PowerDVD Ultra (HD-DVD and Blu-Ray) - Page 43 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1261 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 11:07 AM
Member
 
kevekev30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see that a lot of people are having problems with powerdvd ultra 7.3. I think the issue is your combination of parts and drivers not powerdvd. I get perfect playback on a pentium d 920 cpu,intel 945p motherboard,2 gb ram nvidia 6600 not 6600gt using powerdvd 7.3 and nvidia 100.65 drivers. Although I only get perfect playback on VC1 and mpeg2 encoded blu-ray or hd-dvd, h264 playback is not smooth because my 920 cpu is at it's limit but if you have a combination better than mine than it's probably your video card driver.
kevekev30 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #1262 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 11:18 AM
Senior Member
 
bennynihon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Portland, OR USA
Posts: 295
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevekev30 View Post

I see that a lot of people are having problems with powerdvd ultra 7.3. I think the issue is your combination of parts and drivers not powerdvd.

this statement proves that it IS the problem of powerdvd. it should be more compabtible with a wider-range of modern video cards and drivers. it shouldn't be giving blue-screens of death.
bennynihon is offline  
post #1263 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 11:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bennynihon View Post

this statement proves that it IS the problem of powerdvd. it should be more compabtible with a wider-range of modern video cards and drivers. it shouldn't be giving blue-screens of death.

Without saying PDVD isn't full of bugs (it clearly is), but any bluescreen is never the fault of software applications. Windows never crashes if drivers and hardware are working properly.

To the guy two pasts back: I'm also using 100.65 with a 6600GT, and h264 discs now don't play at all (they did in 7.2 and 6.5). The problem is the 7.3 decoders, not the PDVD app itself - you can replicate it in graphedit with overlay, but VMR9 works. Of course, the PDVD app forces overlay.....


By the way, using PDVD codecs, Bluray discs can now be played in any Directshow app using VMR9. Looks great in Zoomplayer, totally smooth, perfect colours/ramps. Even better, X-men 3 with its peaks of 40mbit AVC (!!) never goes above 56% CPU on my machine, with GPU acceleration off.
arfster is offline  
post #1264 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 12:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
tahustvedt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK. I own 7 Ultra of course, but it doesn't sound like it's worth the trouble to ask Cyberlink for 7.3.

It's strange that they don't make the upgrade patch available through their member pages after login. It's supposed to make patches for the software I have registered available.
tahustvedt is offline  
post #1265 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 01:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Without saying PDVD isn't full of bugs (it clearly is), but any bluescreen is never the fault of software applications. Windows never crashes if drivers and hardware are working properly.

To the guy two pasts back: I'm also using 100.65 with a 6600GT, and h264 discs now don't play at all (they did in 7.2 and 6.5). The problem is the 7.3 decoders, not the PDVD app itself - you can replicate it in graphedit with overlay, but VMR9 works. Of course, the PDVD app forces overlay.....


By the way, using PDVD codecs, Bluray discs can now be played in any Directshow app using VMR9. Looks great in Zoomplayer, totally smooth, perfect colours/ramps. Even better, X-men 3 with its peaks of 40mbit AVC (!!) never goes above 56% CPU on my machine, with GPU acceleration off.

7.3 with Ultra is reporting that the color mode is being set to Vista Basic when I set it to use Best quality mode with my 8800GTS. That seems strange.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1266 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 01:33 PM
Member
 
kevekev30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Without saying PDVD isn't full of bugs (it clearly is), but any bluescreen is never the fault of software applications. Windows never crashes if drivers and hardware are working properly.

To the guy two pasts back: I'm also using 100.65 with a 6600GT, and h264 discs now don't play at all (they did in 7.2 and 6.5). The problem is the 7.3 decoders, not the PDVD app itself - you can replicate it in graphedit with overlay, but VMR9 works. Of course, the PDVD app forces overlay.....


By the way, using PDVD codecs, Bluray discs can now be played in any Directshow app using VMR9. Looks great in Zoomplayer, totally smooth, perfect colours/ramps. Even better, X-men 3 with its peaks of 40mbit AVC (!!) never goes above 56% CPU on my machine, with GPU acceleration off.

I had to totally uninstall all drivers through device manager to get powerdvd 7.3 to work right. Also I only see guys posting what kind of video card they have. Everyone with or without powerdvd 7.3 working post your system configuration and maybe we will see a pattern why its working or not working correctly for you.
kevekev30 is offline  
post #1267 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taz291819's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Huntsville, Al
Posts: 5,983
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

7.3 with Ultra is reporting that the color mode is being set to Vista Basic when I set it to use Best quality mode with my 8800GTS. That seems strange.

- Rich

It's turning off Aero.

