G965 with Prolink HDMI ADD2 - Page 18 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #511 of 518 Old 08-18-2008, 07:40 AM
Member
 
Pdemaio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Seattle
Posts: 42
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
cool, I'll look for persistence in the video settings. I'm hesitant to think this will fix it though since My Xbox is also having trouble outputing video if the stereo isn't set to it as an input when it's turned on. Very strange. I suspect it has to do with HDCP...???...
Pdemaio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #512 of 518 Old 11-24-2008, 01:53 PM
Member
 
SugoE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Austria
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by c128 View Post

Oh dear...as a further confirmation - I upgraded the BIOS of my DG965OT to the latest as well, but I hadn't realised that this could have been the cause of my system no longer waking via the remote until I chanced upon this thread. I'm using a fresh (re)install of Vista Ultimate too, but with the BIOS update in place.

I have to report a similar problem on my DG965OT without Prolink card. I use the iMon remote and sometimes when resuming from standby it just hangs before any video signal is seen on the screen (Fans an Power LED on).
I tried a new VISTA install and Firmware 1751 and 1738 with same behaviour.

Someone know a BIOS version where wakeup worked last ?

Just saw, there is a new Firmware from Nov.17 (BIOS 1754),
will give that a try.

Joe
SugoE is offline  
post #513 of 518 Old 05-13-2012, 10:12 AM
Member
 
irockwithdirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My apologies for bumping such an old thread, but hoping if any previously contributors are still around they might be able to help seeing as how this a kinda an outdated and pretty much discarded format.......... or so it seems from my searching online.

Buddy of mine has a HP DC5700 desktop, 2.2 core duo, 4gig, we had hoped to turn into a budget HTPC for him. This thing has an intel Q963 chipset with a ADD2 PCI-E X16 slot and a pci-e x1 slot.

Looking at a prolink HDMI add2 card which I believe will be compatible. Research seems hit and miss as to how well these work.

In this situation, the add2 card should perform better than a pcie X1 video card... correct?

Any input appreciated. Thanks!
irockwithdirt is offline  
post #514 of 518 Old 05-15-2012, 06:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by irockwithdirt View Post

My apologies for bumping such an old thread, but hoping if any previously contributors are still around they might be able to help seeing as how this a kinda an outdated and pretty much discarded format.......... or so it seems from my searching online.

Buddy of mine has a HP DC5700 desktop, 2.2 core duo, 4gig, we had hoped to turn into a budget HTPC for him. This thing has an intel Q963 chipset with a ADD2 PCI-E X16 slot and a pci-e x1 slot.

Looking at a prolink HDMI add2 card which I believe will be compatible. Research seems hit and miss as to how well these work.

In this situation, the add2 card should perform better than a pcie X1 video card... correct?

Any input appreciated. Thanks!

I wouldn't bother with the prolink card (which still depends on the outdated Intel chipset). Instead, buy an inexpensive video card that's actually capable of performing HTPC duties. I've been using an XFX HD5670 (AMD-ATI) successfully and am considering GT430 (nVidia) for use with madVR: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...NG&PageSize=20.
lsarver is offline  
post #515 of 518 Old 05-16-2012, 04:54 AM
Member
 
irockwithdirt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lsarver View Post

I wouldn't bother with the prolink card (which still depends on the outdated Intel chipset). Instead, buy an inexpensive video card that's actually capable of performing HTPC duties. I've been using an XFX HD5670 (AMD-ATI) successfully and am considering GT430 (nVidia) for use with madVR: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...NG&PageSize=20.

Unfortunately, with this motherboard the PCI-E X16 slot will ONLY accept an add2 card. My options are a pci card, pci-e X1 card, or an add2.
irockwithdirt is offline  
post #516 of 518 Old 05-18-2012, 05:27 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by irockwithdirt View Post

Unfortunately, with this motherboard the PCI-E X16 slot will ONLY accept an add2 card. My options are a pci card, pci-e X1 card, or an add2.

Are you sure about that limitation? Perhaps you misread the features? Typically, the on-board IGP is automatically disabled when you plug in a PCI-e card. But the latter does work.

I have 2 Intel DG965WH mobos happily using HD4670 PCI-e x16 cards. I tried ADD2 cards, too, and gave up.

The ADD2 is not a video card: it's just a pass-through from the IGP to the HDMI port, mixing audio into the stream. It does no video processing. So it's next to worthless. You're not giving up much if you disable the IGP: before Sandy Bridge CPUs, Intel processor graphics were not useful for home theater.
lsarver is offline  
post #517 of 518 Old 05-18-2012, 05:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
wkearney99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Bethesda, MD USA
Posts: 1,371
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 62 Post(s)
Liked: 59
Yeah, I gave up on using the DG965WH for a HTPC. But it did work with an added PCIe-16 card. I believe you could tell the BIOS what to use as it's initial display source.
wkearney99 is offline  
post #518 of 518 Old 05-21-2012, 02:55 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lsarver's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Nashville, TN
Posts: 1,181
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by wkearney99 View Post

Yeah, I gave up on using the DG965WH for a HTPC. But it did work with an added PCIe-16 card. I believe you could tell the BIOS what to use as it's initial display source.

Those two I mentioned have been working as servers since 2007 and 2008.
lsarver is offline  
Reply Home Theater Computers

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off