'll also post pics of my build and report on issues and stuff.

Another hiper case owner (Alex thanks for the info) emailed me, he is using an A64 3500+ using the coolermaster heatsink but with the standard A64 fan and still hits 60 degrees on load.... Heat will be an issue, but I'm willing to experiment to get the heat managed.

Some things to try is to invert the fan, and make it an exhaust fan since the CPU is right underneath the exhaust grill of the case cover... the heat issue is within the case, so blowing the air out might get better cooling.

I'm excited to receive the case though!
IVB's Avatar IVB
10:57 AM Liked: 17
post #13 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 5,325
Joined: Sep 2003
g2k: your total is $700? Does that include that sexy case?
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
12:10 PM Liked: 12
post #14 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVB View Post

g2k: your total is $700? Does that include that sexy case?

Right now it is close to $800 (bought the speakers, remember? and DVD-ROM instead of Pioneer K05), but yes, it does include the case
IVB's Avatar IVB
12:26 PM Liked: 17
post #15 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 5,325
Joined: Sep 2003
Holy cow. Can you either post or PM me the price for that case? That might be just the thing for my MBR htpc client; last PC i had in there was the dVine3, which i thought was sexy looking. But it was a huge monster, and loud/hot to match.

I'm sure you understand - the next one must be barely noticeable. [to go with the barely noticeable or exotic looking speakers ]
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
12:31 PM Liked: 12
post #16 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
no problem man. They charged me $110 for the case, $57 for delivery and $3 for currency exchange whatever.

their email is sales@arenapc.com.au. I've dealt with the guy named Darren.

Keep in mind it is not the same case jpadua put a picture in this thread, it is their previous model - no fancy LCD etc.

I'll post some pictures when it arrives. I believe assembly will be a challenge, but I like challenges.

Also, if you are going to go with Intel, I think the HSF I got is the best because of its size. Fan is loud, but I connected Zalman Fanmate to the fan and now it is absolutely quiet. Everything has been assembled w/o case and CPU temp is around 28C idle.

Keep in mind that you most probably will be able to fit just one card in. So either your mobo has to have audio integrated or your video card has to have audio (such as ATI AIW etc.)

Good luck!!
madpoet's Avatar madpoet
06:33 PM Liked: 10
post #17 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 14,003
Joined: Nov 2002
Sweet case, IVB linked it on CQC. I'm very interested but I need to know the noise level. Looking forward to your reviews.
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
07:24 PM Liked: 12
post #18 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

Sweet case, IVB linked it on CQC. I'm very interested but I need to know the noise level. Looking forward to your reviews.


madpoet,

Noise WILL NOT be tolerated in bedroom HTPC (you guys who have a permanent partner to share the bedroom must know what I mean. I keep my fingers crossed).

I'll let you know.
IVB's Avatar IVB
09:06 PM Liked: 17
post #19 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 5,325
Joined: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by galileo2000 View Post

madpoet,

Noise WILL NOT be tolerated in bedroom HTPC (you guys who have a permanent partner to share the bedroom must know what I mean. I keep my fingers crossed).

I'll let you know.

Please don't - i have a hard enough time holding back on all the stuff I'm drooling over already, if you tell me this works as a MBR HTPC, i'd have to buy one immediately...
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
09:43 PM Liked: 12
post #20 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by IVB View Post

Please don't - i have a hard enough time holding back on all the stuff I'm drooling over already, if you tell me this works as a MBR HTPC, i'd have to buy one immediately...

IVB,

You are DESTINED to have Hiper computer as your MBR HTPC client...Live with this and be ready to part with some of your hard-earned money .

It was impossible to resist for me.

