Viewsonic N3252w 1360x768 Resolution Issues - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 09-08-2006, 08:08 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
babazoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Folks.

I recently purchased a new Viewsonic N3252w at Costco.

I would include a link to it on Viewsonic's page but the forum isn't allowing me since I'm a noob. If you type n3252w into google it's the first result.

The manual says that the native resolution of the monitor is 1366x768 and that the PC resolution is 1360x768... but I can't get my PC to go there. The monitor is hooked up via an HDMI > DVI cable to the computer.

I downloaded viewsonic's latest driver package and the info file for the N3252w doesn't seem to be inside it.

I'm using a Nvidia 6600 GT video card. I've got a primary acer monitor hooked up to it at 1440x900 via VGA. I've been able to force the monitor into what I think is 1360x768 by playing with Powerstrip -- but the PC reports it as 1376x774, the monitor does say that it is 1360x768, it's rather weird. Likewise in nvidia's custom timings panel I have had no luck.

Even if I use the 1376x774 mode as soon as I play media the Nvidia card resets the resolution to 1280x1024. It seems to look good on the screen, but I really want to get the 1:1 pixel mapping...

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, very much.

PS. MonInfo reports the following on this monitor:

Code:
Monitor
  Windows description......... ViewSonic Monitor
  Manufacturer description.... N3252w
  Manufacturer................ ViewSonic
  
  Plug and Play ID............ VSC1E8F
  Serial number............... QBR0627C0112
  EDID data source............ I2C bus (real-time)
  
  Manufacture date............ 2006, ISO week 27
  EDID revision............... 1.3
  Display type and signal..... Digital
  Sync input support.......... n/a
  Screen size................. 700 x 390 mm (~33")
  Power management............ Active off/sleep

Color characteristics
  Display gamma............... 2.20
  Red chromaticity............ Rx 0.658 - Ry 0.313
  Green chromaticity.......... Gx 0.285 - Gy 0.605
  Blue chromaticity........... Bx 0.143 - By 0.080
  White point (default)....... Wx 0.283 - Wy 0.297

Timing characteristics
  VESA GTF support............ Not supported
  Horizontal scan range....... 30-82kHz
  Vertical scan range......... 50-75Hz
  Video bandwidth............. 140MHz
  Extension blocks............ 1
  Timing recommendation #1.... 1280x720 at 60Hz
      Modeline................ "1280x720" 74.250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
  Timing recommendation #2.... 1280x720 at 60Hz
      Modeline................ "1280x720" 74.250 1280 1390 1430 1650 720 725 730 750 +hsync +vsync
  Timing recommendation #3.... 1920x540 at 60Hz
      Modeline................ "1920x540" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 540 542 547 562 +hsync +vsync
  Timing recommendation #4.... 1920x1080 at 30Hz
      Modeline................ "1920x1080" 74.250 1920 2008 2052 2200 1080 1084 1094 1124 interlace +hsync +vsync
  Timing recommendation #5.... 720x480 at 60Hz
      Modeline................ "720x480" 27.000 720 736 798 858 480 489 495 525 -hsync -vsync
  Timing recommendation #6.... 1440x240 at 60Hz
      Modeline................ "1440x240" 27.000 1440 1478 1602 1716 240 244 247 262 -hsync -vsync
  Timing recommendation #7.... 1440x480 at 30Hz
      Modeline................ "1440x480" 27.000 1440 1478 1602 1716 480 488 494 524 interlace -hsync -vsync

Standard timings supported
   640 x  480 at  60Hz - IBM VGA
   640 x  480 at  67Hz - Mac II
   640 x  480 at  72Hz - VESA
   640 x  480 at  75Hz - VESA
   640 x  640 at  70Hz - VESA
   720 x  400 at  70Hz - IBM VGA
   720 x  480 at  60Hz - ViewSonic
   800 x  600 at  56Hz - VESA
   800 x  600 at  60Hz - VESA
   800 x  600 at  72Hz - VESA
   800 x  600 at  75Hz - VESA
   832 x  624 at  75Hz - Mac II
  1024 x  768 at  60Hz - VESA
  1024 x  768 at  70Hz - VESA
  1024 x  768 at  75Hz - VESA
  1152 x  864 at  75Hz - VESA
  1280 x  720 at  60Hz - ViewSonic
  1280 x  960 at  60Hz - VESA
  1280 x 1024 at  60Hz - VESA
  1280 x 1024 at  75Hz - VESA
  1440 x  240 at  60Hz - ViewSonic
  1440 x  480 at  30Hz - ViewSonic
  1920 x  540 at  60Hz - ViewSonic
  1920 x 1080 at  30Hz - ViewSonic

Raw EDID base
  00: 00 FF FF FF FF FF FF 00  5A 63 8F 1E 01 01 01 01 
  10: 1B 10 01 03 80 46 27 78  2A 90 A8 A8 50 49 9B 24 
  20: 14 48 4C BF EF 00 81 80  81 40 71 4F 31 0A 01 01 
  30: 01 01 01 01 01 01 01 1D  00 72 51 D0 1E 20 6E 28 
  40: 55 00 B9 88 21 00 00 1E  00 00 00 FF 00 51 42 52 
  50: 30 36 32 37 43 30 31 31  32 0A 00 00 00 FD 00 32 
  60: 4B 1E 52 0E 00 0A 20 20  20 20 20 20 00 00 00 FC 
  70: 00 4E 33 32 35 32 77 0A  20 20 20 20 20 20 01 4F 

