Core 2 Motherboard Complete List - With Hardware Recommendations for a HD HTPC - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-07-2007, 09:29 PM
Member
 
Tsantsa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm sure this has been asked, but are there any places that someone can get a prebuilt HTPC? I don't mean a tivo, or the comcast boxes, but a real HTPC. I'd like to build one, but I just don't have the time to put into it...
Tsantsa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-08-2007, 06:07 PM
Advanced Member
 
Logic_BomB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking into the GIGABYTE GA-965P-DS3 (rev. 1.0) mobo but from the diagrams I've been looking at in the user manual, it looks like there might not be enough clearance between the CPU and video card.

Im looking at a fanless video card (either a gigabyte 7600GT or a xfx 7600gt fatal1ty edition) and I was wondering if anyone could chime in with whether or not there will be enough room to fit safely?
Logic_BomB is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 08:24 AM
Advanced Member
 
Logic_BomB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wow, been a while since I've built a computer - forgot the cards face downwards... from the measurements I got it shouldn't be an issue at all.
Logic_BomB is offline  
Old 03-09-2007, 09:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
audionewer is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

Don't know if this is the right place for it, but Intel just released their second set of Vista drivers (15.2) for their G965 motherboards. There's a BIOS upgrade as well. Included HDMI audio drivers remain unchanged.

Also, something new included called "TVWizard", but I haven't tried it out yet. Hopefully it helps rather than hinders HTPC development work.

And now the 14.27 graphics/video drivers for XP are available as well.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 12:38 AM
Member
 
DONRON9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
the AnandTech test doesnt say anything about how many MB grafic memory there is on the grafic cards tested
so how can i be sure that 320MB is enof


cheers and thanks a million 4 the guide
DONRON9 is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 03:38 AM
Newbie
 
webrant's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by archibael View Post

And now the 14.27 graphics/video drivers for XP are available as well.

I cant understand how Intel can still say that they got hardware Vertex Shader support in the G965 range when it's still not in the drivers 8 months after the release. Shameful
webrant is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
archibael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 4,098
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am displeased with the situation as well, and so is upper management. There does seem to be some progress now, as seen in the Tom's Hardware article recently and in the included link.

Intel's very aware of this from a marketing perspective, and recently has escalated this to higher levels and seems (to me) to finally be taking this seriously. But that's not an excuse, just a suggestion that I think this will change for the better in the future.

I do not speak officially in any sense for
Intel Corp., Technology Manufacturing Group
but I do work there.
archibael is offline  
Old 03-10-2007, 11:28 AM
Member
 
DONRON9's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
nr.5
DONRON9 is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
A French guy posted a nice review on Core 2 Duo mATX motherboards including abit Fatal1ty F-I90HD:

Monter un PC matx Ã* base de C2D: petit mais costaud! f-i90HD

It includes the link to a modded BIOS for F-I90HD. So far the max FSB with E4300 is 374MHz (= 3.37MHz). This is the best overclocking LGA775 mATX motherboard. A minor problem is that the SATA1 port is blocked when GeForce 8800 GTS is inserted.
renethx is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
audionewer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 698
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The X1250 does NOT support HD-DVD or Blu-ray decoding. The GPU core is just not fast enough to handle the H.264 off loading and as such I feel the HDMI and HDCP support is really just fluff. Sticking with VGA and DVI would have been fine for most users.
audionewer is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 11:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
A major price-cut of quad-core processors in Q3 2007:



Source: Intel進入1333MHz FSB時代

Quad-core is an overkill for a HTPC, however.
renethx is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Valnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 1,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
renethx,

Any chance you can update the spreadsheet in the first post with new motherboard information? I know that Gigabyte has come out with some new revisions of existing boards. I'm sure there are others.

I was wondering where you got your data from, because its hard for me to tell from their web site if any main chips (audio, SATA, etc.) have changed to warrant a new revision.

-Robert
Valnar is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by Valnar View Post

renethx,

Any chance you can update the spreadsheet in the first post with new motherboard information? I know that Gigabyte has come out with some new revisions of existing boards. I'm sure there are others.

I was wondering where you got your data from, because its hard for me to tell from their web site if any main chips (audio, SATA, etc.) have changed to warrant a new revision.

-Robert

I am updating the spreadsheet and should be able to upload it sometime next week.

The only difference between GIGABYTE rev 1.0/2.0 and rev 3.3 is the native support for FSB 1333MHz processors. The following article may be helpful:

VR-Zone - Interview with Gigabyte United

Quote:


What did you do to get native 1333FSB support on your 965P revision 3.3 boards?

So far only 975X can support 1333FSB. We tried unlocking 1333FSB through BIOS but the end results are not ideal. Therefore, we re-routed the circuitry and added more components.

Quote:


The maximum clock speed ran completely stable at 3.00 GHz with Core 2 Duo processor with no voltage increase.

