Semi-Official BD and HD DVD on an HTPC Configuration/Playback FAQ - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 910 Old 07-07-2007, 07:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by jojoxl View Post

I would suggest going with a Core 2 Duo processor at least 2Ghz. With the new AVC offload engine in the Geforce 8500/8600 cards, you don't need a monster CPU. Same thing will probably go for the ATI/AMD 2400/2600 cards, but I haven't seen any video tests on those yet. Feature wise, the 2400/2600 cards do decode VC-1 in hardware, while the 8500/8600 cards don't. From what I've been hearing, VC-1 isn't a hardware hog decoding wise, so it probably won't matter.

No specific recommendation on motherboards. Any P965/P35 board from a quality vendor (Asus, etc.) should be fine. Whether you go ATX or MicroATX will depend on your case and how many PCI/PCI-E slots you need.

I will be getting the Intel e6750 processor when the price cut comes later this month. I am finding a lot of motherboards that will work. The video card is next. I checked about the HD2400 card, but apparently it is still a work in progress.

The Geforce 8500/8500 are about the same price as the new ATI 2900 series which is more than I want to spend if possible. Also I am thinking I will need to upgrade my PSU unit to handle these cards.

Are there any other options or will I have to suck-it-up and pay the big $$?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 910 Old 07-07-2007, 09:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 104
"big $$$" is relative, I guess. There are some Geforce 8500 cards in the $99 range. I don't think you'll find a cheaper solution to HR playback. (Note that the XP drivers for HD acceleration still don't exist for teh 8500/8600, which is a drag.)

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #363 of 910 Old 07-07-2007, 10:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Hmmm - I was looking at the GTS/GTX cards. Will the regular 8500 cards work?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #364 of 910 Old 07-07-2007, 10:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 104
For video, my impression is "yes" but since there are no drivers with the PureVideo for XP yet, I guess I cannot say for sure.

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #365 of 910 Old 07-07-2007, 11:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Is anyone using the x1950xt successfully?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #366 of 910 Old 07-08-2007, 06:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Okay, simple question for someone coming late to the party.... do the DirectShow filters that come with PowerDVD or WinDVD work for HDDVD/BRD OUTSIDE the supplied application, i.e. in graphedit or Zoomplayer ??


Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #367 of 910 Old 07-08-2007, 02:57 PM
Newbie
 
spazzbecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi All
Ok after reading this forum and learning so much from you lot especially Mine, Sarvatt and Arfster as their posts are always very detailed and informative THANKS
I would like to have some assistance on the software side of my new HTPC .

Here's the Hardware side of it:

Antec Fusion life style case
1 x Foxconn G9657MA-8EKRS2H Socket 775 MB
Intel E6320 core2
Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 2600 XT 256MB GDDR4
2GB XMS DDR2 Corsair Ram
500GB x 2 WD HD's
Xbox 360 HDDVD drive (working on this )
Will use spdif out on Mother Board to my Krell processor
Windows Vista
Cyberlink power DVD V7.3 Bluray / HD DVD player
Also have a paid for copy of theatre tek

Display is a 46 Sharp 1080p LCD


I would like any advise from you guys on the codec installation and set up for the best HD performance, as this is where I get all confused ( always have a hard time with codecs) The material I view is backed up Bluray and HDDVD movies ( Evo ) files and also a lot of avi files as well.

Thanks for any advice as would love to help with any testing I can do for you guys.
spazzbecker is offline  
post #368 of 910 Old 07-08-2007, 03:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
spazzbecker,

Do you actually have the HD 2600XT or is it ordered?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #369 of 910 Old 07-08-2007, 04:40 PM
Newbie
 
spazzbecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by rgathright View Post

spazzbecker,

Do you actually have the HD 2600XT or is it ordered?

Being delivered on Tuesday.

Ordered from overclockers

cheers
spazzbecker is offline  
post #370 of 910 Old 07-08-2007, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know if the Intel DP35DPM motherboard will work OK with either Blu-ray of HD-DVD? This will be paired with the new Intel e6750.

