Cliff Watson PVR app for HD Homerun, MyHD, and FusionHDTV - Page 144 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews

Forum Jump: 
 12Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4291 of 4302 Old 09-17-2016, 07:30 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
It happens. Not a problem. But make sure that there's only one running in Task Manager's list.

I'm still not at all sure of what's going on. I've seen Windows Update wipe out CW_EPG data from time to time under circumstances that I don't yet have pinned down. The first symptom of that in my cases though is that the Schedules Direct credentials disappear. I've gotten around that by making a copy of the CW_EPG Registry branch* to re-merge it whenever I'm asked to re-log in to S.D. The recovery involves several steps after the re-merge: (1) Run CW_EPG. (2) Open the Options window and then click on Save Settings. (3) Click on Download Data. That should restore all your settings and program data. We're working on a better fix for this problem in the upcoming release (which will also fix the delayed startup in 1607).

One thing to try also that may have an effect is to go to Task Scheduler and delete all the "CWEPG..." tasks there. Then run CW_EPG and click on the Save Settings button on the Automatic Settings tab.

*This is currently at HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\VirtualStore\MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wo w6432Node\CW_EPG on 64-bit Windows, but we'll be moving it out of the VirtualStore branch in the next release. That (I hope) makes this problem vanish.
One thing to try also that may have an effect is to go to Task Scheduler and delete all the "CWEPG..." tasks there. Then run CW_EPG and click on the Save Settings button on the Automatic Settings tab.


That's odd....I don't have a single task relating to CW_epg that I can find...
OK.... opened Automatic Settings and clicked 'Save'... now I've got a task "Performs daily update for CW_EPG scheduling"


Should I have a task for each timed recording to be made, or are shows picked-up elsewhere?

Chris C

Last edited by ccrider2; 09-17-2016 at 07:42 AM.
ccrider2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4292 of 4302 Old 09-17-2016, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccrider2 View Post
I don't have a single task relating to CW_epg that I can find...
OK.... opened Automatic Settings and clicked 'Save'... now I've got a task "Performs daily update for CW_EPG scheduling"


Should I have a task for each timed recording to be made, or are shows picked-up elsewhere?
So now we know why your Auto runs weren't happening. 😀

The scheduled recordings are kicked off via Waketimers (which are visible using powercfg.exe).
TPeterson is offline  
post #4293 of 4302 Old 09-17-2016, 08:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
ccrider2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Indiana
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
So now we know why your Auto runs weren't happening. 😀


Gremlins....


Thanks TP!

Chris C
ccrider2 is offline  
post #4294 of 4302 Old 09-20-2016, 02:57 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Early autumnal equinox 2016 Change?

At 9/19/2016 11:35 PM a folder was created for "Jimmy Kimmel Live", the very first time capture for that program.

No folder was created for "the late show with Stephen Colbert" at 23:30. (Padding)

Other folders for later captures also were not created.

I have closed CW_EPG after setting the folder title to none. (4.3.0.8 Special ".ts" - "tp" version)

After restarting CW_EPG I set the folder option back to title.

Two test cases have created the folders for the captures. (KCSMDT2)

What will happen when PDT goes to PST?

SHF

BTW, I have started keeping Windows Technical Support on line asking for a DVD for Windows 98 SE, this time I got a supervisor and wasted his time.
SFischer1 is offline  
post #4295 of 4302 Old 09-20-2016, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Nani, whether or not a folder is created and what sort of file name a capture gets is determined at the time that the capture is set up. Any changes to the folder/name settings afterward are not transmitted to existing capture reservations. (This is clearly stated in the pop-up notice when you make such changes) If you change your mind about folders, etc., you must delete the reservation and re-enter it.

I anticipate no PST/PDT problems this year, just as last year and the year before that.
TPeterson is offline  
post #4296 of 4302 Old 09-20-2016, 03:41 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
Nani, whether or not a folder is created and what sort of file name a capture gets is determined at the time that the capture is set up. Any changes to the folder/name settings afterward are not transmitted to existing capture reservations. (This is clearly stated in the pop-up notice when you make such changes) If you change your mind about folders, etc., you must delete the reservation and re-enter it.

I anticipate no PST/PDT problems this year, just as last year and the year before that.
Well I have never changed the folder option except on new installs.

Just to be safe I deleted all the scheduled captures and recreated them. (Lost 14:00 - Quincy, M.E.: Snake Eyes Part Two )

SHF
SFischer1 is offline  
post #4297 of 4302 Old 10-24-2016, 06:42 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
ebo, there was a change in the 1607 Win10 release that caused the delay in "searching for tuners". I'll PM you a link to a beta test version that eliminates that problem...and the others too, I hope, but I'm not sure about those.

BTW, thanks for the post letting me know that we're not just wasting our time in making CW_EPG Win10 compatible.
I have also been using CW_EPG for years and have the same problem with Windows 10. Is there a release or fix available for the CW_EPG sometimes fails to find the tuners?
dxr2s is offline  
post #4298 of 4302 Old 10-25-2016, 11:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by dxr2s View Post
I have also been using CW_EPG for years and have the same problem with Windows 10. Is there a release or fix available for the CW_EPG sometimes fails to find the tuners?
Check your PM.
TPeterson is offline  
post #4299 of 4302 Old 10-25-2016, 06:22 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
Check your PM.
I applied the update and CW_EPG now finds the tuners quickly. I'll monitor and provide an update in a few days. Also, the access violation I was seeing periodically at the close of CW_EPG also appears to be fixed. Thank You
dxr2s is offline  
post #4300 of 4302 Old 10-25-2016, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member
 
TPeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: San Carlos, CA
Posts: 12,050
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 212 Post(s)
Liked: 26
You're welcome. Please do let us know of any problems you encounter with the beta.
TPeterson is offline  
post #4301 of 4302 Old 10-28-2016, 11:41 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
SFischer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Sunnyvale, CA 94087
Posts: 2,835
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 446 Post(s)
Liked: 59
KMTP Listings finally corrected

Hi those of you in the San Francisco Bay Area,

I noted a new station in the FreeGuide listings over a month ago.

"KMTP VC 33", Clearly an error and I had a ticket opened with Schedules Direct / Gracenote, Tribune Media Services / Zap2IT.

On Mon Sep 05 14:06:27 2016, xxxxxxxxx@xxxxxxxxxx.xxx wrote:
> I do not know when the unbelievable inept people at KMTP caused a bad
> entry "33-1 KMTPDT" to be made as their VC is 32. It clearly showed
> up as bogus as soon as I saw it.

It was removed and 32-1 added in it's place.

But there was an duplicate entry for 32 remaining, which has finally been removed. I checked using Zap2IT listings when I was told the last problem had been fixed.

http://tvlistings.zap2it.com/tvlisti....do?aid=zap2it

SHF

Last edited by SFischer1; 10-28-2016 at 02:35 PM. Reason: 32 NOT 33 Sorry
SFischer1 is offline  
post #4302 of 4302 Old 11-01-2016, 05:49 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by TPeterson View Post
You're welcome. Please do let us know of any problems you encounter with the beta.
Everything running fine with the Beta release. Thanks again.
TPeterson, ccrider2 and SFischer1 like this.
dxr2s is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off