Quote:


Memory speed = 333 MHz (bus speed) x 2.5 (multiplier) = 833 MHz

renethx is offline  
Old 03-16-2007, 01:39 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Quote:
Originally Posted by audionewer View Post

The X1250 does NOT support HD-DVD or Blu-ray decoding. The GPU core is just not fast enough to handle the H.264 off loading and as such I feel the HDMI and HDCP support is really just fluff. Sticking with VGA and DVI would have been fine for most users.

The above statement is cited from the following aricle. (I wish he stated so.)

PC Perspective - Asus M2A-VM AMD 690G Motherboard Review (March 15, 2007)

Quote:


Conclusions and Final Thoughts

Features

The AMD 690's best features are the built-in support for HDMI and DVI right from the graphics logic; though the Asus model test here doesn't have HDMI, it does have DVI with HDCP support. Having this option for users looking to build an HTPC system should be a big plus -- with one caveat. The X1250 does NOT support HD-DVD or Blu-ray decoding. The GPU core is just not fast enough to handle the H.264 off loading and as such I feel the HDMI and HDCP support is really just fluff. Sticking with VGA and DVI would have been fine for most users.

The rest of the chipset is pretty standard but includes enough options to keep most budget users and business users satisfied.

AnandTech - AMD 690G: Performance Review stated a similar claim, but also said, "AMD has indicated that this issue will be addressed in a future driver and the chipset is fully capable of 1080p output with an upper end CPU and proper software support."
renethx is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 06:59 AM
Member
 
dmce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The 1080P is something im keeping a close eye on.

The MCP68 is due in April. Looks similarly specd as the 690G. Possibly better image quality, and uses purevideo. Here are some of the upcoming boards:

* Biostar TF7050-M2 (GeForce 7050+nForce 630a)
* Jetway M28GT3-HG (GF7050-630A)
* Gigabyte GA-M68SM-S2 (GeForce 7025+nForce 630a)
* MSI K9NGM3 (GeForce 7050 SE+nForce 630a)
* ECS MCP68M-M (GeForce 7050 SE+nForce 630a)
* WinFast MCP68M2MA-8EKRS2H (GeForce 7050+nForce 630a)
* Abit AN-M2HD (GeForce 7050+nForce 630a)
* Abit AN-M2 (GeForce 7050+nForce 630a)

Can anyone confirm if MCP68 (Geforce 7050/630a) is an updated 6100/405 chipset? Is this the same for the MCP73? Im confused on these issues.

There is also the MCP73 for Intel CPUs

* ECS MCP73T-M (GeForce 7050/nForce 630)
* Winfast? MCP737MA
* MSI P6NGM
dmce is offline  
Old 03-17-2007, 08:52 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
There is no confirmation, but

MCP73 = MCP68 + (single-channel) memory controller,

apart from the different CPU bus interfaces (HyperTransport vs. FSB).
renethx is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 09:24 AM
Member
 
Joco1114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to buy an Asus M2A-VM HDMI mobo. What are the experiences? Is it enough to play 1080p movies over HDMI? How much is the processor load? Which processor do you recommend?

Sorry about my english and the silly questions, I am newbie in here, I was a reader before.

Joc
Joco1114 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
mATX Roundup

"AMD keeps telling me that 1080P is fine once they have driver support for it."

Perhaps X2 5000+ (2.6GHz) or above. AnandTech 690G review used X2 5200+, but with "some severe choppiness or blank screen issues with HD media formats at 1080p" (720p worked fine).
renethx is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 02:13 PM
Member
 
Joco1114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

"AMD keeps telling me that 1080P is fine once they have driver support for it."

Perhaps X2 5000+ (2.6GHz) or above. AnandTech 690G review used X2 5200+, but with "some severe choppiness or blank screen issues with HD media formats at 1080p" (720p worked fine).

Well, thanks. It's sounds like I have to buy an external videocard (an 7600GT for example) to play HD files. Can you help me to select a good example config? (mobo, videocard, sound card, processor)

Joc
Joco1114 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 03:13 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
renethx is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 04:53 PM
Member
 
Joco1114's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

What is your budget? Do you prefer AMD?

Budget is good... ;-) I need a futureproof HTPC computer with AMD or Intel (same good for me) for the next 2-3 years.

Joc
Joco1114 is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Then one of the most poplular combinations is

CPU: Core 2 Duo E6600 (the price will be $224 at April 22)
MB: ASUS P5B Deluxe (with or without WiFi-AP) or P5W DH Deluxe
Memory: DDR2-800 1GB x 2 (for example Corsair XMS2)

They are powerful enough to serve you for the next couple of years. Video card is GeForce 7600 GT or higher (7xxx series will be replaced by 8xxx in April). I am not sure which sound card to choose...
renethx is offline  
Old 03-19-2007, 08:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pete4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Actually I went with following:
CPU: C2D E6400 OC to 3 GHz
MB: Asus P5B-E
Memory: DDR2-800 1 GB

With Asus Mobo you can overclock E6400 to 3GHz without much trouble
One advantage Deluxe has over plain P5B is memory voltage, Deluxe can go up to 2.3V, where P5B-E stops at 2.1v, but that's either for extreme overclocking or some high voltage, high speed memory which C2D doesn't really need. Yes, prices will go unreal for C2D soon and I'm thinking about upgrading to quad, I believe they use same 775 socket.
pete4 is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 02:01 PM
Member
 
Ken S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Indianapolis,In, USA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I purchased a 7600 gt AGP a month ago hoping that my pc would hold out for awhile using old board and cpu. Well it will not play HD material. Dvd and Avi files work great.

