Any K-lite Codec Pack Users? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 Old 06-18-2006, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
windmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dimly Lit Support Center in NC......
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just refreshed my HTPC OS and am building a Ghost image for backup and future refreshing.

To ease the downloading and installing of all the codecs I need I was thinking about using the K-lite Codec Pack and wanted to see what others thought of it? The only thing I am worried about is it being too many codecs and casuing problems.

Any other HTPC owners use the K-lite Packs?
windmiller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 Old 06-18-2006, 11:21 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Mrkazador's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3,841
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 43 Post(s)
Liked: 250
Why not take the time and download what you need?
Mrkazador is offline  
post #3 of 19 Old 06-18-2006, 11:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Kilgore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Huntsville Ontario
Posts: 2,988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Liked: 171
Stay away from codec packs. Why clog up your system loading codecs you'll never ever use? Just download the ones you need.
Kilgore is offline  
post #4 of 19 Old 06-18-2006, 02:14 PM
Member
 
MentatGom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use the Klite Codec Pack Standard... it basically just uses Media Player Classic and ffdshow to decode everything. Then I additionally use Quicktime & Real alternative.
It proves for a quick and easy setup to watch basically any popular video format.

MentatGom is offline  
post #5 of 19 Old 06-18-2006, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ChrisL01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,451
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It also installs several (dozens!) un-needed filters, I wouldn't assume it "just uses ffdshow", because it doesn't.
ChrisL01 is offline  
post #6 of 19 Old 06-18-2006, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Sergei Esenin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Annette Haven
Posts: 1,518
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChrisL01 View Post

It also installs several (dozens!) un-needed filters, I wouldn't assume it "just uses ffdshow", because it doesn't.

Exactly. If you want to play most things with ffdshow and MPC, just install and configure ffdshow and MPC manually. Codec packs install many unnecessary or redundant filters which can cause conflicts down the road. Install what you need and configure it to work the way you want it to--don't carpet bomb the whole multimedia filter system.

"Via, concursus, tempus, spatium, audi me ut imperio. Screw it! Mighty forces, I suck at Latin, OK? But that's not the issue. I'm the one in charge, and I'm telling you open up, portal, now!"--Willow, *Buffy the Vampire Slayer*
Sergei Esenin is offline  
post #7 of 19 Old 06-19-2006, 09:27 AM
Senior Member
 
Munkee Boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Louisville, Kentucky
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I agree with everyone else. FFDShow will decode pretty much everything you throw at it. If you want to encode something in Divx/Xvid/etc., then just download that individual codec. Steer cleer of codec packs.
Munkee Boy is offline  
post #8 of 19 Old 06-19-2006, 11:04 AM
Member
 
soulstace's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I use k-lite mega codec pack. It installs everything I need in one simple setup application. I personally don't see the point in wasting a bunch of time installing everything individually.. The k-lite codec pack even fixes broken codecs and comes with a bunch of usefull tools. Total pwnage if you ask me!!

With guns this big, who needs bullets..
soulstace is offline  
post #9 of 19 Old 06-20-2006, 07:52 AM
Member
 
diehardii's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

As someone who writes directshow apps, codec packs are the worst thing you can do for media playback. I don't even help people who use my software and have codecpacks installed. Its impossible. Check out one of the stickies at the zoomplayer forums. Blight is very against them also.
diehardii is offline  
post #10 of 19 Old 06-22-2006, 09:35 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
windmiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dimly Lit Support Center in NC......
Posts: 443
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by diehardii View Post

Hi,

As someone who writes directshow apps, codec packs are the worst thing you can do for media playback. I don't even help people who use my software and have codecpacks installed. Its impossible. Check out one of the stickies at the zoomplayer forums. Blight is very against them also.

Thanks for all the reponses, this is exactly what I was wondering about!
windmiller is offline  
post #11 of 19 Old 10-22-2006, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
 
jazjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
The problem is, XVID isnt really available as a stand alone codec insatll package. I'm confused witch pack has the minimal amount of Junk.

My goal is
1) XVID
2) AC3 (clicking to use the volume boost is helpful)
3) MP4 H264 support

If I install KLite, and uncheck the stuff I "think" I dont need, then Media Center refuses to tune live tv. (you get the spinning circle hourglass lockup)

Here is my setup

ASUS Motherboard (latest AMD2)
NVIDIA 6600GT
X-FI Audio
NVidia Dual Tuner
DVICO FUSION 5 gold HDTV Tuner

I have the latest NVidia PureVideo package. I use this, and say NO to the Fusion MCE MPEG2 codec when it asks if I want it. Using PureVideo results in MUCH smoother playback of live HDTV channels.

Once I mess with FFDSHOW or KLITE my system is hosed. I have an acronis true image backup so I can play with several combinations.

What is the best way to get XviD, AC3, and h264 working with my Media Center XP machine?