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #371 of 910 Old 07-11-2007, 06:33 AM
Member
 
waverider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stratham, NH, 03833
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
HEY. I am in a lively debate with an Intel system builder over the details of a Vista based Media Center. It is apparent to me from following this thread that it is possible to integrate the XBox 360 drive for HD-DVD playback. But not so clear as to how seamless the user interface is. I have seen very little on this thread about the GUI.
I took a pretty long look around MS site and tried to figure out how a USB connected external drive would be accessed (XBox 360 for example). Can it be configured to be the default player? So that when you select play movie from the MC menu this is the device that you control? I would hope there is support for the XBox drive available so that you do not have to leave the MC menu and navigate around the desktop to access it and play a movie. Also, are there any problems using the XBox to play SD-DVD? Is this pretty seamless or are there several keystrokes and menu settings to navigate to do this?
Also curious about remote control solutions. I notice that the MS software enables basic changes to the codes so that some MS keyboard/remote keys can be changed. How useful are the optional MS MC remote when interfacing with the XBox drive? I found the MS page for the outboard XBox 360 drive yesterday but when I searched for it on the Microsoft site I just could not find it. Incredible how non-user friendly the kingdom of Microsoft is.
Here is a quote from the system builder regarding building a HTPC which integrates HD-DVD playback. Kind of discouraging and definitely at odds with the experiences of many on this thread. He based these comments on browsing a Vista user forum.

"Vista MCE does not natively integrate into decoders for blu-ray or
HDDVD. MCE will not play within the MCE interface blu-ray or HDDVD
discs.

They do offer what other users are calling a "half assed attempt" to make
it work. It involves writing a custom coded batch file to make Media
Center open a third party application when a blu-ray or HDDVD in
inserted. This will playback using the third party application but will
have no remote control features as MC is not actually running it. "

Thanks to all those in advance who wish to comment on this post, especially user interface/remote issues.
waverider is offline  
post #372 of 910 Old 07-11-2007, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
waverider, read the first post in this thread. You need PowerDVD or WinDVD to play HDDVD discs using the XBox HDDVD drive.
JDLIVE is offline  
post #373 of 910 Old 07-11-2007, 06:02 PM
Member
 
waverider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stratham, NH, 03833
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
A thank you to JD. I went back to first post. Got alot more out of it this time around.
After investigating the WINDVD Japanese version, it now seems like Cyberlink with PowerDVD Ultra has "the" solution for the moment.
And there are indications that it works pretty well with Windows Vista but I haven't really found a definitive answer to the question posted by Expletive back in April (post 332)...

"Once you have something like this (powerDVD 7.3) configured on a Vista MCE PC, can you play the movies right from the MCE interface or must you launch power DVD to play them?

Can Adam12Hicks, ckarabian or Ditcho or anyone else running this configuration please respond to this question. From what I can tell you/they are all running Power DVD 7.3 in Windows Vista.

Still searching for opinions on remote control solutions for this type of HTPC running two drives (XBox 360 external and internal drive for BD) in a Windows Vista environment.

Thanks again.
waverider is offline  
post #374 of 910 Old 07-11-2007, 06:19 PM
Member
 
waverider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Stratham, NH, 03833
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ditcho

Could you comment on running Power DVD 7.3 on a Windows Vista machine? Do you have to independently launch the Power DVD software or can you initiate DVD playback directly from the Media Center?

Thanks
waverider is offline  
post #375 of 910 Old 07-15-2007, 06:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rgathright's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Pearl River, La.
Posts: 4,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I am rebuilding my HTPC and plan on getting a HD-DVD burner when the prices come down more. I have been searching, but can only find a few and they are Toshiba's.

What options do I have for a pc based HD-DVD burner?

NEW ORLEANS SAINTS - SUPER BOWL XLIV CHAMPIONS
rgathright is offline  
post #376 of 910 Old 07-22-2007, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
rdunnill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: South Surrey, BC, Canada
Posts: 1,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are there any software players available that output full resolution over component for non-ICT discs?

Blu-ray: 50+
HD-DVD: 23
DVD: 600+ and lost count
rdunnill is offline  
post #377 of 910 Old 07-26-2007, 08:42 AM
Member
 
mkloharry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 39
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am reposting my question for help here, I think I posted in the wrong forum.