Raw EDID extension (CEA-861)
  00: 02 03 18 F1 45 84 05 03  07 01 23 09 57 03 83 01 
  10: 00 00 65 03 0C 00 10 00  01 1D 00 72 51 D0 1E 20 
  20: 6E 28 55 00 B9 88 21 00  00 1E 01 1D 80 18 71 1C 
  30: 16 20 58 2C 25 00 B9 88  21 00 00 9E 8C 0A D0 8A 
  40: 20 E0 2D 10 10 3E 96 00  B9 88 21 00 00 18 8C 0A 
  50: A0 14 51 F0 16 00 26 7C  43 00 B9 88 21 00 00 98 
  60: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 
  70: 00 00 00 00 00 00 00 00  00 00 00 00 00 00 00 04 

EIA/CEA-861 Information
  Revision number............. 3
  DTV underscan............... Supported
  Basic audio................. Supported
  YCbCr 4:4:4................. Supported
  YCbCr 4:2:2................. Supported
  Native formats supported.... 1
  DTV formats supported....... 5

CE standard timings supported
  1280 x  720p at 59.94/60Hz (16:9) - HDTV (Native)
  1920 x 1080i at 59.94/60Hz (16:9) - HDTV
   720 x  480p at 59.94/60Hz (16:9) - EDTV
   720 x  480i at 59.94/60Hz (16:9) - Doublescan
   640 x  480p at 59.94/60Hz  (4:3) - Default

Display adapter
  Adapter description......... Auxiliary port
  Adapter device ID........... 0x00F110DE
  Display settings............ n/a

User/computer information
  Registered user name........ Mark Baseggio
  Registered organization..... None
  Network user name........... Administrator
  Network computer name....... MEDIABOX
  Windows version ............ Windows XP
  Windows build .............. 5.01.2600 Service Pack 2
  Installation date .......... 3/8/2006 12:00:00 PM
babazoid is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 09-08-2006, 10:32 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
babazoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A little update:

I got the LCD working at 1360x768 by using the Nvidia Control Panel.

Under Manage Custom Timings, I added 1360x768 and left everything else standard. In the advanced selection I chose CVT as the timing standard, and left everything else.

Presto, it works, 1:1 pixel mapping. It's damn pretty too. Now, the problem:

I can't use nvidia's "auto full screen" feature because every time it goes to full screen it switches the resolution to 1280x1024 on me. GRRRRRRR. This is extremely annoying. Anyone know how to prevent this from happening?

I'd rather not have to drag the freakin window over to the 2nd display and then hit full screen each time I want to play a video. Also, using this setting mplayer's video doesn't show up on the monitor.. sheesh. Windows. Arg.

Thanks again
babazoid is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 09-08-2006, 10:56 AM
Rgb
AVS Special Member
 
Rgb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 6,881
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by babazoid View Post

A little update:

I got the LCD working at 1360x768 by using the Nvidia Control Panel.

Under Manage Custom Timings, I added 1360x768 and left everything else standard. In the advanced selection I chose CVT as the timing standard, and left everything else.

Presto, it works, 1:1 pixel mapping. It's damn pretty too. Now, the problem:

I can't use nvidia's "auto full screen" feature because every time it goes to full screen it switches the resolution to 1280x1024 on me. GRRRRRRR. This is extremely annoying. Anyone know how to prevent this from happening?

I'd rather not have to drag the freakin window over to the 2nd display and then hit full screen each time I want to play a video. Also, using this setting mplayer's video doesn't show up on the monitor.. sheesh. Windows. Arg.

Thanks again

Try setting Clone mode in the Advanced Nvidia Control Panel settings, and make the Viewsonic the Primary (1) display.
Rgb is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-04-2007, 07:02 PM
Advanced Member
 
xenon2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 932
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
I think it would be easier and yield better results if you use DVI->VGA or if your card has a DB15 output, to just do VGA->VGA and pick 1360x768 at 60hz.

I have heard that DVI->HDMI with video cards can be tricky when possible at best. While you can probably get a DVI->HDMI solution to work for you. Have you tried a non-PowerStrip solution with VGA->VGA or DVI->VGA at 1360x768@60hz?

VGA has always worked the best for me compared to DVI->HDMI or using the Nvidia's Component cable adapter that came with one of my Nvidia cards. Both on 1080p LCD TVs and 720p Plasma TVs.

Just an idea for you to try out. And if you didnt' need the VGA input for something else, you freed up an HDMI port. I use an HTPC with DVR on my 720p Projector via a 30+ foot DB15 cable and it looks perfect and obviously matches the 1280x720 resolution perfectly. Good cable, no ghosting. Looks better than using the HDMI input, which I use for my receiver and DVD player.

Anyways. Give it a shot if you have the cable and time. You might really be surprized like I was.
xenon2000 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-14-2007, 10:49 PM
Newbie
 
flipmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have a viewsonic n3735w hooked up as secondary to a 7600gt via dvi->hdmi and am having the same problem. it switches to 1080i setting when i have auto full screen video while playing some media. but, when i use a vga cable, it works fine.

i've tried different version of nvidia drivers, and installed the driver for the viewsonici, but the problem persists. i don't really want to use a vga connection as it isn't digital (also my dvi->hdmi cable is much longer), but i guess i'll have to use the vga till there is a solution.

btw, this 37" lcd is sweet!!!
flipmac is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-12-2011, 10:34 PM
Newbie
 
Oztroy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Today I had a display issue where my monitor would not work at the correct resolution. I tried for 30mins to get it to work and finally found it had nothing to do with my resolution settings, it was a monitor issue. So after reverse engineering my software back two restore points; I was severely frustrated to find out it could have been a quick fix.

Try this:

Side of your monitor there are a few buttons, 5 on mine. One is power, two are the numbers 1 & 2 and the other two are up and down arrows.

This is what I did: Hit "1" use the up and down buttons to get to "input select" and then "2" to select. Go down to PC (or AV if you are not using HDMI) and hit "2" to select.

If this helps, let me know I helped you tmak@hotmail.com.au
Oztroy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off