Currently testing 3D with Sammy DLP, shutter glasses, and HTPC
taz291819 is offline  
post #1268 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
joikd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

By the way, using PDVD codecs, Bluray discs can now be played in any Directshow app using VMR9. Looks great in Zoomplayer, totally smooth, perfect colours/ramps. Even better, X-men 3 with its peaks of 40mbit AVC (!!) never goes above 56% CPU on my machine, with GPU acceleration off.

Wow! This is great! No more ugly overlay!

When you get a chance, please explain exactly how you set up Zoomplayer to play Bluray. I would very much appreciate it as I can only get audio to work.
joikd is offline  
post #1269 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by taz291819 View Post

It's turning off Aero.

Is that a good thing in that it means that PowerDVD is doing something more?

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1270 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 04:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

Is that a good thing in that it means that PowerDVD is doing something more?

Not really unfortunately - all it means is that the PowerDVD 7.x app (not the codecs) forces the overlay renderer with HD-DVD/Bluray discs. As this is incompatible with Aero, Vista auto-switches to basic mode.
arfster is offline  
post #1271 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 05:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
ymarker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 966
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevekev30 View Post

I had to totally uninstall all drivers through device manager to get powerdvd 7.3 to work right. Also I only see guys posting what kind of video card they have. Everyone with or without powerdvd 7.3 working post your system configuration and maybe we will see a pattern why its working or not working correctly for you.

7.3 seems to be working fine although parts of Babel seemed a little grainy - maybe just the source though. I've run VC1/AVC in HD-DVD and AVC in BD w/o any issues.

52" LCD 1920x1080p Sharp [HDCP]
8800GTX (not oc'd) [HDCP] DVI->HDMI
680i SLI mobo P25 bios (not oc'd)
C2D E6600 (not oc'd)
Using latest (official) drivers from nvidia.
XP MCE/Vista x64 Dual boot.
ymarker is offline  
post #1272 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 05:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pete4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,550
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post

Wow! This is great! No more ugly overlay!

When you get a chance, please explain exactly how you set up Zoomplayer to play Bluray. I would very much appreciate it as I can only get audio to work.

Since a lot of movies are recorded with mpeg2 on BR, shouldn't just about any good player handle those without a problem? I was hoping for zoomplayer to play HD-DVD movies which are mostly VC1, but no luck, even after installing 4 additional companion programs that come with it and what a pain to remove it later, when I realized it doesn't work.
pete4 is offline  
post #1273 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joikd View Post

Wow! This is great! No more ugly overlay!

When you get a chance, please explain exactly how you set up Zoomplayer to play Bluray. I would very much appreciate it as I can only get audio to work.


Nothing fancy - it just uses the default Cyberlink Demuxxer/avc codec/audio decoder, and Zoomplayer forces VMR9. On default settings these are close to the highest priority, so just check they're actually loading and you'll be fine.

FFDshow of course has higher priority than everything, so switch it off for h264 (it chokes on >30mbit AVC and artifacts some). For audio it will work through liba52 and AC3 output, but it can't passthrough (spdif in AC3 codec setting) yet.

At a guess, pretty much any Blu-ray should work with this setup, because the splitter is capable of handling VC1 and MPEG2 also. Possibly some audio formats might cause a hassle, but I can't see why this filter chain shouldn't work when it does in PDVD itself. Unfortunately I can't test my MPEG2 discs as my Bluray burner is fried (X-men was the only one I decrypted to disc cos its insane AVC peaks are a great burn-in test for my HTPC, the MPEG2 ones are easy meat by comparison!).
arfster is offline  
post #1274 of 8247 Old 03-11-2007, 06:51 PM
Member
 
steevo123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: NYC
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Everything is RED in Powerdvd 7.3 on my system. Trying to fix the color does not do much. (I cant use hardware acceleration-my card cant take it) I have a Geforece 7300 gs.

Is anyone else having this problem? And is there a workaround? Thnx

Some guy
steevo123 is offline  
post #1275 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 04:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
takisot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Nothing fancy - it just uses the default Cyberlink Demuxxer/avc codec/audio decoder, and Zoomplayer forces VMR9. On default settings these are close to the highest priority, so just check they're actually loading and you'll be fine.

FFDshow of course has higher priority than everything, so switch it off for h264 (it chokes on >30mbit AVC and artifacts some). For audio it will work through liba52 and AC3 output, but it can't passthrough (spdif in AC3 codec setting) yet.

At a guess, pretty much any Blu-ray should work with this setup, because the splitter is capable of handling VC1 and MPEG2 also. Possibly some audio formats might cause a hassle, but I can't see why this filter chain shouldn't work when it does in PDVD itself. Unfortunately I can't test my MPEG2 discs as my Bluray burner is fried (X-men was the only one I decrypted to disc cos its insane AVC peaks are a great burn-in test for my HTPC, the MPEG2 ones are easy meat by comparison!).

