Does MPACT2 Coexist with HPix ? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 03:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would like to to add HPix to my computer with the MPACT2 motherboard ?

Cliff, any way this would work ?

Gireesh.
gireesh is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 04:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gireesh:
I would like to to add HPix to my computer with the MPACT2 motherboard ?

Cliff, any way this would work ?

Gireesh.
Gireesh,

You are going to make me pull the HiPix out of one HTPC and install it in the Cassini, are you. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif Hope you don't mind if I do it after CBS HDTV programs are over. I'll post later tonight.


------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 05:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
clopez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,097
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Cliff,
What will we have to do to have Hpix also add support for 800x600 resolution for us less fortunate SVGA projector people..

PS will the HPix card work with my trusty 3Dfusion moded pci card.

clopez
clopez is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Vasim Pathan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Posts: 1,274
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cliff,

Let me rephrase clopez's question:

What will we have to do to have HiPix also add support for 800x600 resolution for us less fortunate SVGA projector people..


http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/biggrin.gif
Vasim Pathan is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 05:58 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If the HiPix card works with the Cassini it should work with the add-in Mpact2 card also.

It should be easy to add 800x600 VGA resolution to the HiPix, BUT the HDTV content will be at full resolution. The card does not downconvert to letterbox and unless you can compress the vert. image, you're screwed.


------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why is the HiPix unable to do letterbox for HDTV? Is it a hardware limitation? Or will they add this feature in the future as a software update?
Erik Garci is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 11:12 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Erik Garci:
Why is the HiPix unable to do letterbox for HDTV? Is it a hardware limitation? Or will they add this feature in the future as a software update?
Maybe because HDTV is not broadcast in letterbox?


------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 11-30-2000, 11:15 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by gireesh:
I would like to to add HPix to my computer with the MPACT2 motherboard ?

Cliff, any way this would work ?

Gireesh.
Gireesh,

It works!! I captured to hard drive and all. Looks like the RKR Cassini will be our first HDTV enabled HTPC.


------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 12-01-2000, 08:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Erik Garci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Durham, NC, USA
Posts: 4,770
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Cliff Watson:
Maybe because HDTV is not broadcast in letterbox?
The fact that HDTV is not broadcast in letterbox does not prevent the receiver from converting it to letterbox for display purposes. Some receivers on the market create a 16:9 image with black bars on top and bottom for 4:3 screens.
Erik Garci is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 12-01-2000, 08:24 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
trbarry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Gainesville FL USA
Posts: 10,138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So what would I see on my screen if I watched an HDTV 16:9 show? I thought Ray said you could tell the HiPix you have a 4:3 set.

I have a Toshiba 4:3 set with no zoom/squeeze options.

- Tom

Why don't we power our electric cars from greener, cheaper Liquid Fluoride Thorium Reactors?

Tom Barry - Find my video filters at www.trbarry.com
trbarry is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 12-01-2000, 10:24 AM
Member
 
Ken Wong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Livingston, NJ USA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Cliff,

So the Hipix does not require video overlay? Or does the Mpact2 on the
Cassini support overlays. I have the add in AGP Mpact2 video card, and thought that it did not support overlays.

I have been trying to get other TV cards to work with the Mpact2. The Hauppauge card works, but DTV does not since it needs overlay mode for operation. Is this correct?

Thanks
Ken
Ken Wong is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 12-01-2000, 11:00 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Ken Wong:
Cliff,

So the Hipix does not require video overlay? Or does the Mpact2 on the
Cassini support overlays. I have the add in AGP Mpact2 video card, and thought that it did not support overlays.

I have been trying to get other TV cards to work with the Mpact2. The Hauppauge card works, but DTV does not since it needs overlay mode for operation. Is this correct?

Thanks
Ken
Ken,

The HiPix card has its own graphics controller and only uses the primary video card to display the HiPix Control Panel (User Interface). You can have two display devices connected to the HTPC (a PC monitor and a projector or HDTV) or use the loopback cable for one display device. With one display device an analog switch on the HiPix will block the main video cards output and switch to full screen HDTV from the HiPix.


------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 12-01-2000, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
gireesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: McKinney, TX, USA
Posts: 1,360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks Cliff, MPACT2 lives in my HTPC. Well, if only HPix supported scaling to 800x600 that my projector can handle... I have no intention of upgrading till the 1280x720 DLP front projectors are out. Sound Advice is already selling a 1280x720 DLP RPTV so an FPTV can't be that far behind.

Gireesh.
gireesh is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 12-02-2000, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
cgblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
OK Cliff, let's push the MPact2 envelope for a second.

I have a 3DCinemax MB based HTPC and love it.

Now we can add the HiPix card. Can I also add a Zoltrix or other dTV compatible capture card.

I would imagine then I would have four viewing modes (HDTV, dTV, DVD and Desktop) that could all be switched with some simple keystrokes.

Will this work?

Thanks,
Graeme Black

Graeme Black
My HT construction page
Nothing can be made idiot-proof, because idiots are far too clever ...
cgblack is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 12-02-2000, 02:47 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Cliff Watson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Augusta, GA (for real)
Posts: 14,159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Graeme,

Why would you add yet another NTSC capture card when the HiPix has a tuner onboard and will detect the 3/2 pulldown, deinterlace and scale the image for you. The HiPix also has S-Video/composite input that will do the same thing.

But to answer your question, the Mpact2 has very limited overlay support. At the most 640x480 windowed.




------------------
Best Regards, Cliff
Digital Connection, LLC
cwatson53@home.com
Cliff Watson is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 12-02-2000, 10:51 PM
Advanced Member
 
cgblack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Vacaville, CA, USA
Posts: 554
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally posted by Cliff Watson:
Graeme,

Why would you add yet another NTSC capture card when the HiPix has a tuner onboard and will detect the 3/2 pulldown, deinterlace and scale the image for you. The HiPix also has S-Video/composite input that will do the same thing.

But to answer your question, the Mpact2 has very limited overlay support. At the most 640x480 windowed.

So I can watch VCR/DBS content. Will the HiPix do NTSC Capture other than via tuner?

Nevermind I didn't read the whole answer. The SVideo input will suffice. Thanks,

Graeme

[This message has been edited by cgblack (edited 12-03-2000).]

Graeme Black
My HT construction page
Nothing can be made idiot-proof, because idiots are far too clever ...
cgblack is offline  
Closed Thread Home Theater Computers

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off