Or, you can always buy Mac mini...You might be able to run XP on it too..
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
10:20 PM Liked: 10
post #21 of 579
03-26-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
oooh yeah, hard to resist drooling over this case for months! no retailer so I got one in ArenaPC in Australia!!! heheh... had to go through hoops to find Darren.... Hiper recommended a retailer to me who recommended arenapc hehhe. Nice folks overthere. If this case is a hit in th US they will definately make a lot of US customers happy. As well as people outside the UK (like myself)

Ive got a problem though I noticed with my mobo, the RS482, the P4 connector is way over at the end... I dont think the cable would reach... now I need to find an extender.... bummer....
blue_z's Avatar blue_z
12:23 AM Liked: 18
post #22 of 579
03-27-2006 | Posts: 1,031
Joined: Feb 2006
Hi galileo2000
Were you able to confirm that the Hiper's PSU will accept 120v and is UL approved?

(I looked at a few of the Hiper PSUs on their web site and all were 220v only.)
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
12:50 PM Liked: 12
post #23 of 579
03-27-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by blue_z View Post

Hi galileo2000
Were you able to confirm that the Hiper's PSU will accept 120v and is UL approved?

(I looked at a few of the Hiper PSUs on their web site and all were 220v only.)

PSU specs show 100-240 V, 6 A.
madpoet's Avatar madpoet
01:44 PM Liked: 10
post #24 of 579
03-27-2006 | Posts: 14,003
Joined: Nov 2002
Hopefully it holds up well. Any list of the differences between the old and new version? I could care less about the LCD.
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
10:02 PM Liked: 12
post #25 of 579
03-27-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
I believe new version also includes remote.

But I've already managed to work MCE remote on this thing, without MCE installed. Not all the functions are available, but up/down/left/right/OK-doubleclick work fine. Good enough for now.

And yes, I can turn it on and off to S3 by pushing the "Power" button on the remote.

They have delayed my order, and it did not ship yet. They do not include AGP riser card, instead they included PCI riser card because of the delay in shipping. Every review I've red mentioned that AGP riser was included. Oh well, eBay is my friend for this.

Stay tuned...

Now, should I put in "regular" Radeon 9600 128MB or AIW 2006 Radeon 9600 256 MB, both with the passive cooling ? Suggestions are appreciated.
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
11:25 PM Liked: 10
post #26 of 579
03-27-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
My case was delayed also, but its my fault heheh I told them to hold it first till they get that P4 extension cable, it should ship by thursday though.
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
12:33 AM Liked: 10
post #27 of 579
03-28-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
This might be a crazy Idea, but can a GPU cooler say the Zalman vf900 be sufficient to cool an Athlon64 Processor?



It measures only 30mm tall and 96mm wide... an a64 retention bracket is a roughly 96mm also.



Looking at the Zalman VF900 its a heatpipe cooler with a 92mm fan but it looks short enough to fit in the hiper case. I'm wondering if there could be a mod to attach that to a a64 motherboard? Just a thought.
galileo2000's Avatar galileo2000
09:33 AM Liked: 12
post #28 of 579
03-28-2006 | Posts: 3,816
Joined: Jul 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpadua View Post

This might be a crazy Idea, but can a GPU cooler say the Zalman vf900 be sufficient to cool an Athlon64 Processor?



It measures only 30mm tall and 96mm wide... an a64 retention bracket is a roughly 96mm also.



Looking at the Zalman VF900 its a heatpipe cooler with a 92mm fan but it looks short enough to fit in the hiper case. I'm wondering if there could be a mod to attach that to a a64 motherboard? Just a thought.


It's a great idea and should be sufficient, but I don't see a way to secure HSF on the CPU.
madpoet's Avatar madpoet
10:57 AM Liked: 10
post #29 of 579
03-28-2006 | Posts: 14,003
Joined: Nov 2002
I emailed them but haven't heard back... they might be regretting this
jpadua's Avatar jpadua
01:36 PM Liked: 10
post #30 of 579
03-28-2006 | Posts: 362
Joined: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

I emailed them but haven't heard back... they might be regretting this

emailed Zalman?

maybe the cooler can be attached to the stock retenion bracket with the stock retention clip... I have the clip and the bracket but no VF900 to test it with though... hehehe

If this works then this actually might be better than the standard 1U coolermaster HSF. Uses heatpipes and flower fin too!

Reply Home Theater Computers

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3