AutumnWave / OnAir USB HDTV Tuners - Page 98 - AVS Forum
View Poll Results: Which OnAir tuner do you own?
OnAir GT 196 49.37%
OnAir Creator 37 9.32%
Don't own one yet 164 41.31%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 397. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #2911 of 2959 Old 01-03-2011, 06:02 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiwifatcat View Post

I believe you need to load the Nvidia drivers off of the install disk.

It seems to be working as-is, so I am reluctant to mess with success. I guess if installing something farkles it I could roll back.

Quote:


do you still have the win7 32 bit drivers?, I was able to locate win7 64bit but not the 32bit, or xp dirivers.
would like to get use out of the GT and can't find the 3.2 p3 drivers now that autumnware is gone.


http://landiss.com/share/OnAir/

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2912 of 2959 Old 01-03-2011, 09:15 PM
Newbie
 
kiwifatcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you so much, I have been searching Every site I could find online, and was not able to find these drivers. (everything pointed to the dead Autumnwave site)
kiwifatcat is offline  
post #2913 of 2959 Old 01-05-2011, 10:51 AM
Member
 
damedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello

I know of someone who is going to have an , "Estate Sale", this weekend. The seller has lots of electronics to sell. Among the booty of misc AV stuff, there is an OnAir GT, looks sorta new? Whole lot of stuff for $150.00. Speakers, dvd's & players, lots of vhs tapes, a turntable, I think i saw a receiver or two. All kinds of different computer cards: sound, video and useless modems. and a tangled mess of cables. oh, theres also a couple of old tv's in the mix - again, also useless (unless i put one out in the shop?)

Should I buy this. I don't really have a real need for anything, but I do sort of want a tuner for the 'puter.

Whatcha guys think. Is it wise to still purchase an OnAir GT?

Medic
... if you bite, expect to be bitten back ; )
damedic is offline  
post #2914 of 2959 Old 01-07-2011, 11:15 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by damedic View Post
Should I buy this. I don't really have a real need for anything, but I do sort of want a tuner for the 'puter.

Whatcha guys think. Is it wise to still purchase an OnAir GT?
The OnAir GT is worth $150 by itself, and appears to work fine even in Win 7. (I have only 32-bit, can't tell you for sure about Win 7/64.) Let me know if you find a VHS VCR that can play PAL tapes.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2915 of 2959 Old 01-12-2011, 11:17 PM
Member
 
damedic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The Great Northwest
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I picked up all of the stuff, (got there early ) and the GT was in the box and all of the accessories ?
but no CD for anything - no program, no drivers, no manual, etc.

I kept looking online and did not find anything. Everything kept going to a "Closed" Autumnwave, website?

I then looked here and just above this post I saw the "landiss" website posted by Dan in St. Louis - thanks.

But...

Which program do I need to download? I think I have the correct driver figured out?

I have:
  • The OnAir GT
  • XP OS
  • Asus Laptop

Any help would be appreciated.

btw... no luck on a PAL style VCR. Looked like everything was for here in the states?

Medic
... if you bite, expect to be bitten back ; )
damedic is offline  
post #2916 of 2959 Old 01-13-2011, 03:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by damedic View Post

Which program do I need to download? I think I have the correct driver figured out?

It looks like I am using version 3.2.0.4 driver (GT_Drv3204_beta_2008.zip) on a WinXP laptop. I think it is best to use the same version of program and driver.

Next challenge: Has anyone gotten the OnAir GT and TSReader Lite working on Win 7 (32-bit)?

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2917 of 2959 Old 01-13-2011, 05:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post

Next challenge: Has anyone gotten the OnAir GT and TSReader Lite working on Win 7 (32-bit)?

Partial answer: Using the 320P3 program and 3203 driver, and setting both OnAir and TSReader program compatibilities to WinXP/SP3 and run as administrator; it seems to work. There may be some glitches I have not yet found and the Aero interface goes away while the OnAir viewing program is running (but returns when it is closed). It may turn out to be that some of the above settings may not be necessary, but I will leave that as an exercise for someone else.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2918 of 2959 Old 01-14-2011, 07:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post

I will leave that as an exercise for someone else.

Another interesting experiment would be to try the 03 driver (for TSReader compatibility) with the 04 program (for Aero compatibility). Who is game ?

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2919 of 2959 Old 03-15-2011, 07:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
It would be great to hear of any recent developments in this area -- that is, affordable DTV tuners with good sensitivity, an external antenna connection, and user-friendly control software.

Thank you!

