Purevideo Vista RC2 Problems! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 07:52 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Edreamsz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I have the following problem.

When installing Purevista in Vista RC2 i get playback problems.

.TS files play but the video plays slower than normal while the audio stream plays ok (some hikups in the sound). So you immidiatly get very bad lipsync problems.


I also noticed that they Purevideo tray icon does not show up. But when using the windows media codecs checker you can clearly see that the purevideo codecs is listed as the default/preferred one)

Uninstalling Purevideo solves the problem, BUT i really want to use purevideo!

Can anyone help me figure out what the problem is?!

My HTPC:

AMD 3800+ 64 AM2
1GB DDR2 PC 5300
7600GT with Latest drivers

Hope you guys can help me out!
Edreamsz is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 08:42 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
THE DVD Decoder iUtility s for use with XP only not Vista since Vista actaully store the information in a different registry location.. I understand that it will work if you install the Decoder using XP conmpatibility mode.

The Vista location is

H-Key/Local Machine/software/Microsoft/windows/currentversion/media center/decoder

Then you have find the CLSID for your NVIDIA video Decoder

.
walford is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 08:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
darkjedi664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The decoder works with Vista, so it's NOT an XP only thing. The main issue here is drivers. Since the nVidia drivers in Vista aren't accelerated, you wont have any acceleration on MPEG-2, H.264, or VC-1 like you will in XP/2003. Check to see if you have your DirectDraw acceleration enabled in dxdiag. Other than that, it's a driver issue, and nothing to do with Vista. The decoder runs under software mode, which is why it runs so slow. Once we get proper drivers, then it will work just fine . And btw, the decoder installs JUST fine without the need of XP Compatibility mode.
darkjedi664 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 10:31 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am running the NVIDIA Decoder in VISTA with full hardware acceleration. I installed it wighout using XP compatibility mode and found that if I used the utilily I could make it my preferred Decoder, However, the Nvidia Icon did not show up in my SYSTRAY and I therfore I could not set any options. When I made the registry change described above to switch from the new MS provided Decoder to the Nvidia Decoder It showed up correctlty in the tray and I was able to make changes to video options such as hardware acceleration as well audio options.
What I said above was that the XP Decoder utility does not work properly with Vista even though it appears to. I did not say the Decoder itself does not since it works fine for me not using compatibility mode.
walford is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 10:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
darkjedi664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Under the decoder type, does it say DXVA or does it say Software YUY2 Unknown Decoder? With a player like Media Player Classic, or Zoom Player, you do not need to do the registry change as you can tell the player what decoder to use. If you enable hardware acceleration, at least me in the case, only get a black screen; mind you, this is running 5728 and have not installed 5744 yet.
darkjedi664 is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 12:07 PM
Member
 
RobertHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Walford,

So how does one find the CLSID for the nvida decoder?
RobertHO is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 12:07 PM
Member
 
Don_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread is of interest to me since I just recently completed an HTPC build and am contemplating getting the nVidia Purevideo decoder. Question is, should I buy now and hope that they will release patches / updates to work correctly with the final release of Vista or should I wait until the final release of Vista to be sure that the Purevideo decoder will work correctly?
Don_S is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 12:39 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by RobertHO View Post

Walford,

So how does one find the CLSID for the nvida decoder?

You can search the registry for NVIDIA VIDEO DECODER

on my system the NVIDIA CLSID is {71E4616A-DB5E-452B-8CA5-71D9CC7805E9}

and the MS MPEG2 Decoder CLSID is {212690FB-83E5-4526-8FD7-74478B7939CD}
walford is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 01:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there is a vista-specific dec-check utility that obviates the need of any registry hacking.... I think I found it linked in the GreenButton Vista forum....


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 01:33 PM
Advanced Member
 
ginnal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 525
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What are the implications for ffdshow?
ginnal is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 04:06 PM
Senior Member
 
SpedInFargo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Fargo, ND
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Honest misunderstanding between poster #2 (walford) and #3 (darkjedi664). The decoder works fine under Vista (from what I hear - haven't tried it myself yet...) but the decoder UTILITY is different between XP and Vista.

By decoder UTILITY I'm talking about this:

(Vista version): http://mediacenterexpert.blogspot.co...r-utility.html

(2005 version):
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

No need to do any registry hunting or hacking!

I really hope the Purevideo Decoder works well for me - the Microsoft one wasn't providing happiness last night on my first try of Vista MCE.

sped
SpedInFargo is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 04:51 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Edreamsz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all the input. I managed to get the decoder working.

U have to disable User Account Control before switching the default decoder to Purevideo.