Is this possible for HD-DVDs?

A Never Ending Quest Τowards Visual Nirvana..
takisot is offline  
post #1276 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 05:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
John Kotches's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Troy, IL USA (St. Louis Area)
Posts: 7,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by takisot View Post

John, set your desktop resolution/reftesh at 1080p24 and leave reclock to Auto (no need to change it to 24, reclock will make the appropriate adjustments).Alternate solution: set your desktop at 1080p/48 and reclock to Auto. That should give you smooth playback.
PS If problems persist, Try setting reclock to work on Directdraw more instead of direct3d.

Takisot:

It's already on DirectDraw, not Direct3d. I'll double check to see if 24 is a valid setting. It might be an issue where 1080p24 is not a reported sync rate via EDID. Also, 48p is not an acceptable input rate.

Best,

Contributing Editor & Surround Music Reviewer Widescreen Review
Opinions are mine, not the publication I write for.
John Kotches is offline  
post #1277 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 05:56 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 233
So far the upgrade to 7.3 has been problematic.

I installed the official driver for the 8800 100.46? I think to see it was better than the 101 drivers but I get the same problems.

1) Without AnyDVD I get an error occasionally that communication with the display driver was lost

2) I get stutters every few seconds playing Serenity. I think that it may be caused by a refresh rate being off. I am only running about 40% on the 4600+.

Perhaps this is all just a result of moving from Overlay to VMR when I also upgraded to Vista Ultimate.

It is not all bad news. The colors are better with VMR and the sound is working much better too. There was NO bass with DD+ in 7.2.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1278 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 06:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
takisot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No bass??? What kind of soundcard do you use? With my Audiotrak audigy HiFi there is PLENTY!

A Never Ending Quest Τowards Visual Nirvana..
takisot is offline  
post #1279 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 06:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by takisot View Post

No bass??? What kind of soudcard do you use? With my Audiotrak audigy HiFi there is PLENTY!


Well, I have been making a lot of changes lately. Originally, I was running XP and 7.1 for HD DVD and 7.2 for BD in a dual install with the onboard ALC850 sound. I run without a sub since my Mains are full range (Revel Salons) and I have small children so I really cannot shake the house.

Even without bass management, I was getting some bass from the HD-A1 player but PowerDVD 7.1 was pretty bad.

Now I an running Windows Vista Ultimate with two sound cards installed: X-FI Xtreme Music and X-Meridian 7.1. I am comparing them to see which one to keep.

So there are too many changes for me to identify the original culprit.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
post #1280 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 06:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
takisot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Posts: 1,101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I see.... It seems to me you need a clean install of XPpro!

A Never Ending Quest Τowards Visual Nirvana..
takisot is offline  
post #1281 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 07:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
arfster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,919
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by takisot View Post

Is this possible for HD-DVDs?

As far as I know, there aren't any directshow splitters that correctly pass off the audio yet - Bluray probably only works because it uses something akin to mpeg2 transport streams, which we already have good splitters for. Haali is releasing regular updates recently though, so likely it won't be that long.
arfster is offline  
post #1282 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 07:48 AM
Member
 
Irish_Comer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 169
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my story with regard to getting rid of stutters

PC:
Core 2 Duo 2.4GHz
1GB DDR2
Asus P5B mainboard
Geforce 7900GS graphics running at 48Hz to HS60 projector
PowerDVd 7.1

Playing movies in media file mode I must use reclock adjusting frame rate from 23.976 to 24fps to get stutter free play back otherwise I get a stutter every 10 seconds or so.

When playing in disk mode I have to use reclock with media playing at original speed. This gives the yellow clock in the icon tray but perfectly smooth playback. If I let reclock change the media speed to 24fps, I get the green clock in the icon tray and smooth playback but a stutter every 10 seconds or so.
Irish_Comer is offline  
post #1283 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 09:24 AM
Senior Member
 
Alpha10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 223
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RichB View Post

I am getting occasional loss of communication with the display messages. It usually comes back after a few seconds. I have upgraded to 7.3 and Vista Ultimate 32. I am running a GeForce 8800GTS640MB with the 101.41 drivers.

It sound like this is a HDCP issue.

Damn HDCP

- Rich

I don't think it is an HDCP issue as I have been trying VGA only as I didn't want to go down the HDCP route for testing.

