Xbox 360 HD DVD Addon -- Works on an HTPC!? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 02:24 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

I've been mucking in the registry for an hour. There's all sorts of crazy stuff in there, but I didn't really notice any changes turning stuff on and off.

Did the same thing last night, with same results

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 02:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by himey View Post

My bad it looks like patsfan123 did just that!

Yeah, looks like WinDVD8HD outputs full rez when the disc is not protected by AACS. That "1080i patterns" disc was authored by me, btw, from streams I found on the net. Apparently some of those originate from http://www.w6rz.net/

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #183 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 05:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
FYI, it also plays homemade BDs at full rez.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #184 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 05:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This is nothing new, but as a data point I just got the Jap. WinDVD installed and working. 960x540p for me also and that is through my MSI 7600GT with HDCP connected through DVI to my Infocus 4805 projector. I even tried it with only the projector connected, but no luck.

Config:

C2D E6300@2.8Gig
Gigabyte DS3
MSI 7600GT HDCP (93.71 drivers)
WinDVD HD Japanese version

One bit of good news was that it was only peaking at about 40% CPU usage playing King Kong, so no problems there, at least not at that res.

For now this is fine for me as my projector is only 480p. Hopefully it'll get fixed down the road.

Dave G.
talon95 is offline  
post #185 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 06:24 AM
 
new04quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by curtisb View Post

It is in English and such if that is your question. It just seems to have the extra bits of HD-DVD or bluray support. Though as others have noted, it isn't full resolution and it obviously has a lot of chance of not working on your particular configuration. I installed the US version on accident at first before buying it from the Japanese site (very concerning but following the instructions I had no problems) and didn't notice any differences besides the secondary HD windvd application folder and application (looks the same).

Did you get the US or JP WinDVD8 platinum to work with the new HD-DVD player by Xbox? Where did you get the HD-DVD driver for PC?
new04quest is offline  
post #186 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 06:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No, the US WinDVD8 DOES NOT work. It doesn't contain the right stuff. You must have the Japanese version.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #187 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 06:54 AM
Member
 
mmortal03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 94
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

Yeah, looks like WinDVD8HD outputs full rez when the disc is not protected by AACS. That "1080i patterns" disc was authored by me, btw, from streams I found on the net. Apparently some of those originate from http://www.w6rz.net/

Great, so they are second guessing the lack of the ICT being enabled on a COMMERCIAL AACS protected disc, and applying the downrez anyway.

I can't even think of a reason why they could be sued for following the letter of the law of the industry, when it is the industry ITSELF that has decided to NOT enable the ICT initially.

What, do they think that we will come up with some way of copying an uncompressed 720p recording frame by frame? That is completely unfeasible with today's hardware and software.
mmortal03 is offline  
post #188 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 07:02 AM
 
new04quest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,027
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

No, the US WinDVD8 DOES NOT work. It doesn't contain the right stuff. You must have the Japanese version.

Do you happen to have a working Xbox HD-DVD driver for PC?
new04quest is offline  
post #189 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 07:31 AM
Member
 
thexder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
XP Drivers are on this page

Vista does not require these drivers.
thexder is offline  
post #190 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 07:33 AM
Member
 
unimatrixzer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyway to take the update for WinDVD HD 7.5 and some how replace the correct files in WinDVD 7.0 to turn it into 7.5?
unimatrixzer0 is offline  
post #191 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by new04quest View Post

Do you happen to have a working Xbox HD-DVD driver for PC?

You don't need any drivers for XP, if all you want to do is view movies. WinDVD HD and PowerDVD HD both contain the required stuff for movie playback. If, however, you want to look at the file system/directory structure on the disc, you need a driver for XP.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #192 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 07:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
talon95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 999
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The Jap. WinDVD HD is a full separate app. I haven't had time to look at what it installed, but the installer is 200+meg vs. 70-80 for the U.S. WinDVD.

That said, I also did try applying the update to the U.S. version, but it just gave me an incorrect version error and quit.

Dave G.
talon95 is offline  
post #193 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 08:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
cgmoore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 669
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
madpoet, is blueray also downres'd?