I have Windows XP SP2 with only 512 meg, Core2Duo running at 275, Msi 8600GTS with latest beta drivers, latest build of Powerdvd Ultra, X-box 360 HD DVD drive, Nvidia PureVideo 223, AnyHDDVD. Seems like I am not getting any hardware acc. When I trying to play King Kong, only HDDVD I have right now I get 95-100% cpu usage. CyberLink tech support has not been much help. When I play King Kong I get a moving picture for about 5 sec then picture freezes but sound plays fine. If I hit pause picture plays for about 5 sec then freezes again sound continues to play find. Could increasing my system memory alone cure this or is there another solution someone could recommend? I get the same results when I try to play King Kong from the hard drive, ripped with anyhddvd. I can watch HDTV with beyondTv am getting hardware acc only 5% cpu usage, Nvida icon pure video shows up on task bar. Can play al other types of HDDVD video clips with low CPU usage. Does anyone have any suggestions. Is anyone playing HDDVD with 512 meg?
mkloharry is offline  
post #378 of 910 Old 07-26-2007, 10:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 104
My understanding is that nVidia has not enable HD acceleration for the 8500 and 8600 series on XP yet. That would really hurt for h264 content, but I think King Kong is VC-1, so I would guess that your problem is RAM. Since you can get another 512meg for $20, it's probably a good investment.

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #379 of 910 Old 07-26-2007, 12:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 58
hi all,

I want to get the HD DVD play from my HTPC(s) and especially the upcoming 360 HD DVD add-on sales. I've read the whole thread and seems like HD DVD playback on HTPC is getting much maturer than even just 1/2 year ago!

it seems like as long as you either have a powerful CPU or a right video card, and HDCP'ed, you are ok on the video side. but I'm a bit confused on the audio side tho.....

I have a pretty highend Core2Duo processor on both of my HTPCs (living room & bedroom).

now questions:

1. - bedroom HTPC client is using a HD2400XT and connect to my HDTV (HDCP'ed) via just HDMI (included audio signal). I'm wondering has anyone tried that kinda connection (HDMI for both video & audio) and what kinda audio are you getting? stereo? DD 5.1? uncompressed DD??

2. - living room HTPC is using X1900XT and connecting to the HDTV via DVI, connecting to the receiver via SPDIF and is using onboard DDLive HD audio codec. now with this connection (SPDIF), what kinda audio will I get?? stereo? DD 5.1?

is it true that in order to get any DD 5.1 or surround sound, I'll have to connect it via analog connection?? if so, then what about the digital connection? what will I get?? and is there anyway to get the real DD trueHD or uncompressed audio from the HD DVD movies to the receiver?? or at the moment, there's no way to do that??

thank in advance!!

I'm really looking forward to integrated the HD DVD addon drive into my HTPC systems.
landshark1 is offline  
post #380 of 910 Old 07-27-2007, 11:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JDLIVE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Marlborough, MA
Posts: 2,943
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Send a message via Yahoo to JDLIVE
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

is it true that in order to get any DD 5.1 or surround sound, I'll have to connect it via analog connection?? if so, then what about the digital connection? what will I get?? and is there anyway to get the real DD trueHD or uncompressed audio from the HD DVD movies to the receiver?? or at the moment, there's no way to do that??

No, you can still use SP/DIF for the older DTS/DD51 audio.

To take advantage of the new lossless/uncompressed audio, you need either a sound card that can output 5.1/7.1 via analog, or a receiver with HDMI 1.1a (I think, check the receivers forum) and a source that can output the audio over HDMI (don't think there is anything for the HTPC yet).
JDLIVE is offline  
post #381 of 910 Old 07-28-2007, 09:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by JDLIVE View Post

No, you can still use SP/DIF for the older DTS/DD51 audio.