Seem most people who have got it working are doing so under Vista?
Alpha10 is offline  
post #1284 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 10:06 AM
Newbie
 
momendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have been able to install PDVD 7.3 32bit on Windows Vista 64bit Ultimate with an ATI RADEON X1950 Pro with Catalyst 7.2

Avivo acceleration works correctly. HD DVD playback with my Xbox360 drive works as well. I was able to watch The Last Samurai. However, since I have a Dell 30" LCD monitor w/HDCP, it only works at 1280x800x32 or lower resolutions! Every article I've read about this says *no* graphic card manufacturer supports dual-link DVI w/HDCP encryption. PDVD stops playback if I try to play at 2560x1600.

We need to speak up to the video card manufacturers (ATI & NVIDIA) and say this is an unacceptable situation with such high-end video hardware.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz @ 3.3ghz
Tuniq Tower 120 cooler
2GB DDR2 Corsair Dominator @ 1066
EVGA 680i NVIDIA mobo
850w Cooler Master Power Supply
BenQ 16x DVD IDE Burner, MS XBOX360 HDDVD Drive
momendo is offline  
post #1285 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 10:17 AM
Member
 
b@nned's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 46
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by momendo View Post

I have been able to install PDVD 7.3 32bit on Windows Vista 64bit Ultimate with an ATI RADEON X1950 Pro with Catalyst 7.2

Avivo acceleration works correctly. HD DVD playback with my Xbox360 drive works as well. I was able to watch The Last Samurai. However, since I have a Dell 30" LCD monitor w/HDCP, it only works at 1280x800x32 or lower resolutions! Every article I've read about this says *no* graphic card manufacturer supports dual-link DVI w/HDCP encryption. PDVD stops playback if I try to play at 2560x1600.

We need to speak up to the video card manufacturers (ATI & NVIDIA) and say this is an unacceptable situation with such high-end video hardware.

AnyDVD removes the HDCP restrictions
b@nned is offline  
post #1286 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 10:25 AM
Newbie
 
momendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That would work if I felt like paying for the app and ripping 20+ gigs to my HD for every movie. No thanks.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz @ 3.3ghz
Tuniq Tower 120 cooler
2GB DDR2 Corsair Dominator @ 1066
EVGA 680i NVIDIA mobo
850w Cooler Master Power Supply
BenQ 16x DVD IDE Burner, MS XBOX360 HDDVD Drive
momendo is offline  
post #1287 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 10:27 AM
Senior Member
 
slothy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by momendo View Post

That would work if I felt like paying for the app and ripping 20+ gigs to my HD for every movie. No thanks.


dont need to rip to remove hdcp, and u can try before buy for 21 days
slothy is offline  
post #1288 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 10:33 AM
Newbie
 
momendo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, I'll give that a try.

Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz @ 3.3ghz
Tuniq Tower 120 cooler
2GB DDR2 Corsair Dominator @ 1066
EVGA 680i NVIDIA mobo
850w Cooler Master Power Supply
BenQ 16x DVD IDE Burner, MS XBOX360 HDDVD Drive
momendo is offline  
post #1289 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 11:08 AM
Senior Member
 
joikd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 378
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by arfster View Post

Nothing fancy - it just uses the default Cyberlink Demuxxer/avc codec/audio decoder, and Zoomplayer forces VMR9. On default settings these are close to the highest priority, so just check they're actually loading and you'll be fine.

FFDshow of course has higher priority than everything, so switch it off for h264 (it chokes on >30mbit AVC and artifacts some). For audio it will work through liba52 and AC3 output, but it can't passthrough (spdif in AC3 codec setting) yet.

At a guess, pretty much any Blu-ray should work with this setup, because the splitter is capable of handling VC1 and MPEG2 also. Possibly some audio formats might cause a hassle, but I can't see why this filter chain shouldn't work when it does in PDVD itself. Unfortunately I can't test my MPEG2 discs as my Bluray burner is fried (X-men was the only one I decrypted to disc cos its insane AVC peaks are a great burn-in test for my HTPC, the MPEG2 ones are easy meat by comparison!).


Thanks for the info., but I still can't get it to work. I've never before messed around with any settings other than in the DVD section, so I'm kind of lost with all the filters. There's also two Cyberlink--one has a "6+."A mini-dummies guide would be very helpful.
joikd is offline  
post #1290 of 8247 Old 03-12-2007, 11:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RichB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 8,702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 196 Post(s)
Liked: 233
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpha10 View Post

I don't think it is an HDCP issue as I have been trying VGA only as I didn't want to go down the HDCP route for testing.

Seem most people who have got it working are doing so under Vista?

The same hardware never displayed a "Lost communication with Display Driver" message. Something about Vista/Drivers/Power DVD 7.3 did this.

- Rich

Oppo Beta Group

Oppo BDP-105D | Oppo HA-1 | Oppo PM-1 | Parasound A51 | Revel Salon, Voice, Studio | Velodyne HGS-15
RichB is online now  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Tags
Blu Ray Movies

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off