PowerDVD Ultra (HD-DVD and Blu-Ray) - Page 276 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #8251 of 8263 Old 01-04-2015, 11:47 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Robert Clark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: The OC
Posts: 4,278
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 49
While I wouldn't disagree with you, and I use Plex to stream all my ripped movies, I've found PowerDVD fine for playing my ripped 3D blu-rays...

Robert Clark
Robert Clark is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #8252 of 8263 Old 01-05-2015, 11:44 AM
Advanced Member
 
isamu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: los angeles, CA
Posts: 855
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
vlc?
Al you've been a member here since 2002 and you've never heard of VLC player?

Anyway VLC player plays BD disks effortlessly and kicks the **** out of the bloatware known as PowerDVD/Cyberlink.
isamu is offline  
post #8253 of 8263 Old 01-05-2015, 11:55 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,269
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by isamu View Post
Al you've been a member here since 2002 and you've never heard of VLC player?

Anyway VLC player plays BD disks effortlessly and kicks the **** out of the bloatware known as PowerDVD/Cyberlink.

Yes, and no, I used PowerDVD for years and when that became too cumbersome due to copyright issues and the like I deep sixed the entire HTPC process.


I now see very little benefit in ripping BD's to a HTPC just to play them back from there as opposed to playing them in a stand alone player, the hours I spent on that process were interesting and didn't save me any money especially if you value your spare time.


If you are telling me that VLC can single handed play back BD disks from a PC BD drive it might have been worth a look, still, need to consider the latest sound as well, if I can't get Atmos from the PC then I am still out.

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
 
post #8254 of 8263 Old 01-05-2015, 02:13 PM
Member
 
mahm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 10
While we are on the subject, something else which was 'bugging' me was the fact that actual picture quality from a HTPC was inferior to the same disc played via a stand alone bd player.

I calibrated both sources (HTPC and stand alone BD player) to my projector with a calibration disc and always preferred the image quality from the stand alone player.

The thing with Cyberlink is that they will always want the end user to 'upgrade' the and discs that worked previously will then not work when an update was applied. The hours then spent updating drivers for graphics cards and keeping fingers crossed to see if the system worked was a pain in the rear.

I have never 'updated' my stand alone player that I have had for years and every disc I have played on it just works. I have not even connected the player to the internet as I see no need for it. When it refuses to play discs, then I will probably look to update it.
mahm is offline  
post #8255 of 8263 Old 01-05-2015, 02:28 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,269
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 277
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahm View Post
While we are on the subject, something else which was 'bugging' me was the fact that actual picture quality from a HTPC was inferior to the same disc played via a stand alone bd player.

I calibrated both sources (HTPC and stand alone BD player) to my projector with a calibration disc and always preferred the image quality from the stand alone player.

The thing with Cyberlink is that they will always want the end user to 'upgrade' the and discs that worked previously will then not work when an update was applied. The hours then spent updating drivers for graphics cards and keeping fingers crossed to see if the system worked was a pain in the rear.

I have never 'updated' my stand alone player that I have had for years and every disc I have played on it just works. I have not even connected the player to the internet as I see no need for it. When it refuses to play discs, then I will probably look to update it.

I have to agreed with you, essentially my experience was the same, and I will add a few more points:

  1. My wife hated the HTPC and the complicated processes required just to play a movie, definitely not plug and play!
  2. Cost, even a reasonably priced BD player at $150 is FAR cheaper then any real HTPC, heck even the CPU's I was buying exceeded that cost.
  3. Light and noise, used to put a piece of cardboard over the LED's that looked more like laser pointers when the room lights were down low.

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #8256 of 8263 Old 02-10-2015, 02:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
sanderdvd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: The Netherlands, Europe
Posts: 2,359
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 31
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
I have to agreed with you, essentially my experience was the same, and I will add a few more points:

  1. My wife hated the HTPC and the complicated processes required just to play a movie, definitely not plug and play!
  2. Cost, even a reasonably priced BD player at $150 is FAR cheaper then any real HTPC, heck even the CPU's I was buying exceeded that cost.
  3. Light and noise, used to put a piece of cardboard over the LED's that looked more like laser pointers when the room lights were down low.