BUT

I have another problem. When checking the settings my purevideo decoder via the trayicon the following appears:


Decoderformat

Softwaremode YUY2
Undefined renderer


This isn't right! Right?
Edreamsz is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 10-11-2006, 06:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
darkjedi664's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
THAT'S what I've been trying to tell you guys! That's NOT hardware acceleration. Unless someone can tell me how to fix it, it's not working properly.
darkjedi664 is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 10-28-2006, 08:42 PM
Advanced Member
 
jeffreydeng's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: MN, USA
Posts: 718
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I pick this thread again because I am having problem with PureVideo decoder with Vista build 5744. The installation hang no matter I select normal installation or WinXP compatible mode. I had to reboot Windows to use WIndows again. The PureVideo appears on the program list but I don't know if it used or not by MCE.

I am using XFX 7600GT. Any suggestions?

Another question, if I uninstall the decoder, MCE still works fine. So I wonder if it is necessary to use it.
jeffreydeng is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 01-26-2007, 12:25 AM
Newbie
 
H-street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone get purevideo working undervista with hardware?

i have the software / unknown renderer in decoder properties..
H-street is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 01-26-2007, 11:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
almostinsane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 4,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 23
That's because your video drivers aren't allowing HW accelleration. Not a purevideo problem.
almostinsane is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 01-26-2007, 03:04 PM
Newbie
 
H-street's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so i take it we are SOL for getting hardware acceleration in vista?

how can Nvidia get a whql driver signed with features missing?
H-street is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 02-18-2007, 06:28 PM
Senior Member
 
bxs122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any news on this one - I downloaded the beta v100 Forceware drivers for Vista and they are working nicely in comparison to the NVidia canned ones that were installed by Vista.
Feeling lucky I thought I'd try my PureVideo drivers again and for most content things look good but with some HD the display eventually falls apart.

I like Vista MCE but really want my PureVideo back with MPEG decoding on the GPU I paid for.
bxs122 is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 02-18-2007, 08:34 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Are you sure the NVIDIA Decoder is being used? If the NVIDIA icon is not showing up in your system tray when it should be then MS provided Vista MPEG2 decoder is probably be using instead..
walford is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 02-19-2007, 03:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is nothing to do with the drivers, it's that WMP uses EVR (Vista's new renderer), and purevideo can't hardware accelerate with that. Use another player with VMR9 and dxva will work fine - the new Zoomplayer5 is pretty excellent.
arfster is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 02-19-2007, 05:45 AM
Member
 
Joshua_boston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Are you sure the NVIDIA Decoder is being used? If the NVIDIA icon is not showing up in your system tray when it should be then MS provided Vista MPEG2 decoder is probably be using instead..

I also have a xfx 7600GT and I am running Vista Ultimate and I have ATI HDTV Wonder for watching OTA HDTV.

First of all, I do not have a NVIDIA icon showing up in my system tray, but when I go to display properties, it show all the bells and whitles that the card is suppose to have.... I installed the Vista driver from xfx web's site.

Next is, I am thinking of installing watchhdtv, has anyone done this yet, and is it much better then MMC?

You mention Zoomplayer5, I will try it. I am specifically looking for a player that shows signal streagth while watching OTA HDTV, does Zoomplayer5 do this?
Joshua_boston is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 02-19-2007, 06:45 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The MS XP Decoder Check utility does not work in Vista, even though it appears to, because Vista takes its Preferred decoder identification from a different registry location then XP.
Use the following utillity to change your Vista preferred decoder:

http://mediacenterexpert.blogspot.co...r-utility.html
walford is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 02-19-2007, 08:22 PM
Senior Member
 
bxs122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 469
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by walford View Post

Are you sure the NVIDIA Decoder is being used? If the NVIDIA icon is not showing up in your system tray when it should be then MS provided Vista MPEG2 decoder is probably be using instead..

Yup the NVidia icon shows up in the tray as expected...It just doesn't function as it once did before.

Interesting thing is I can select to use the NVidia Purevideo Audio Codec and the MS MPEG Decoder together without any problems which is good since I like being able to set the Audio advanced features such as Night mode.

It seems to only be the Purevideo MPEG Video Decoder failing.
bxs122 is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 02-20-2007, 06:36 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
walford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 16,789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have much better luck also with the MS video decoder on Vista then with the NVIDIA which is designed for XP and there are no reports of any upgrades to in coming for Vista.
I suspect but have been unable to confirm that when NVIDIA has completed all of the development of its Vista graphic card drivers that all of the pure video functionality will be included in them and that the MS video decoder will only need to do the basic decoding like it does now.
walford is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off