Xbox 360 HD DVD Addon -- Works on an HTPC!? - Page 16 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #451 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 06:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JBJR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Ambler, PA
Posts: 1,173
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So....does anyone know where we may be able to download or get a copy 6.5 or 6.6?
JBJR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #452 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 06:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It comes bundled with some laptops, I believe.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #453 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 11:50 AM
Member
 
harrytasker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does the Asian version of the HD DVD player work with european XBOX360?
Or let me say does all XBOX360 hardware from different regions (webcam etc.) work with every xbox360?

Format Neutral
harrytasker1 is offline  
post #454 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 08:06 PM
Member
 
Boofster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Nice can't wait to try it!
Boofster is offline  
post #455 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 08:07 PM
Newbie
 
darp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
PowerDVD 6.5 works for me. I'm able to play King Kong on Windows XP. I tried on Vista too but it doesn't work. Vista shows a message that this version (6.5) of PowerDVD is known to have problems with Vista. As soon as I try to play the application stops responging. Interestingly enough my video card (7900GT) doesn't have HDCP. I'm able to get full resolution thru VGA however. I'll try DVI later too. WinDVD doesn't work for me. It may be because of the lack of HDCP.
darp is offline  
post #456 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 08:09 PM
Newbie
 
super-me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just bought the HD DVD Drive, then i plug it in my notebook ( i don't have a desktop and my 360 is not with me right now). Then i download the JP version WinDVD 8 Platinum. Everything seems find, but when i started to play the King Kong movie, the screen became all black, but i can see the menu and the warning ads such as PG-13 sign and there are audio, but just don't have the main movie.

My notebook is Sony VAIO VGN-FE28GP, Core Duo T2500 2.0GHz , GeForce Go 7600, and I checked nvidia and it said laptop don't need HDCP display card to play HD video...so...anyone can help me ?
Thx
super-me is offline  
post #457 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 08:14 PM
Senior Member
 
Blippy2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
For the problem with laptop playing, tried upgrading your video drivers? Get Nvidia's 93.71 drivers and try again. Also rebooting sometimes helps sometimes.

The link I was sent for the Intervideo WinDVD software already expired for me. When you buy it they give you a temporary link I think.
Blippy2005 is offline  
post #458 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 08:31 PM
Newbie
 
super-me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My display is Go 7600 which is cannot use ForceWare driver And I cannot find the Go version drivers for 7600 in Nvidia com
I purchased the JP version Windvd 8 Platinum i dont know whats wrong with that
Are there any method to fix this
Thx
super-me is offline  
post #459 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 09:46 PM
Senior Member
 
crabnebula's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 389
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
See laptopvideo2go.com.
crabnebula is offline  
post #460 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 09:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darp View Post

PowerDVD 6.5 works for me. I'm able to play King Kong on Windows XP. I tried on Vista too but it doesn't work. Vista shows a message that this version (6.5) of PowerDVD is known to have problems with Vista. As soon as I try to play the application stops responging. Interestingly enough my video card (7900GT) doesn't have HDCP. I'm able to get full resolution thru VGA however. I'll try DVI later too. WinDVD doesn't work for me. It may be because of the lack of HDCP.

When you play King Kong do you have a picture-in-picture window on the top left of the screen when the movie plays? I can't get rid of it.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #461 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 10:15 PM
Newbie
 
darp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher View Post

When you play King Kong do you have a picture-in-picture window on the top left of the screen when the movie plays? I can't get rid of it.

Yes, I did. I think I pressed Space or Enter and it dissapeared. There is a sub-menu in the main DVD menu where you can trun this on or off it seems.
darp is offline  
post #462 of 2767 Old 11-24-2006, 11:37 PM
Newbie
 
super-me's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My laptop finally works now ~
Thx
super-me is offline  
post #463 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 12:33 AM
Member
 
Boofster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 191
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Any suggestions for PowerDVD 6.5 crashing when trying to play anything (DVD/AudioCD/etc.) ??

"Faulting application powerdvd.exe, version 6.0.0.0, faulting module acd_x.imp, version 6.0.0.0, fault address 0x0001859f."

XP with 93.71

Tried removing it and installing the trial version 7 from their website and it works fine.

ARGH!!
Boofster is offline  
post #464 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 01:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by darp View Post

Yes, I did. I think I pressed Space or Enter and it dissapeared. There is a sub-menu in the main DVD menu where you can trun this on or off it seems.