Please pray for peace.
cgmoore is offline  
post #194 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 08:35 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes... but a workaround is brewing. Details to be released once it's completely confirmed. Many thanks to pteittinen!

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #195 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 08:48 AM
Member
 
bton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone has any luck with Toshiba HD-DVD player?
bton is offline  
post #196 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 08:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bton View Post

Anyone has any luck with Toshiba HD-DVD player?

The drive in Toshiba's HD DVD stand alone players does not have AACS in the hardware, so it can't be used for movie playback in Windows.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #197 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 08:59 AM
Senior Member
 
Cipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pteittinen,

Any idea if this is also true for the HDDVD Addon?
Cipher is offline  
post #198 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:05 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
He doesn't have one, I'll test it tonight and let you know.

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #199 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:07 AM
Member
 
unimatrixzer0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by pteittinen View Post

The drive in Toshiba's HD DVD stand alone players does not have AACS in the hardware, so it can't be used for movie playback in Windows.

I think what that user was talking about is Toshiba came out with their own HD-DVD player software to replace WinDVD HD in their newer HD-DVD laptops.
unimatrixzer0 is offline  
post #200 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by unimatrixzer0 View Post

I think what that user was talking about is Toshiba came out with their own HD-DVD player software to replace WinDVD HD in their newer HD-DVD laptops.

Ohh, heh, OK

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #201 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cipher View Post

pteittinen,

Any idea if this is also true for the HDDVD Addon?

Like madpoet said, I don't have one (yet). But if I were to make a guess, I'd say it won't work. The main reason being that the WinDVD I got working is for Blu-ray - and when you install the Japanese WinDVD 8, it asks you if you want to install the Blu-ray or the HD DVD version. They're not quite the same application.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #202 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:16 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm hopeful I can figure out the changes it makes and apply them to the HD version however .

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #203 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
pteittinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 3,790
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the set-up menu there's at least one leaflet which is different in BD and HD versions.

Please, feel free to call me by my first name, Petri.
pteittinen is offline  
post #204 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:36 AM
Member
 
thexder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was not able to get any further with the Toshiba HD-DVD player software. It would seem that there are additional files required which would have been included on the original cd-based installation.
thexder is offline  
post #205 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:39 AM
Senior Member
 
Cipher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 203
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bton View Post

Anyone has any luck with Toshiba HD-DVD player?

I've been trying this player but I get a registration error during installation (for 2 video decoder files - see my earlier post) and a configuration error when starting the application.

I even used FileMon to see which files the app was requesting and noticed two were missing from my system: thci.dll (Toshiba common module file) and mfc42loc.dll (MS Visual C++ file). I downloaded and registered these dlls and this time the Toshiba player found these files and ran without any "Missing" errors in Filemon. Unfortunately, the configuration error message still appeared!

Until WinDVD/PowerDVD release paches, I think this player might be our best chance to get 1080p for HDDVD.
Cipher is offline  
post #206 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 09:43 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
madpoet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 14,003
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We'll see. I am semi-confident I will be able to get the BD patch to unlock the same settings for the HD version of WinDVD. But I won't be able to test it until later tonight.

-MP

Someday maybe I'll actually WATCH my projector...
madpoet is offline  
post #207 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 10:24 AM
Member
 
thexder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by madpoet View Post

We'll see. I am semi-confident I will be able to get the BD patch to unlock the same settings for the HD version of WinDVD. But I won't be able to test it until later tonight.

-MP

Everyone is looking forward to reading about your progress later tonight.
thexder is offline  
post #208 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 10:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
bhazard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: NY
Posts: 2,418
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 36
If someone can zip up the original installation disc for the toshiba HD-DVD software, this could go a long way in getting HD-DVD to work.
bhazard is offline  
post #209 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
edrossy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chitown
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The changes for hardware acceleration may be a registry setting? Can someone with toshiba HD-DVD (WinDVD HD version) software running at 1080p with hardware acceleration enabled export their registry settings.
edrossy is offline  
post #210 of 2767 Old 11-15-2006, 11:17 AM
Senior Member
 
edrossy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Chitown
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Did anyone say ANYHDDVD or ANYBDDVD???
If they did come out with those versions, any idea how much load would be put on the CPU when decrypting?
edrossy is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off