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2920 of 2959 Old 03-28-2011, 10:00 PM
Newbie
 
firedeyeboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
was so disappointed that onair is out of business.

haven't had time to read 98 pages. i found this page (http://landiss.com/share/OnAir/) with a bunch of drivers. anybody use these yet? specifically with windows 7.
firedeyeboy is offline  
post #2921 of 2959 Old 03-29-2011, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by firedeyeboy View Post

i found this page (http://landiss.com/share/OnAir/) with a bunch of drivers. anybody use these yet? specifically with windows 7.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...7#post19824327

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2922 of 2959 Old 09-03-2011, 03:09 AM
Advanced Member
 
Notti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I had no idea they were no longer around!

Anyway I have a new computer and need to install the program, but I have Creater, not GT. Should I install it off of the disc, or try one of the programs at http://landiss.com/share/OnAir/? If so, which one? It's W7 64-bit.

Whoever maintains the link above, thank you!

PS - I went back the thread and saw Dan in SL is the Ryan who had helped me in the past. I didn't see the CR driver initially in the link above, but I installed it. PQ is a little rougher than what I saw with my old computer, but I'll fiddle with it. It's at least running. Thanks again!
Notti is offline  
post #2923 of 2959 Old 09-03-2011, 03:34 PM
Senior Member
 
gfbuchanan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Cupertino, CA
Posts: 306
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Notti,

You can clean up the video by installing the Nvidia PureVideo code from the CD. With some difficulty, it can also be found on the Nvidia web site, at least it could a year or so ago. You will need a key to enable that software. If I recall correctly, the key was on a sheet of paper that came with the unit. If you previously installed the OnAir code and Nvidia driver, the key should already be on your computer.

Greg


Quote:
Originally Posted by Notti View Post

I had no idea they were no longer around!

Anyway I have a new computer and need to install the program, but I have Creater, not GT. Should I install it off of the disc, or try one of the programs at http://landiss.com/share/OnAir/? If so, which one? It's W7 64-bit.

Whoever maintains the link above, thank you!

PS - I went back the thread and saw Dan in SL is the Ryan who had helped me in the past. I didn't see the CR driver initially in the link above, but I installed it. PQ is a little rougher than what I saw with my old computer, but I'll fiddle with it. It's at least running. Thanks again!

gfbuchanan is offline  
post #2924 of 2959 Old 09-04-2011, 05:32 PM
Advanced Member
 
Notti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gfbuchanan View Post

Notti,

You can clean up the video by installing the Nvidia PureVideo code from the CD.

Greg

Thanks for the suggestion, Greg. I think I still have the CD and the code. It looks a lot better today. I guess I had to restart the PC to run it stably. I'll blow it up on my projector to examine the PQ more closely. Thanks again.
Notti is offline  
post #2925 of 2959 Old 09-06-2011, 06:20 PM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Notti View Post

PS - I went back the thread and saw Dan in SL is the Ryan who had helped me in the past.

Actually, Ryan was a gentleman in Tech Support at AutumnWave. I'm just a retired teacher in Saint Louis.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2926 of 2959 Old 09-06-2011, 06:28 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Davinleeds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,410
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm still using mine where my Samsung http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=728392seems to be done.

"The purpose of diplomacy is to prolong a crisis." Spock, Mark of Gideon, TOS
Davinleeds is offline  
post #2927 of 2959 Old 12-29-2011, 07:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Has anyone found a workaround for this problem?

In Win7 (32-bit), the first time I try to use my OnAir Gt after re-booting, the application freezes. I have to unplug the power cable to the OnAir, use the Task Manager to close the frozen app, and then plug the power cable back in.

I'm hoping for a fix that will let me just leave the OnAir USB cable plugged in and not have to unplug it every time I reboot.

Thank you!

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2928 of 2959 Old 01-24-2012, 06:46 PM
Newbie
 
nomadcowatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After installing the latest NVIDIA video drivers (8.17.12.8562), I can now longer decode video from subchannels (audio) on Win 7 64 3204 driver, but after uninstalling those and installing the 3203 and 3202 drivers, I can decode subchannels. One subchannel still comes in messed up with ON GT program but with those drivers but comes in normal on windows media center and on a converter box hooked to a bedroom TV. My video card is Nvidia 560M 2X SLI.
nomadcowatbk is offline  
post #2929 of 2959 Old 01-25-2012, 03:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thank you, n. We ought to be writing down these quirks and work-arounds since AutumnWave is defunct.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2930 of 2959 Old 03-01-2012, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
nomadcowatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone installed the the NVIDIA 295.73 drivers?
nomadcowatbk is offline  
post #2931 of 2959 Old 03-01-2012, 10:16 PM
Newbie
 
nomadcowatbk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any Windows 8 beta testers here?
nomadcowatbk is offline  
post #2932 of 2959 Old 03-02-2012, 06:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Brandenborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I expect to test Win 8 in the next week or so and will try my OnAir GT as well.
Brandenborg is offline  
post #2933 of 2959 Old 04-13-2012, 06:49 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandenborg View Post

I expect to test Win 8 in the next week or so and will try my OnAir GT as well.