To take advantage of the new lossless/uncompressed audio, you need either a sound card that can output 5.1/7.1 via analog, or a receiver with HDMI 1.1a (I think, check the receivers forum) and a source that can output the audio over HDMI (don't think there is anything for the HTPC yet).

so I can still use SPDIF out from the mobo to my stereo and still having DD 5.1 sound right??

as for HDMI, I'm using 2400XT with HDMI output for both video & audio, would I get full lossless audio connecting this way??
landshark1 is offline  
post #382 of 910 Old 07-28-2007, 09:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

so I can still use SPDIF out from the mobo to my stereo and still having DD 5.1 sound right??

Yes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by landshark1 View Post

as for HDMI, I'm using 2400XT with HDMI output for both video & audio, would I get full lossless audio connecting this way??

Apparently the drivers/software to output lossless audio over HDMI don't exist (yet?).

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #383 of 910 Old 07-28-2007, 10:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
IAM4UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States
Posts: 6,052
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Just got a Pioneer BDC202 drive for my HTPC, and watched "Casino Royale" via PDVDU7.3 with uncompressed 5.1 LPCM audio over analog outs to my receiver's 8/6-channel input. Wow! That's the way to watch a movie at home!

Getting all this HTPC stuff to work should be easier than it is, but the results are very good.

A.L.a.E.o.t.U.S., as proven 3/21 - never forget.
Defend liberty.
Knowledge isn't Truth; it's just mindless agreement.
IAM4UK is offline  
post #384 of 910 Old 07-28-2007, 11:05 AM
AVS Special Member
 
landshark1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,450
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by nathan_h View Post

Yes.



Apparently the drivers/software to output lossless audio over HDMI don't exist (yet?).

great tks! I think I'll go get a xbox360 add on driver after the price cut then!!!
landshark1 is offline  
post #385 of 910 Old 07-28-2007, 12:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Schlotkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,871
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Question:

If I use a USB sound card with 5.1 analog outputs, will that still output uncompressed sound? It appears PCI cards will but I wanted to see about USB. (I'd be using a notebook w/ a blu-ray drive.)

Cheers,
CHris
Schlotkins is offline  
post #386 of 910 Old 07-28-2007, 03:50 PM
Member
 
Sam Dav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thing is driving me crazy. I use my HTPC with the latest PowerDVD to watch Blu-ray Discs. I get a little stutter when I set the resolution of my nVidia 7600GT to 1080i 60hz. When I watch the same movie at 720p 60hz, everything is better. I don't know how to solve this and it's driving me crazy.

It's no CPU problem because the CPU is at 60%.

It's not my Plasma display because at the same resolution with ZoomPlayer and mkv files I don't get that stutter.

I have updated everything including DirectX. Have no idea what to try next. Should I try PowerStrip? I'm suspecting that there is something wrong with PowerDVD.
Sam Dav is offline  
post #387 of 910 Old 07-30-2007, 04:39 PM
Member
 
Aggressor22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im having a question related to HTPC's. Can a HTPC be build so that it can do all what the PS3 can do? Like BD profile 2.0 (2 video/audio-decoders).
And should a htpc give better image quality or is it equal?
Aggressor22 is offline  
post #388 of 910 Old 07-30-2007, 07:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 104
There are things a PS3 can do a HTPC can't -- so far, like PCM full bit rate output from lossless sources -- in addition to not being able to play PS3 games.

There's lots a HTPC can do that a PS3 can't (way to many to list).

You'll find folks who claim and/or get a better image from an HTPC than anything else -- but it's at the cost of lots of tinkering and/or expensive parts and/or blind luck.

Do you like to be on the bleeding edge, have LOTS of options, and enjoy the frustrations that implies?

Or do you want to spend $500 and be done -- have good looking and sounding Blu-Ray playback, and not worry about flexibility?

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
post #389 of 910 Old 07-31-2007, 05:06 AM
Member
 
Aggressor22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why a pc cant do PCM full bit rate lossless? I thought that the sound on ps3 was done via Cell?
Aggressor22 is offline  
post #390 of 910 Old 07-31-2007, 10:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
nathan_h's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 5,179
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 158 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Some PCs have the technology, but no one has yet released the software and drivers.

____________________

Build Thread: "Nathan's Theater in Search of....".
nathan_h is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off