CPU 2600+ amd Sempron SKT A
Memory 512 pc3200 DDR 200 mhz
Board Asus a7n8x-e
ATX

I know that this is not even close to what i need to play Hd. I would like to keep my gfx AGP card. I noticed on the first page of this thread mentioned the low end ASROCK 4 core Dual for Intel was the only option for the aged AGP card. I would use either Amd or Intel i am looking for "best bang for the buck" and still use my agp card. I was curious if it was possible to use a Pentium D 915 Presler 2.8GHz 2 x 2MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Processor and 1 or 2 gigs of inexpensive ram to play the HD material or get me by. I am not looking for the screaming biggest and the best im looking for something that will work.

I just spent money on a HD 720p projector,screen cables switcher so I am trying to do this spending the least amount of money and it will get me by until next year. Any advice would be great!
Ken S is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 02:12 PM
Member
 
Powerage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 161
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What do you guys think of the (( ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA LGA 775 VIA PT880 Ultra))

At first glance it looks like its older brother with a handy 16x slot.

Anyone have this new one in service?

After reading the following review looks like its still 4x sorry for the Newegg False Alarm.

http://www.ocworkbench.com/2006/asro...al-vsta/b8.htm
Powerage is offline  
Old 03-20-2007, 09:51 PM
Member
 
ench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colts Neck, NJ
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is the most impressive and up to date thread on HTPC anywhere on the planet.
Very nicely done.

Chilli-Z

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

PowerDVD13

Panasonic AE-3000U
ench is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 12:07 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold
 
renethx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 16,243
Mentioned: 13 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 241 Post(s)
Liked: 389
Ken S,

I don't know if Pentium D 915 (2.8GHz) is enough to play HD contents. According to NVIDIA Checklist for Building a PC that Plays HD DVD or Blu-ray Movies, the minimum requirement is Pentium D 930 (3.0GHz). Instead I recommend the following combination:
  • CPU: Core 2 Duo E4300 ($113 on April 22)
  • Motherboard: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA
  • Memory: Add another 512MB PC3200, 1GB in total
This will be fine for the next couple of years.
renethx is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 05:30 AM
Member
 
ench's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Colts Neck, NJ
Posts: 49
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK
I currently have a lame htpc that runs OK, but just ran into power supply issues.
I am using a Silverstone L16-M case with a Silverstone 500 Watts PW supply (SST-ST50EF)that went bad after 3 months. Just sent it back to them.
Does anyone know the reliability of these power suplies?

Here's my attemptempted new setup.
Intel Core 2 Duo E4300 LGA 775 Processor Model (OC to 3.38 Ghz)
GA-965P-DS3 LGA 775 Intel P965 Express ATX Intel Motherboard
G.SKILL 1GB (2 x 512MB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Memory
XFX PVT71JYHE9 GeForce 7950GT 512MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16
HDCPZALMAN CNPS9500 LED CPU Cooler

I also need more information on the graphics card. Some report it as noisy and others say it runs cool. I need it to be super quiet and also this card must fit the case.
The requirement is 220 mm so it may clear the center mount dvd drive in the case.
In my old setup i used an ATI 1600 Pro AGP

Can anyone comment on this setup, before I pull the trigger with Newegg?
Here's a picture of the case (top view)
LL

Chilli-Z

Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

PowerDVD13

Panasonic AE-3000U
ench is offline  
Old 03-21-2007, 06:34 AM
Member
 
Ken S's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Indianapolis,In, USA
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by renethx View Post

Ken S,

I don't know if Pentium D 915 (2.8GHz) is enough to play HD contents. According to NVIDIA Checklist for Building a PC that Plays HD DVD or Blu-ray Movies, the minimum requirement is Pentium D 930 (3.0GHz). Instead I recommend the following combination:
  • CPU: Core 2 Duo E4300 ($113 on April 22)
  • Motherboard: ASRock 4CoreDual-VSTA
  • Memory: Add another 512MB PC3200, 1GB in total
This will be fine for the next couple of years.

Renethx

Thanks for the info! After searching around it looks like the Core 2 Duo E4300 is the best bang for the buck after either bumping up the fsb a little or doing this mod.

http://forumz.tomshardware.com/hardw...ict228129.html

I might try the pin mod. It doesn't look to difficult. If i add a stick of 512 pc3200 it should also be 200mhz as well as my other? When i run CPU-Z it shows the manufacture of the ram as MOSEL. Would it be a problem if i ran some Kingston or Corsair value ram along side of it instead? Thanks again for your help.
Ken S is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off