Any news on that?

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2934 of 2959 Old 04-13-2012, 09:52 AM
Senior Member
 
Brandenborg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 21
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan in St. Louis View Post

Any news on that?

I'd completely forgotten this post, thanks for reminding me. I got as far as installing and running Win8 for a bit, but didn't get to test my OnAir.

Fact is it didn't take me long to conclude that win8 is completely irrelevant except on tablets (at least the preview, which forces you to use Metro for everything). I was hugely disappointed. I didn't even reinstall it when my hard drive broke a few weeks ago.

I may still get back to it when Microsoft puts out a new version. I cannot imagine they would completely abandon the entire installed base of desktop and laptop users. I am not a Microsoft basher (not much anyway) so I have hopes still ;-)
Brandenborg is offline  
post #2935 of 2959 Old 11-23-2012, 09:23 PM
Member
 
gameson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 51
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone know if this tuner is compatible with win 8 64 bit? Damn, i can't believe this guy is out of business. i wasted $150 on this tuner and now it's unusable... frown.gif
gameson is offline  
post #2936 of 2959 Old 11-24-2012, 05:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
Can't say I'm surprised the company's out of business. The OnAir was a nice tuner, but grossly overpriced, IMHO. I picked up a used one on ebay several years ago to check it out and sold it after just a few weeks. My V-Box USB-A-3560's are much better at picking up weak stations for a fraction of the cost. In fact, they are much better than the SiliconDust HDHomeRun Dual in this area.
captain_video is offline  
post #2937 of 2959 Old 11-24-2012, 07:20 AM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It works in Win8-x32. I have the software installed on my laptop. I haven't converted my HTPC to Win8 yet, so can't say for sure in regards to x64. My guess is that it works.

I've had good luck with this tuner. I'm sure there may be newer hardware that is better, but it has served me quite well.
talon95 is offline  
post #2938 of 2959 Old 11-24-2012, 08:05 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

The OnAir was a nice tuner, but grossly overpriced, IMHO.
I respectfully disagree.

The OnAir was among the most sensitive tuners available at the time. It received both analog and digital signals, making it equally useful behind a satellite TV box. It accepted composite video and S-VHS formats as well. And, it was powered by the USB cable. Its scheduler was a piece of cake to set up. Well worth the price!

I learned about it from the area-wide engineer for a broadcast chain. He carried it and a laptop. Often he would arrive in a town the night before his scheduled appearance and, with his OnAirGT and TSReader, reviewed the station's parameters from his motel room. When he went to the station the next morning he already knew what needed to be done. Imagine troubleshooting a digital TV station with a laptop and a $150 USB-powered box!

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
post #2939 of 2959 Old 11-24-2012, 11:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
captain_video's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Ellicott City, MD
Posts: 3,513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 121
I never said the OnAir wasn't sensitive. I was comparing my V-Box tuners to the SD HDHR Dual, not the OnAir. I just said the OnAir was grossly overpriced compared to whatever else was available. Granted, I was only comparing digital tuners and not the other features of the OnAir. I got my V-Box tuners used for about $50 apiece vs. $120-150 for a used OnAir GT. The V-Box was every bit as sensitive as the OnAir when I compared them side by side. Both are great tuners, but the V-Box was by far the better bargain if you only needed a digital tuner, IMHO. I was able to purchase six V-Box tuners for about the same price I would have paid for two OnAir GT's.
captain_video is offline  
post #2940 of 2959 Old 11-28-2012, 07:03 AM
Senior Member
 
Dan in St. Louis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: St. Louis, MO, USA
Posts: 423
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by captain_video View Post

I never said the OnAir wasn't sensitive. I was comparing my V-Box tuners to the SD HDHR Dual, not the OnAir.
Go back and read your message again. Your first three sentences all relate to the OnAir, and then you say "My V-Box USB-A-3560's are much better at picking up weak stations."

Only after that do you mention the SD.

I cannot defend the cost of the OnAirGT if all you need is a digital tuner. For my uses, the inclusion of NTSC and baseband video inputs is vital. I wish I could find a replacement product that does as well.

---- Dan in Saint Louis
Dan in St. Louis is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off