It seems like when I run PowerDVD (14) my 3D .ISO movies are played back at 24fps. My projector also reports this. After closing PowerDVD my AMD desktop is on 1920x1080p24 profile too...... I can switch my AMD desktop to 1920x1080p23 then (which is actually 1920x1080@23,976 as you guys might know already) but PowerDVD somehow automatically switches to 24 as it seems.

This 24 vs. 23,976 problem is a common problem with standalone media players but I cannot imagine PowerDVD has no awareness of this problem?!
sanderdvd is offline  
post #8257 of 8263 Old 02-10-2015, 12:26 PM
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Here's a few questions about PowerDVD 14 that maybe someone can answer who has it... Still using TMT 6 but, as it's no more, support is gone too...might be time to upgrade...


1. Does it still come with a Windows Media Center interface plugin that can be fully controlled with a remote ?


2. I know a old topic but, does PDVD 14 still play back HD-DVD movies or is that feature completely gone from the new versions (still have some movies around) ?


Thanks !

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #8258 of 8263 Old 02-11-2015, 05:35 PM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 2,191
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post
Here's a few questions about PowerDVD 14 that maybe someone can answer who has it... Still using TMT 6 but, as it's no more, support is gone too...might be time to upgrade...


1. Does it still come with a Windows Media Center interface plugin that can be fully controlled with a remote ?


2. I know a old topic but, does PDVD 14 still play back HD-DVD movies or is that feature completely gone from the new versions (still have some movies around) ?


Thanks !
I think this thread was actually originally for PDVD 7.x, lol. There are newer threads for the newer versions but clearly they were never as active as this thread was.


Anyway as we are "here" already...


1. Hmm well I just started up WMC (which I never use) and yeah I do see a PDVD entry in there and I can start it up from within WMC. I didn't try playing anything but yeah looks like it's there. Given I can control PDVD (desktop mode) fine with my remote I'm thinking the same should work for the WMC applet or whatever you call it.


2. No, unfortunately not. Last PDVD that played HD-DVD was PDVD 7.5. You can still leave that version installed if you have it though, it will co-exist beside any newer version you install. As a side note I know TMT supported HD-DVD "unofficially" in version 5 (version 3 was the last with official support) but I'm unsure if it still worked in 6 or not.


Really your best bet with HD-DVD is either rip them and keep them on HDD/storage, or convert them to BDs using BD-R discs. The other problem with HD-DVD as I've read, is many of the discs "go bad" over the years and develop playback problems. I have about 5-6 myself but haven't tried them in some time. I'm probably going to pick up some BD-Rs to convert mine myself, if they're even still playable that is!
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #8259 of 8263 Old 02-12-2015, 05:40 AM
Advanced Member
 
DavidinCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Someplace in CT
Posts: 882
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 283 Post(s)
Liked: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by ES_Revenge View Post
I think this thread was actually originally for PDVD 7.x, lol. There are newer threads for the newer versions but clearly they were never as active as this thread was.


Anyway as we are "here" already...


1. Hmm well I just started up WMC (which I never use) and yeah I do see a PDVD entry in there and I can start it up from within WMC. I didn't try playing anything but yeah looks like it's there. Given I can control PDVD (desktop mode) fine with my remote I'm thinking the same should work for the WMC applet or whatever you call it.


2. No, unfortunately not. Last PDVD that played HD-DVD was PDVD 7.5. You can still leave that version installed if you have it though, it will co-exist beside any newer version you install. As a side note I know TMT supported HD-DVD "unofficially" in version 5 (version 3 was the last with official support) but I'm unsure if it still worked in 6 or not.