I got rid of it too. I had to click the + on the pad a couple of times, but only when the U-Control icon/button expanded. Apparently U-Control can't be turned off with this OEM version of PowerDVD (or maybe I'm not doing it correctly). I think once the retail version is released it'll have been updated to correct a few of these quirks.

Alas, I did manage to watch all of King Kong finally. Beautiful PQ, some of those jungle scenes were spectacular! I have an Asus X1950 Pro card with the latest Cat 6.11 drivers hooked up via DVI to a Samsung 46" DLP. System is a Core 2 Duo E6600 with 2GB RAM. I could not enable hardware acceleration in PowerDVD for some reason, but it played smooth for 99% of the film, though the CPU was maxed out for most of it.

All in all, this makes a fantastic addition to any HTPC setup.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #465 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 03:52 AM
Member
 
FirstBorg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
where did you get power dvd 6.5?
AFAIK its OEM, so with what does it come?

Here in germany, the xbox drive released yesterday, so I want to buy, but Im still missing some software to play the movies
FirstBorg is offline  
post #466 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 09:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
Gary Gleave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 623
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher View Post

Alas, I did manage to watch all of King Kong finally. Beautiful PQ, some of those jungle scenes were spectacular! I have an Asus X1950 Pro card with the latest Cat 6.11 drivers hooked up via DVI to a Samsung 46" DLP. System is a Core 2 Duo E6600 with 2GB RAM. I could not enable hardware acceleration in PowerDVD for some reason, but it played smooth for 99% of the film, though the CPU was maxed out for most of it.


You were pinned with that hardware?
I've got a 4400 dc processor, 2gb ram, 7900 oc nvidia. What hope do I have of smooth play back?
Gary
Gary Gleave is offline  
post #467 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 09:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Gleave View Post

You were pinned with that hardware?
I've got a 4400 dc processor, 2gb ram, 7900 oc nvidia. What hope do I have of smooth play back?
Gary

I don't see any reason why your hardware wouldn't be sufficient. If hardware acceleration will work on your 7900OC you should be able to watch through VGA, perhaps even DVI on a non-HDCP card (I haven't tried that, my card is HDCP).

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #468 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 09:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, I finally found out the 20 " Wide Dell has DHCP capability like the 24" does. But I still can't find out if the ATI AIW X1900 does. If it does, all I need to do is get the DVI to DVI cable too hook the graphics card up to the monitor, use VLC and I should be set.

All the links that I've been too don't mention the ATI X1900 at all..

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #469 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 10:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

OK, I finally found out the 20 " Wide Dell has DHCP capability like the 24" does. But I still can't find out if the ATI AIW X1900 does. If it does, all I need to do is get the DVI to DVI cable too hook the graphics card up to the monitor, use VLC and I should be set. All the links that I've been too don't mention the ATI X1900 at all..

What are you going to play with VLC? HD DVDs? Won't happen, sorry. You need AACS/HDCP-compliant playback software that supports HD DVD playback. At the moment there isn't any on sale. PowerDVD 6.5 for HD DVD ships with some laptops, but that's it.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #470 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 10:17 AM
Member
 
ccparkhill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 21
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My system is a Core 2 Duo E6300 with 2GB RAM, can anybody recommend an HDCP graphics card, I only have a cheap 7300LE at the moment.
ccparkhill is offline  
post #471 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 10:18 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've read so much, I can't remember where I saw this, but apparently VLC CAN play back HDDVD content. I tried opening the files on the HDDVD disc with it, and it was the only player that actually seems to play something, but no picture. The seconds where moving up on the clock, where every other player showed 'no compatible disc' errors..

Does the Power DVD option only come with laptops that have HDDVD drives, or is it just a standard packin? The office just got a new machine with PowerDVD on it, but with a standard DVD drive.

*Edit* HDCP Graphics Card..

I'm thinking of returning my AIW X1900 because it's not HDCP compliant, and getting the ATI X1950, wich supposedly is. Then I'll just add an HDTV Wonder for my TV and FM content..

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #472 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 10:35 AM
Newbie
 
darp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I tried playing King Kong on my non-HCDCP card connected thru DVI to my monitor. The Movie starts playing and after few seconds a message pops up saying that this content is not allowed to be played like this. So it seems that PowerDVD has some kind of watchdog thread that cancels the playback if the path is not protected.
darp is offline  
post #473 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 10:40 AM
Senior Member
 
kmj0577's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lenexa, KS
Posts: 393
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

I've read so much, I can't remember where I saw this, but apparently VLC CAN play back HDDVD content. I tried opening the files on the HDDVD disc with it, and it was the only player that actually seems to play something, but no picture. The seconds where moving up on the clock, where every other player showed 'no compatible disc' errors..

