Semi-Official BD and HD DVD on an HTPC Configuration/Playback FAQ - Page 31 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #901 of 910 Old 03-26-2010, 08:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
Plasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very basic question-
I have an older HTPC (Core 2 Duo 2Ghz) and Soundblaster original Audigy with Windows XP Pro. Plays regular DVD's great with coaxial audio output. I want to add a BD SATA drive. Do I have enough horsepower, can you recommend a good inexpensive drive, and which software/drivers might I need? Thanks in advance!
Plasman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #902 of 910 Old 03-26-2010, 10:27 AM
Member
 
back2boston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: San Rafael, CA
Posts: 120
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You'll need to check for driver support to confirm sound card and BD player support, etc. (although I imagine it will be fine, esp if staying with XP), but in my opinion you can't go wrong with the Lite-On IHOS104.

Tiger Direct has it about as cheap as you can find:

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...9&Sku=L12-1332

Comes with PowerDVD 8 OEM. You must upgrade that to v9 'Ultra' to get full DD/DTS etc. surround sound decoding (will cost another $60 or so from PowerDVD's web site). Do it.
back2boston is offline  
post #903 of 910 Old 03-27-2010, 07:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
Plasman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Diego
Posts: 568
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you very much for the advice. I've always liked Lite-On drives.
Plasman is offline  
post #904 of 910 Old 04-29-2010, 07:22 PM
Senior Member
 
cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK, stupid question.

I've got an HTPC connected to my TV via HDMI and to my receiver (older one, Sony STR-DG800) via optical S/PDIF, and Arcsoft's TMT3. And that works fine, except of course I'm limited to lossy audio (I have to set TMT3 to downmix).

The STR-DG800 has 7.1 analog inputs (though I'm only using 5 speakers + SW). So. Assuming I can re-assign the motherboard's audio ports appropriately, in theory can I run audio cables from the PC to the analog inputs and set TMT3 to decode DTS-MA and Dolby TrueHD and get the better audio?

--
Christopher D. Heer
Disclaimer: I neither speak for nor represent my employer or its views.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Work is the curse of the drinking classes.
cheer is offline  
post #905 of 910 Old 04-29-2010, 08:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
be wary of what your AVR will NOT do when processing analog inputs...

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #906 of 910 Old 04-29-2010, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

be wary of what your AVR will NOT do when processing analog inputs...

Meaning what, exactly?

--
Christopher D. Heer
Disclaimer: I neither speak for nor represent my employer or its views.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Work is the curse of the drinking classes.
cheer is offline  
post #907 of 910 Old 04-30-2010, 11:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jimwhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Saint Petersburg, FL USA
Posts: 5,372
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
bass management, Audessy, etc....

Jim White
St. Petersburg, FL
jimwhite is offline  
post #908 of 910 Old 04-30-2010, 11:08 PM
Member
 
proteus7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 48
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Any idea how to get S/PDIF to do more than 2 channel audio?
I have an Asus P5Q-EM based HTPC, and using onboard realtek audio (s/pdif out) I can never get more than 2 channels. Running TMT3, output is set to S/PDIF. Receiver (Pioneer) shows 5.1 input, but is only playing through 2 channels. Windows NEVER gives me an option for more than 2 channel audio. Any ideas? Even on a DTS-HD source (Avatar), I'm getting downmixed to 2-channel DTS...
proteus7 is offline  
post #909 of 910 Old 05-01-2010, 12:12 PM
Senior Member
 
cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimwhite View Post

bass management, Audessy, etc....

Ah, OK. Well, it's a pretty basic receiver and it doesn't do much of that anyway, so I'm cool with that limitation.

--
Christopher D. Heer
Disclaimer: I neither speak for nor represent my employer or its views.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Work is the curse of the drinking classes.
cheer is offline  
post #910 of 910 Old 05-01-2010, 12:13 PM
Senior Member
 
cheer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gurnee, IL
Posts: 366
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by proteus7 View Post

Any idea how to get S/PDIF to do more than 2 channel audio?
I have an Asus P5Q-EM based HTPC, and using onboard realtek audio (s/pdif out) I can never get more than 2 channels. Running TMT3, output is set to S/PDIF. Receiver (Pioneer) shows 5.1 input, but is only playing through 2 channels. Windows NEVER gives me an option for more than 2 channel audio. Any ideas? Even on a DTS-HD source (Avatar), I'm getting downmixed to 2-channel DTS...

You might have to fiddle with the Realtek settings to tell it you have a 5.1 speaker setup. My Realtek has a "speaker configuration" setting.

--
Christopher D. Heer
Disclaimer: I neither speak for nor represent my employer or its views.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oscar Wilde
Work is the curse of the drinking classes.
cheer is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off