Mac Mini (Late 2012, Ivy i7-3615QM/Intel HD 4000) Win 8 Pro x64 Media Center, 2 USB Ceton InfiniTV tuners + Companion iPhone App, XBox extender, MyMovies.dk WHS 2011 StableBit DrivePool, TIP: (DISABLE Intel Graphics Control Panel's Dynamic Contrast to prevent 29/59 flicker)
jazjon is offline  
post #12 of 19 Old 10-22-2006, 08:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Cocophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I've had good luck with the CCCP codec pack

CCCP Codec Pack

==Cocophone==
Cocophone is offline  
post #13 of 19 Old 10-22-2006, 08:54 PM
Senior Member
 
jazjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cocophone View Post

I've had good luck with the CCCP codec pack

CCCP Codec Pack

Thanks, I'm not sure if "Luck" is the way I want to go though. Can you add any more details on why this works best for you? Should I look for more talk about CCCP MCE in the forums? I guess I'll just have to try it since I can roll the system back if it fails.

Mac Mini (Late 2012, Ivy i7-3615QM/Intel HD 4000) Win 8 Pro x64 Media Center, 2 USB Ceton InfiniTV tuners + Companion iPhone App, XBox extender, MyMovies.dk WHS 2011 StableBit DrivePool, TIP: (DISABLE Intel Graphics Control Panel's Dynamic Contrast to prevent 29/59 flicker)
jazjon is offline  
post #14 of 19 Old 10-22-2006, 09:04 PM
Senior Member
 
jazjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
KLITE "Basic" seems to work so far. The Basic package is not as up to date as the regular ones are. What is the best site to download KLite Basic?

Mac Mini (Late 2012, Ivy i7-3615QM/Intel HD 4000) Win 8 Pro x64 Media Center, 2 USB Ceton InfiniTV tuners + Companion iPhone App, XBox extender, MyMovies.dk WHS 2011 StableBit DrivePool, TIP: (DISABLE Intel Graphics Control Panel's Dynamic Contrast to prevent 29/59 flicker)
jazjon is offline  
post #15 of 19 Old 10-22-2006, 09:56 PM
Senior Member
 
Cocophone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 345
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I usually play MP4 files using zoomplayer. The CCCP codec pack installer sets it all up. After installing CCCP zoomplayer plays MP4 without problems. I can encode MP4 files with multiple audio tracks and a chapter file and zoomplayer plays the file without any problems. The audio tracks are 5.1 channel AAC.

==Cocophone==
Cocophone is offline  
post #16 of 19 Old 10-22-2006, 10:56 PM
Senior Member
 
jazjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 454
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Maybe I should dump Media Center, and try another HTPC livingroom app. I know I'll want to be on Media Center once Vista is stable enough to use though. (not enough driver support)

Do you use a 10 foot interface application in the livingroom? (or are you 100%
mouse/normal access to your collection)

I havnt tried the newest BeyondTV or Media Portal in awhile.

Mac Mini (Late 2012, Ivy i7-3615QM/Intel HD 4000) Win 8 Pro x64 Media Center, 2 USB Ceton InfiniTV tuners + Companion iPhone App, XBox extender, MyMovies.dk WHS 2011 StableBit DrivePool, TIP: (DISABLE Intel Graphics Control Panel's Dynamic Contrast to prevent 29/59 flicker)
jazjon is offline  
post #17 of 19 Old 10-23-2006, 05:34 AM
Member
 
diehardii's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jazjon View Post

The problem is, XVID isnt really available as a stand alone codec insatll package. I'm confused witch pack has the minimal amount of Junk.

That isn't correct. Every codec comes with a standalone somewhere. If it doesn't, its probably been stolen from the legitimate distributor and placed in the codec pack. I'm pretty sure they aren't asking permission. Anyway, here is a standalone

http://www.koepi.org/xvid.shtml
diehardii is offline  
post #18 of 19 Old 01-01-2007, 08:50 PM
Senior Member
 
mshe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Toronto, ON, Canada
Posts: 302
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see some of you guys are anti-codec pack. You guys probably have NIH syndrone. I had the same feelings when I first tried K-Lite, but after using it for 2 years I highly recommend it to anyone and everyone.

K-Lite works great - K-Lite detects broken filters, installs missing filters, and configures all the filters.

With K-Lite I can play everything without hunting for individual codecs. I haven't noticed any negative effects on my system either.

In anycase, the K-Lite installer is quite flexible, so you can choose every component that gets installed onto your system.

P.S. K-lite comes in 3 editions (basic, standard, mega). I personally use standard.
mshe is offline  
post #19 of 19 Old 01-01-2007, 09:01 PM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by windmiller View Post

To ease the downloading and installing of all the codecs I need I was thinking about using the K-lite Codec Pack and wanted to see what others thought of it?

On behalf of every tech-minded person who's ever had to re-build a friend's windows installation splattered to the four corners of the compass by a codec pack, I would like to say:

ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHH
arfster is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off