Does the Power DVD option only come with laptops that have HDDVD drives, or is it just a standard packin? The office just got a new machine with PowerDVD on it, but with a standard DVD drive.

*Edit* HDCP Graphics Card..

I'm thinking of returning my AIW X1900 because it's not HDCP compliant, and getting the ATI X1950, wich supposedly is. Then I'll just add an HDTV Wonder for my TV and FM content..

It probably plays back HD DVD-R which is different from HD DVD. HD DVD-R is something you burn yourself with Nero on a regular DVD.

The main thing I notice about WinDVD 8 Japanese edition downrezzing is that it leads to a lot of jaggies around the edges. That said, I still think it's better than the DVD versions though.
kmj0577 is offline  
post #474 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NV5655 View Post

I've read so much, I can't remember where I saw this, but apparently VLC CAN play back HDDVD content.

It most definitely can't play commercial, AACS-protected HD DVDs.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #475 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 11:11 AM
Advanced Member
 
NV5655's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 608
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ahh, dang. So, I guess my only option is to hope that PowerDVD comes out with one that can sometime soon..
But at least that explained that .

Packing Protons - Freelance Videography

www.youtube.com/WPLJTV for 95.5 contests and concerts

www.youtube.com/NTV1978 for Geek stuff :)
NV5655 is offline  
post #476 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 11:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccparkhill View Post

My system is a Core 2 Duo E6300 with 2GB RAM, can anybody recommend an HDCP graphics card, I only have a cheap 7300LE at the moment.

I recommend either an ATI-based X1950 Pro with HDCP, or at least a 7600GT with HDCP. Anandtech has a good roundup.

I have a card that is not listed, however, the Asus EAX1950Pro.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
post #477 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 03:59 PM
Senior Member
 
Blippy2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 202
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
MidnightWatcher: for me the option for Hardware acceleration is greyed out if I am playing something in PowerDVD. However if you stop the player completely it allowe d me to turn it on. I went from 100% CPU usage on both cores on Athlon 64 X2 4600+ with Asus Nvidia 7950GT board (HDCP supported), and it would stutter/skip/desynch sound on scenes with lots of pixel changing (accessing menus slowed it down even more), down to 30-50% with smooth playback and totally responsive menus once I had hardware acceleration on. So a good video card with hardware acceleration drivers is a MUST.
Blippy2005 is offline  
post #478 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 04:17 PM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by darp View Post

I tried playing King Kong on my non-HCDCP card connected thru DVI to my monitor. The Movie starts playing and after few seconds a message pops up saying that this content is not allowed to be played like this. So it seems that PowerDVD has some kind of watchdog thread that cancels the playback if the path is not protected.

You can play them over analog (VGA) without HDCP, but you have to have HDCP if your connection is digital (DVI, HDMI).
talon95 is offline  
post #479 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 04:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 988
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by MidnightWatcher View Post

I recommend either an ATI-based X1950 Pro with HDCP, or at least a 7600GT with HDCP. Anandtech has a good roundup.

I have a card that is not listed, however, the Asus EAX1950Pro.

I have an MSI 7600GT that works really well. It's all you'll need unless you're in to serious gaming.
talon95 is offline  
post #480 of 2767 Old 11-25-2006, 04:41 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
MidnightWatcher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 6,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blippy2005 View Post

MidnightWatcher: for me the option for Hardware acceleration is greyed out if I am playing something in PowerDVD. However if you stop the player completely it allowe d me to turn it on. I went from 100% CPU usage on both cores on Athlon 64 X2 4600+ with Asus Nvidia 7950GT board (HDCP supported), and it would stutter/skip/desynch sound on scenes with lots of pixel changing (accessing menus slowed it down even more), down to 30-50% with smooth playback and totally responsive menus once I had hardware acceleration on. So a good video card with hardware acceleration drivers is a MUST.

I guess it can't be enabled yet with an ATI-based board right now, or perhaps there is a setting somewhere that will enable acceleration in ATI's control panel? If there is I haven't found it.

Please feel free to visit MidnightWatcher's Blogspot or follow my NEWS feed on Twitter.
MidnightWatcher is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off