Really your best bet with HD-DVD is either rip them and keep them on HDD/storage, or convert them to BDs using BD-R discs. The other problem with HD-DVD as I've read, is many of the discs "go bad" over the years and develop playback problems. I have about 5-6 myself but haven't tried them in some time. I'm probably going to pick up some BD-Rs to convert mine myself, if they're even still playable that is!

Thanks, I did a quick install of the demo for it on my desktop computer and saw the WMC interface, cool, it looks better than TMT6 and now that it's updated that might be a better product to play Blu-ray movies. I have TMT6 now but, now that support ended, it might be a good idea to upgrade to something supported. Yes, TMT6 does play back HD-DVD but, questionable performance (doing testing to see if it is my machine)

If I get time this weekend, I will install the demo on my HTPC to see how well it runs (dedicated WMC machine).

Yea, I was thinking about just ripping the HD-DVD movies to about 10-12gb each(with it's DD/DTS-HD audio tracks), In past videos of BR rips I have used, best balance for quality/size. What is the best way to do that ?

-Dave

MCSE 2003
Windows Media Center specialist - MVP and Certified Home Theater specialist

Avid gamer and home theater junkie..
DavidinCT is offline  
post #8260 of 8263 Old 02-12-2015, 09:29 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 2,191
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidinCT View Post
Yea, I was thinking about just ripping the HD-DVD movies to about 10-12gb each(with it's DD/DTS-HD audio tracks), In past videos of BR rips I have used, best balance for quality/size. What is the best way to do that ?
That I'm not sure about. I was thinking more along the lines of ripping/transferring at full quality. But whatever programs/methods you were using for BD rips, should work fine on HD-DVD as well.
DavidinCT likes this.
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #8261 of 8263 Old 02-12-2015, 11:00 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,269
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 277
^^


Interesting, I had not really given much thought to the actual HD-DVD going 'bad', but I suppose it could happen. I have over 100 and a number of payers to use them in.


If I have to archive them to save them I am not of the point, almost all of them are available as a BD pressing so I am not sure what value the archived version would have?

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
post #8262 of 8263 Old 02-12-2015, 11:12 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
ES_Revenge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Toronto, ON Canada
Posts: 2,191
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 419 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
^^


Interesting, I had not really given much thought to the actual HD-DVD going 'bad', but I suppose it could happen. I have over 100 and a number of payers to use them in.
Neither had I but there are actually a lot of posts on AVS and elsewhere describing the problems with aging HD-DVDs and "disc-rot". I guess it's just another good reason the format died, lol. If it had 'won' imagine the number of complaints you'd be seeing now of discs only a few years old not working right anymore :O

Quote:
Originally Posted by Al Sherwood View Post
If I have to archive them to save them I am not of the point, almost all of them are available as a BD pressing so I am not sure what value the archived version would have?
I would think the value they'd have is just so you don't have to buy them all over again, on BD. Granted some titles may be cheap on BD these days, but it might still be a bit of money to spend to replace them with Blus if you had many of them. Personally I'm not that worried as I only have a handful of them myself. A couple I've even ended up with the Blu version now anyway. But for others, the disc-rot problem may be more of a concern and more of an incentive to get them ripped/converted before the discs go bad (if they haven't already).
ES_Revenge is offline  
post #8263 of 8263 Old 02-12-2015, 11:45 AM
AVS Forum Special Member
 
Al Sherwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Victoria, BC Canada
Posts: 4,269
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 756 Post(s)
Liked: 277
^^


Well maybe I will move the HD-DVD titles to the top of my list to watch once the HT is back in operation!


As for the 'disc-rot', that can happen with any optical disc media even Blu-ray, storage condition may have a role to play on that as well. Without getting into the whole BD vs HD-DVD, it was a good for all consumers that the battle was short.


As for replacement versions on BD, I have a number of collector editions of HD-DVD that will never be replaced, I guess that they will be relegated to the archive display along with my Laser Disc collection!

Al
Al Sherwood is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Movies

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off